We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Pebble Beach Motor Inn(Napier)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/27
$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/28
$116
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ormlie Lodge(Napier)(Great Value!)
$117
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The County Hotel Napier(Napier)(Great Value!)
$98
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $105/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 07/26
Book now, pay at stay
$206
$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
expressotel(Napier)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/27
$58
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Nautilus(Napier)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/27
$78
$76
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
$128
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Art Deco Masonic Hotel(Napier)(Great Value!)
$121
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Shoreline Motel Napier(Napier)(Great Value!)
$81
$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveler rating
160
102
26
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
102
26
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommunal kitchenfresh herbsprivate hospitalrecord playerhome bakingespresso machineanderson parkwide corridorswalls are very thinwet roomgames roombooks and magazinesnoisy neighboursrooms are spotlessly cleannew world supermarketown mealschurch road
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 297 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2016 via mobile

Parkside Lodge is a converted old peoples retirement home. No, that is incorrect, as it is not even converted. The decor and layout are typical retirement home style - don't be fooled by the pics.

The room is really small and the bathroom, again retirement home style.

You might be so kind as to describe it as very basic, and believe me that would be kind.

Location is "miles from anywhere".

We could hear every bang and thump from the upstairs and when we did sleep, we woke with sore backs. The mattresses were really bad.

This place's saving grace was the staff who were friendly and accommodating.

Price was reasonable but value was low, very low.

Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Fwhanau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkside_Lodge, Owner at Parkside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2016

Dear TripAdvisor readers,

A sincere thank you on behalf of all here at Parkside Lodge for awarding us consecutive Certificates of Excellence in appreciation of the efforts of the team, the value for money we provide, and our immaculate cleanliness and presentation. The last twelve months have been our busiest yet and we continue to receive wonderful reviews that make all our efforts feel worthwhile. Unfortunately as hurtful as it is to our professional pride there will naturally always be a percentage of the population who do not share the opinion of everyone else, and to FWhanau we apologise for the experience you seem to have had with us. It is a shame the comments included here were not expressed in person to allow us the opportunity to offer some solutions. To any potential guest looking to book with any inkling of initiative or intelligence our website, and those of our third party partners, accurately describes the content of the rooms, the size of the rooms, the convenient location to wineries, shops, expressways, and city, as well as the former use of the building which 15 years ago ceased it's use as a private hospital specialising in cosmetics. The Lodge has been lovingly recreated in vintage decor and antique musical curiosities as my wife and I have a great passion for retro splendour. Most of our comments here on this site will attest to their charm. We accept it may not be to everybody's liking, but assumptions such as these are not only wide of the mark, they underline the entire logic of the review itself. If someone can find better value at a time of the year when most competitors inflate their seasonal prices, we encourage you to grasp such deals with both hands. Anything more generous than is offered at Parkside Lodge is unlikely to be sustainable for long. We invite any enquiries to be directed to us personally and we will be delighted to discuss what we have to offer.

Regards, Sateesh and Prue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2016 via mobile

Amazing! This hotel is decorated in a nice and summery way, very different from the usual ones. The receptionist is super kind, he explained everything clearly and friendlily. There's a kitchen downstairs with a coffee machine, where you can get good coffee for free at any time (and some pastry is offered). Really glad to have come across you!

Stayed: January 2016, traveled solo
Thank Carlo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2016 via mobile

We actually ended up here by accident! We were supposed to be staying at another nearby motel for around $200 a night, but somehow they had double-booked us. Luckily Parkside Lodge had a cancellation and we were able to stay there for less than $90. We weren't sure what to expect, but wow! We had travelled both islands extensively, but nobody came close to Parkside for value and service. The place is gloriously decked out in retro styling, with vinyl records and various knick knacks to peruse. Our room was smallish, but had everything we needed ... including sweet air conditioning at last! The kitchen had fresh herbs, home grown herbal tea, espresso coffee and even home baked cookies from the hosts (not those packaged cardboard style ones you get at the $200 motels!). The lodge itself was peacefully located away from the main road and across from a beautiful park where you can jog or feed the geese. There is ample common areas as well as a generous amount of books to flick through. Highly recommended and a credit to the team who runs it!

Stayed: January 2016, traveled with friends
1  Thank nzcustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2016

We stayed at Parkside Lodge recently while attending a funeral for my Aunt. We were instantly met with amazing service by the hosts, Prue who checked us in, and Sateesh who helped us with our bags to the room. Once they knew why we were staying, they placed fresh flowers in the room with a note from the staff. The place was full, but they still took the time for us. The room itself was spotlessly clean and in a nice quiet location with a supermarket and shops within walking distance. The value for money was sensational as we were there in peak season and most motels were twice the price. We met some nice travellers in the kitchen area who showed us how to use the espresso machine! Another lovely touch in a generously equipped kitchen.

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jacobrooney24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkside_Lodge, General Manager at Parkside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2016

Dear Mr. Rooney,
Thanks for the wonderful comments. We hope to welcome you back some time under happier circumstances. We appreciate the kind words about the service of the team. Wishing you a very pleasant 2016.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2016

I feel bad giving them only three stars BUT, above everything else, good accommodation should provide a good night's sleep as a minimum requirement. I read reviews that it was noisey and the mattresses were hard so specifically asked for a 'quiet room' upon booking.

The walls are so thin and we could hear a child crying and someone snoring on both adjoining doors plus all the kerfuffle outside in the hallway. I complained, and staff who are very very friendly and helpful (5+ stars for staff), were really accommodating and came up lots of suggestions (moving rooms, leaving etc), we decided to give another room a go (it was New Year's Eve so the chance of finding another lodging was slim). It was marginally quieter as only one adjoining wall. I think if they add some sound proofing to the walls + fill all the gaps under the doors it would definitely be a 5+ place but unfortunately the lack of sound proofing let it down. (It was a busy time of the year so perhaps in the quiet session it would be much better).

PROS.
– Lovely, helpful, friendly staff.
– Great vibe, a combination of the privacy of a hotel with the communal nature of a hostel shared kitchen/ games room)
– Board games, foos ball table + great books/magazines available
– Very clean and tidy
– Opposite a nice big park if you want to go for a run etc
– Small coffee machine
– Air Con in every room

CONS
– Thin walls :(
– Hard beds
– Some people complained it was out of town but it didn't bother us at all as we had a car
– Kitchen layout needs improvement (a bit small)

Some friendly suggestions:
– sound proofing upgrade
– soft mattress lining
– extra pillow + blanket in cupboards (I know I could of asked, but lots of space in cupboard so why not?)
– more shelves in the rooms + hooks, no where to put or hang anything! I don't mind that the rooms are small but there's lots of space to put some wall shelves (especially in bathroom). This wouldn't be very expensive either.
– Kitchen layout not very good as too small for more than 4 people. Suggestion would be to take the stools out and put shelves underneath and put the microwave there (clear up bench space), put plates/pots etc there so it's all open, as very annoying trying to find stuff in cupboards when people blocking them. Move one of the stove tops to other side so there are 'two work stations', the second stove top pretty much unusable when someone already using one stove top as too crammed in the corner.

Thanks for the stay and once there are sound proofing updates I'll be sure to stay again as loved the vibe, staff, cleanliness and delicious afternoon baking!

Room Tip: ask for a quieter room (upstairs) with only one adjoining door to minimise noise.
  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calicoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkside_Lodge, Owner at Parkside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2016

Dear calicoanne,
Thanks for taking the time to write such a thorough and thoughtful review and especially for your comments about our award-winning team. We'll be sure to take some of your suggestions on board and float them through our think-tank! We're sorry you found the rooms a bit noisy. As you've noted, we did what we could, but over the busiest week of the year as well as NYE and the presence of a wedding group, it was much noisier than usual. We actually get as twice as many comments praising the peaceful nature of the lodge due to it's location away from the main road and traffic, however we take your feedback kindly. Upon request, we are always happy to provide a topper to soften the mattresses. Based on our experience, we have found a medium-firm option to be the most popular. Our generously-stocked communal kitchen is always under constant improvement and remains one of our most popular and highly-complimented facilities we offer. We are committed to providing the best-priced accommodation in Napier. Our rooms are fairly represented on our website as well as all our third-party associates, and we welcome all our guests to review the images available to know what we offer here. Thanks again for taking the trouble to offer your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Sateesh and Prue Krishnayya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews