We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 07/27
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pebble Beach Motor Inn(Napier)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/27
$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/27
$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ormlie Lodge(Napier)(Great Value!)
$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Nautilus(Napier)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/25
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
expressotel(Napier)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/27
Book now, pay at stay
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shoreline Motel Napier(Napier)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/26
Book now, pay at stay
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The County Hotel Napier(Napier)(Great Value!)
$98
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $105/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Art Deco Masonic Hotel(Napier)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/26
Book now, pay at stay
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 07/27
$206
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveler rating
160
102
26
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
102
26
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommunal kitchenfresh herbsprivate hospitalrecord playerhome bakingespresso machineanderson parkwide corridorswalls are very thinwet roomgames roombooks and magazinesnoisy neighboursrooms are spotlessly cleannew world supermarketown mealschurch road
Filter
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 297 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2016 via mobile

We actually ended up here by accident! We were supposed to be staying at another nearby motel for around $200 a night, but somehow they had double-booked us. Luckily Parkside Lodge had a cancellation and we were able to stay there for less than $90. We weren't sure what to expect, but wow! We had travelled both islands extensively, but nobody came close to Parkside for value and service. The place is gloriously decked out in retro styling, with vinyl records and various knick knacks to peruse. Our room was smallish, but had everything we needed ... including sweet air conditioning at last! The kitchen had fresh herbs, home grown herbal tea, espresso coffee and even home baked cookies from the hosts (not those packaged cardboard style ones you get at the $200 motels!). The lodge itself was peacefully located away from the main road and across from a beautiful park where you can jog or feed the geese. There is ample common areas as well as a generous amount of books to flick through. Highly recommended and a credit to the team who runs it!

Stayed: January 2016, traveled with friends
1  Thank nzcustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2016

We stayed at Parkside Lodge recently while attending a funeral for my Aunt. We were instantly met with amazing service by the hosts, Prue who checked us in, and Sateesh who helped us with our bags to the room. Once they knew why we were staying, they placed fresh flowers in the room with a note from the staff. The place was full, but they still took the time for us. The room itself was spotlessly clean and in a nice quiet location with a supermarket and shops within walking distance. The value for money was sensational as we were there in peak season and most motels were twice the price. We met some nice travellers in the kitchen area who showed us how to use the espresso machine! Another lovely touch in a generously equipped kitchen.

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jacobrooney24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkside_Lodge, General Manager at Parkside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2016

Dear Mr. Rooney,
Thanks for the wonderful comments. We hope to welcome you back some time under happier circumstances. We appreciate the kind words about the service of the team. Wishing you a very pleasant 2016.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2016

I feel bad giving them only three stars BUT, above everything else, good accommodation should provide a good night's sleep as a minimum requirement. I read reviews that it was noisey and the mattresses were hard so specifically asked for a 'quiet room' upon booking.

The walls are so thin and we could hear a child crying and someone snoring on both adjoining doors plus all the kerfuffle outside in the hallway. I complained, and staff who are very very friendly and helpful (5+ stars for staff), were really accommodating and came up lots of suggestions (moving rooms, leaving etc), we decided to give another room a go (it was New Year's Eve so the chance of finding another lodging was slim). It was marginally quieter as only one adjoining wall. I think if they add some sound proofing to the walls + fill all the gaps under the doors it would definitely be a 5+ place but unfortunately the lack of sound proofing let it down. (It was a busy time of the year so perhaps in the quiet session it would be much better).

PROS.
– Lovely, helpful, friendly staff.
– Great vibe, a combination of the privacy of a hotel with the communal nature of a hostel shared kitchen/ games room)
– Board games, foos ball table + great books/magazines available
– Very clean and tidy
– Opposite a nice big park if you want to go for a run etc
– Small coffee machine
– Air Con in every room

CONS
– Thin walls :(
– Hard beds
– Some people complained it was out of town but it didn't bother us at all as we had a car
– Kitchen layout needs improvement (a bit small)

Some friendly suggestions:
– sound proofing upgrade
– soft mattress lining
– extra pillow + blanket in cupboards (I know I could of asked, but lots of space in cupboard so why not?)
– more shelves in the rooms + hooks, no where to put or hang anything! I don't mind that the rooms are small but there's lots of space to put some wall shelves (especially in bathroom). This wouldn't be very expensive either.
– Kitchen layout not very good as too small for more than 4 people. Suggestion would be to take the stools out and put shelves underneath and put the microwave there (clear up bench space), put plates/pots etc there so it's all open, as very annoying trying to find stuff in cupboards when people blocking them. Move one of the stove tops to other side so there are 'two work stations', the second stove top pretty much unusable when someone already using one stove top as too crammed in the corner.

Thanks for the stay and once there are sound proofing updates I'll be sure to stay again as loved the vibe, staff, cleanliness and delicious afternoon baking!

Room Tip: ask for a quieter room (upstairs) with only one adjoining door to minimise noise.
  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calicoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkside_Lodge, Owner at Parkside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2016

Dear calicoanne,
Thanks for taking the time to write such a thorough and thoughtful review and especially for your comments about our award-winning team. We'll be sure to take some of your suggestions on board and float them through our think-tank! We're sorry you found the rooms a bit noisy. As you've noted, we did what we could, but over the busiest week of the year as well as NYE and the presence of a wedding group, it was much noisier than usual. We actually get as twice as many comments praising the peaceful nature of the lodge due to it's location away from the main road and traffic, however we take your feedback kindly. Upon request, we are always happy to provide a topper to soften the mattresses. Based on our experience, we have found a medium-firm option to be the most popular. Our generously-stocked communal kitchen is always under constant improvement and remains one of our most popular and highly-complimented facilities we offer. We are committed to providing the best-priced accommodation in Napier. Our rooms are fairly represented on our website as well as all our third-party associates, and we welcome all our guests to review the images available to know what we offer here. Thanks again for taking the trouble to offer your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Sateesh and Prue Krishnayya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2015

We stayed in a ground floor room within easy reach to our room. It was clean and well serviced. The nearby kitchen was well equipped, and a selection of home cooked treats and freshly picked herbs were left out for guests to enjoy. The roomy corridor to our room was tastefully decorated with collectable retro pieces of interest. We stayed two nights and found their rate to be exceptionably good in comparison to comparable properties. No hesitation in recommending

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattt675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkside_Lodge, Owner at Parkside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2016

Dear Matt T,
Thanks for your review. We're glad you appreciate our exceptional value for money, which we pride ourselves on here. Thanks for your recommendation and we hope to welcome you back in the future,
Sateesh & Prue Krishnayya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2015

This motel is out of the city centre but a good place to stay in a quiet neighourhood. I enjoyed the big, clean bathroom, lovely toiletries and the shared kitchen which is well set up. Our room also had air conditioning which was welcome as the night was quite muggy. Some nice touches - fresh herbs to use, baking for you to try and and an espresso coffee machine. We ordered some food for breakfast to cook ourselves - the cost was minimal and the portions generous. The decorations include a record player along with some original albums. There was seating outside our room and around the area outside the kitchen as well as plenty of tables to eat inside. An enjoyable place to stay and excellent value for money with good WiFi.

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rhondda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkside_Lodge, Owner at Parkside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2016

Dear Rhondda B,
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay in our quiet neighbourhood. Whilst we're a convenient drive from Napier city centre, we're within easy reach of many of Hawke's Bay's attractions.
We're always happy when our guests appreciate our value for money, even for our generous home prepared breakfasts.
We hope you can welcome you when you're next in the area.
Sateesh & Prue Krishnayya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews