We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic clean welcoming and guess what? Your custom matters”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Parkside Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parkside Lodge
Ranked #2 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic clean welcoming and guess what? Your custom matters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

I am so pleased to have found This place!! A warm friendly duty manager Michelle - for whom nothing is too much trouble. I felt comfortable and their attention to detail matches their customer focus that made me feel my custom was appreciated and that I matter!! Where else do they provide fresh home backed muffins at 1am?? I will be a regular visitor. Thank you for a lovely stay!!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank stowie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkside_Lodge, General Manager at Parkside Lodge, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Stowie,

Thanks so much for the lovely review. We appreciate that you have mentioned the little touches that separate Parkside Lodge from the rest. It's a real aim of ours here to provide personalised service and little complimentary touches that create a memorable experience for our valued visitors. All the best and hope to have you back real soon.

Sateesh & Prue Krishnayya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    83
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
33
154
21
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

The parkside staff pay attention to detail and nothing is too much for making your stay pleasurable. Beautifully clean staff who are wonderful - the Manager Michelle is brilliant where else do you get home made fresh muffins at 1am???? Old fashioned service with a smile - making you feel not only very welcome but like you actually matter!!!! I will definitely be making this my place to stay in Napier!!!! Thank you guys I am so glad I found you!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stowie111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

We booked the entire Parkside Lodge to accommodate family & friends over the weekend of a family wedding. The lodge is decorated with lovely old homely things, including LPs playing in the foyer. It was extremely clean, with bathrooms serviced daily, and TVs and tea & coffee making facilities in bedrooms. The kitchen was well equipped, and there were spaces for groups to gather and chat. Only negative thing some people found was the noise coming through some bedroom walls.
Prue was extremely helpful throughout the booking process, and when we were there all the staff were very friendly. The ages of those staying ranged from 21 to 86, and everyone enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkside_Lodge, General Manager at Parkside Lodge, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Liz P,

Our apologies for the slow response, but on behalf of our team here at Parkside Lodge a big thank you to you and your family for your visit. It was a pleasure to have you all with us and we appreciate the warm words here in the review. It's always nice to get a big group together here and we're glad you all had a great weekend.

Sateesh & Prue Krishnayya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

I loved staying at Parkside lodge. It was decorated with such style - loved the record player, the beautiful kitchen, the games room....so much better than lots of other places we had stayed.
A great price too for such an immaculate room and all the things we needed to make for an easy comfortable stay. We could tell the owners really know what they are doing here.
Absolutely brilliant!
And loved chatting to Diana and Toby, very helpful in giving us travel tips!
Napier is a great art Deco town, very glad we passed through here on our travels.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JO W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkside_Lodge, General Manager at Parkside Lodge, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Jo W,

Thanks kindly for the lovely review. It was a pleasure having you with us and we really appreciate your specific mentions to Toby and Diana who made a big contribution for us over the summer. Welcoming service is what it's all about and we only look for the friendliest and most energetic staff here, so we're glad they made an impression.

Sateesh & Prue Krishnayya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Me and my partner decided to show up at Parkside Lodge unannounced and see if we can use our complimentary stay. Which we were allowed to which was fantastic

Great customer service friendly and fast We wanted to stay a few more nights but had to return home

We recommended you check it out and stay. We will return every time we travel to Napier

A+++

Room Tip: Would Recommend a upstairs room nice and quiet up there
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iSamuelLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkside_Lodge, General Manager at Parkside Lodge, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear iSamuelLove,

Thanks for the great review. We're glad to have the opportunity to welcome you back and your supportive comments are a big help for a our small team here. We hope to see you again soon.

Sateesh & Prue Krishnayya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

My partner and I only stayed for one night on our way passing through Napier, but I would have happily stayed longer. Super clean and beautiful lodge and so crazy affordable. The room was nicer than most hotels I have stayed in and a fraction of the price. The bed was comfortable, had lots of light, great bathroom facilities. Just everything you need. It has a beautiful kitchen on site which if staying for long periods of time would certainly be beneficial. Even with its own espresso machine and coffee grinder. Its incredibly cute and the decor has been carefully considered. I would pick this any day over an over priced, impersonal hotel. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank X3425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkside_Lodge, General Manager at Parkside Lodge, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear X3425,

Sorry for the late response, but we really appreciate your excellent and accurate review!! Value for money, cleanliness, and personalised service is what Parkside Lodge is all about, so for you to mention these aspects specifically is a big pat on the back to the team here. We hope to have you back again with us soon for more expert analysis.

Sateesh & Prue Krishnayya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We found this accomodation quite ramdomly, and chose it because it seemed to be fairly priced. We weren't wrong! We were greeted warmly, even though we arrived after hours, were shown around and felt really comfortable. There were fresh herbs in a small but well equipped kitchen, which we really appreciated. The room was clean, we had a cute little sitting place (it was quite windy though) and the entire Lodge was very neatly decorated. We enjoyed our stay very much (and the home baked complimentary chocolate chip cookies)!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tillie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkside_Lodge, General Manager at Parkside Lodge, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Tillie J,

Thanks for the kind words. We appreciate your support and hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

Sateesh & Prue Krishnayya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
3.2 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
3.4 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
2.1 mi away
Kennedy Park Resort Napier
0.8 mi away
Fern Motel
Fern Motel
#15 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkside Lodge

Property: Parkside Lodge
Address: 82 Tait Drive | Greenmeadows, Napier 4112, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Parkside Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parkside Lodge is an affordable and peaceful 21 room lodge within easy reach of the Napier city centre, and a convenient distance from Hawke's Bay's most renowned tourist attractions. Famous wineries Church Road and The Mission are within a three minute drive, and a bus service is located right outside the property for transport to Napier, Taradale, Pettigrew Arena, the EIT, Hastings, and the Hawke's Bay Hospital. Nestled in the scenic tranquillity of Greenmeadows, we are located opposite 3 hectares of diverse parklands, and a short walk away from the Greenmeadows shops, cafes, restaurants, bakery, and supermarket. Hawke's Bay's diverse and panoramic cycle trails are within 1.5 Km and we have secure, undercover storage as well as bike hire for those in need. Our cosy air-conditioned rooms are perfect for wedding groups, sports teams, travelling business professionals, and holiday-makers seeking a peaceful retreat. Let our internationally experienced hospitality team treat you to a warm welcome and memorable stay. Contact us directly for corporate, group or long stay rates and ask about our loyalty card too! Lodge FeaturesFree Wi Fi InternetKitchen and Laundry FacilitiesOn Site Car ParkingGames RoomLibraryBBQ FacilitiesPetanque CourtCourtyard Rooms AvailableDVD Players AvailableNearby AttractionsAnderson ParkMission EstateChurch Road WineryPettigrew Sports ArenaPark Island Recreational AreaGreenmeadows ShopsTaradale ShopsNapier City Centre (7 minute drive) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parkside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing