We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly”
Review of Parkside Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parkside Lodge
Ranked #2 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly”
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Parkside Lodge for 2 nights due to the low price - we were pleasantly surprised with the room and bathroom. They were spotlessly clean with nice bedding and towels etc. The owners were really friendly and recommended a wine tour to us, which was fantastic! The place has a really cosy feel and is in a nice quiet location. Overall, great value and a really comfortable stay!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C70088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prue K, General Manager at Parkside Lodge, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Caroline W,
We're glad you decided to stay with us and enjoyed your time here and taking in the wineries. Thank you for your comments regarding our service and cleanliness - much appreciated.
Enjoy the rest of your travels.
Sateesh and Prue Krishnayya
General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    89
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
35
160
23
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This place was really nice, in a great location and very clean. The staff were extremely nice and I really enjoyed my stay here. This place used to be a plastic surgery recovery hospital, so if that doesn't bother you definitely stay here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amelia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prue K, General Manager at Parkside Lodge, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thanks for your feedback amelia c. We're glad you enjoyed your stay at Parkside Lodge in lovely Greenmeadows. Our team hopes to welcome you back again someday!
Sateesh and Prue Krishnayya
General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Parkside lodge has a slightly different set up to the norm as it is set up inside an old private hospital however this adds to the charm! Straight away we were greeted by the owners who were extremely friendly and helpful, more than accommodating! We were lead up to our room which had everything we needed for our stay and super comfy bed. We could not have asked for better! Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to others who want great value accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fullonkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prue K, General Manager at Parkside Lodge, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Fullonkiwi,
Thanks for your feedback regarding your stay. We're glad you found everything you needed for your stay with us (including the comfy bed!) and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Sateesh and Prue Krishnayya
General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington VA
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

It's just a 10 minute drive from the quaint downtown of Napier, and you do know that it was formerly a private hospital by the wide corridors, but it's really very pleasant, safe, and clean. The host was very helpful (bringing up a little table and extra chair so we could play cards in our room). "Perfectly adequate" doesn't do it justice, but comes close. I'm sure in a few years it will have more amenities and cost more, but I'd suggest that you grab it now. Great value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gasngoArlingtonVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prue K, General Manager at Parkside Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Gasngo,

Thanks for your lovely feedback. Value for money was our major goal as we set out on this venture, so to have comments like this from such well-travelled globetrotters is much appreciated. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.
Sateesh & Prue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This place is simple, but simply it does everything really well. Yes, it's former purpose can be guessed by the nature of the room layouts, but this doesn't take away from what is a lovely setting in suburbia.

Staff really friendly and helpful. Characters, and gave good advice as to where to go and what to see in Napier.

It is a little way from the centre (we had a car), but I understand the local buses get you around pretty well.

If Napier is included on your travels you really can't go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: If quiet time, ask at reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Young_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prue K, General Manager at Parkside Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Andy,

Thanks for the kind words especially about our team. Hope to see you around this way again some day.
Sateesh & Prue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

On a recent annual pilgrimage to Napier, we chanced our arm at booking a room at Parkside for 2 nights. It was perfectly adequate for what we required. Host and staff were charming and accommodating and the rooms and facilities were spotlessly clean. Parking was good, security good too. Kitchen was tidy and homely. Nice music playing in entrance hall and nothing was instrusive or noisy. Well done you guys!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prue K, General Manager at Parkside Lodge, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Helen, thank you kindly for sharing your enthusiastic response. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Sateesh & Prue Krishnayya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2012

My wife, 2 young children and myself loved our stay at Parkside Lodge. The rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable and the proprietors went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The lodge has a great little kitchen well suited to our needs and the petanque court is a nice touch. It was a lot closer to Napier town than we had thought and the proprietor had some great suggestions on places to visit in the area. A classy little outfit, our kind of place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaturdayPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prue K, General Manager at Parkside Lodge, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
SaturdayPete,
'Thanks for the kind words, and I'm glad your family had a pleasant stay. Thanks also for utilising the petanque court, it has had very little use despite the magnificent Hawke's Bay sunshine. See you next time.
Sateesh & Prue Krishnayya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
3.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
3.2 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
575 reviews
3.4 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Kennedy Park Resort Napier
0.8 mi away
Fern Motel
Fern Motel
#19 of 47 in Napier
151 reviews
3.2 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#10 of 47 in Napier
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkside Lodge

Property: Parkside Lodge
Address: 82 Tait Drive | Greenmeadows, Napier 4112, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Parkside Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parkside Lodge is an affordable and peaceful 21 room lodge within easy reach of the Napier city centre, and a convenient distance from Hawke's Bay's most renowned tourist attractions. Famous wineries Church Road and The Mission are within a three minute drive, and a bus service is located right outside the property for transport to Napier, Taradale, Pettigrew Arena, the EIT, Hastings, and the Hawke's Bay Hospital. Nestled in the scenic tranquillity of Greenmeadows, we are located opposite 3 hectares of diverse parklands, and a short walk away from the Greenmeadows shops, cafes, restaurants, bakery, and supermarket. Hawke's Bay's diverse and panoramic cycle trails are within 1.5 Km and we have secure, undercover storage as well as bike hire for those in need. Our cosy air-conditioned rooms are perfect for wedding groups, sports teams, travelling business professionals, and holiday-makers seeking a peaceful retreat. Let our internationally experienced hospitality team treat you to a warm welcome and memorable stay. Contact us directly for corporate, group or long stay rates and ask about our loyalty card too! Lodge FeaturesFree Wi Fi InternetKitchen and Laundry FacilitiesOn Site Car ParkingGames RoomLibraryBBQ FacilitiesPetanque CourtCourtyard Rooms AvailableDVD Players AvailableNearby AttractionsAnderson ParkMission EstateChurch Road WineryPettigrew Sports ArenaPark Island Recreational AreaGreenmeadows ShopsTaradale ShopsNapier City Centre (7 minute drive) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Parkside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing