We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb food and service in a fantastic Indian Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Chilli Indian Restaurant

Red Chilli Indian Restaurant
Ranked #107 of 194 Restaurants in Napier
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
119 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Superb food and service in a fantastic Indian Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

The Red Chilli is our favourite Indian Restaurant in Napier. We have been going there for 6 years and we love it. The food is always lovely and fresh with really nice flavours and the service is excellent. The menu has recently been changed and is now more extensive.We have tried lots of different dishes and have not been disappointed with any of them.
The staff are always friendly and helpful in and the BYO makes it a reasonable regular night out. The takeaways are great too.
Coming from the UK we both really love our curries and do like them to be authentic, which is one of the reasons we don't go anywhere else now but the Red Chillies in Taradale.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    16
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Level Contributor
649 reviews
402 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“One of the best experiences in an 'Indian' in NZ IMHO”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is our 'go to' Indian in Napier. Period. Consistency in quality value and cheerful service.
New menu is a winner. Lots of new dishes and we look forward to experiencing them all in due course. Dinner for four last Sunday was excellent. All agreed the mixed starter was generous fresh and delicious. Followed by 4 different Mains, all superb, with the customary bottomless basmati rice served fresh HOT and perfectly. BYO wine makes this an affordable treat and we believe Red Chillie Napier to be the best 'Indian' experience for us in NZ. Thank you management and staff.
Our highest recommendations.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank r s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
1 review
“One of the best Indian food I have tasted yet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

The first time I went to the restaurant was April 2013. odered Malai Kofta and there I went...CRAZY!!!! It was super delicious and perfectly cooked to my preference as if they knew what my taste buds like to have. so without wasting any more time looking for authentic indian food restaurant go and experience it yourself at the Red Chilli, Taradale, Napier.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Indeevar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had takeaways. As usual, the service was friendly and the food very yummy. Authentic Indian food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MamooseNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Indian food in Napier”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

After a very wet day we fancied some tasty spicy food and this little Indian take away/restaurant fits the bill nicely.i had a biryiani which was lovely and fragrant. The breads and rotis are worth having too. Very reasonably priced, just 50 bucks for the three of us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Chilli Indian Restaurant also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Red Chilli Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing