We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish and fun.”
Review of Mister 'D's Bistro

Mister 'D's Bistro
Ranked #5 of 198 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stylish and fun.”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

The interior was stylish and so was the food. Interesting presentation, fresh tasting and delicious. Friendlier service would have made it a perfect experience but we still enjoyed our meal here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wilmaintothewild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    529
    247
    64
    18
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lived up to the hype.”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Turned up to Mr D's without a reservation, was quickly seated and looked after in a very professional manner, the staff even dealing with a few off colour jokes, they just rolled with the punches. Had the rolled vension sausage special with the matched wine, the whole local Hawke's Bay food deal. It was brilliant, proper man meal with tasty protein packed sausages and very nice sides, just an excellent meal overall. We chatted to one of the Mr D's who was very accommodating and friendly. Meal was priced about right, not overly cheap but with what you get that's to be expected. Meal was larger than your standard upper class restaurant which was nice as well. Place was very busy but could still chat comfortably between 3 of us. Had been recommend this place by a few people and the recommendations totally stood up. I would definitely go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chazzy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Food nice atmosphere”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Had lunch with friends last sunday and we weren't disappointed. The meals were interesting, nicely presented and a bit different to the usual, everyone enjoyed themselves. I'm gluten free and although the menu didn't have options listed the chief was able to accommodate so wasn't a problem. But in saying that I much prefer to have gf options available on the menu - it shows thought has gone into the menu to create a dish for celiac's. I would like to try the Macaroons they looked delicious.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I searched the internet to see where to eat and yes, Mr D didn't disappoint. We went for lunch and it was that good we had to go back and eat again the next day for breakfast. Both meals were excellent. Should we visit Napier again, we will surely come and eat here again. I strongly recommend people to come and visit this place and you will be impressed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rowena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic breakfast & coffee”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely breakfast, which included the in house baked gluten free bread, which was absolutely delicious. Coffee was lovely and strong. We will be back next year with our family.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kimmyk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mister 'D's Bistro also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Mister 'D's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing