We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible B& B” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mon Logis Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mon Logis Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 43 Napier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible B& B”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2010

A very unpleasant B& B- with a breakfast that was cheap and not good. The owner was not at the B& B when we arrived. The location was terrible, with much noise from the main street. We stayed one night instead of two.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank NewYorkChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerardofMonLogis, Owner at Mon Logis Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 18, 2011
This Unusual couple arrived earlier around 11.45 am it appear they have not sleep the Night before on a hotel but on their car ........they insisted to have the room" right now "
.Unfortunately our checking time is 3 Pm unless arrival arrangement are made .That give the time for B&B operators to prepare and service the rooms for arrival of others guests .No arrangement was made by this guests for early arrival .
The Breakfast at Mon Logis are one of the Best in the region ( Please read the revue of others Guests ) .I am an ex chef from the French cafe in Hamilton (NZ )for 10 years and was one of the finalist of the Hawkesbay Host Breakfast Competition 2009-2010 .The Breakfast at Mon Logis Consist of Fresh Fruit ,Fresh croissants,home made Bread ,French omelette or Cooked with Crispy Bacon etc....of a value of NZ$ 50 per couple .
This revue is out of caracter ,Mon Logis B&B have a great reputation in NZ and overseas ,we at Mon Logis endeavour to give the best experience of the lovely region of Hawkesbay and are fortunate to host some of the most wonderful ,national and international visitors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    70
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
44
456
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tamar Valley Tasmania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

Being due to arrive in Christchurch the day of the earthquake we had to quickly re-direct our holiday to the North Island. Having spent many months planning our southern holiday we now had to make decisions on the fly as to where to go and where to stay. Having only spent a night in Napier previously we had no hesitation in head ing back again when we were out of Auckland Airport. And also with no hesitation, we rang Gerard and were overjoyed to find he had vacancy for the nights we needed, again in a room overlooking the Pacific. The hospitality was as welcoming as ever and Gerard personally ensured our wine trip got underway on time. Breakfasts were sumptuous and the bedroom more than cosy. The highlight of this trip were the relaxed nibbles and drinks on the veranda each evening with magnificent ocean views, added to by the passing traffic of walkers, joggers and fellow travellers. A great stay. Thanks Gerard from fello B&B proprietors from Tassie.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RiverHouseTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

My wife and I spent two rainy days in Napier in July 2010. On a recommendation we stayed at Mon Logis. Mon Logis is a cozy friendly boutique hotel. Located across from the beach, we had excellent views from our second floor balcony. All in all it is a fantastic location. The rooms are spacious and cozy with attached baths. The bed was large with plenty of blankets and pillows.

What really sets this place apart from its competitors is the proprietor and host Gerard. He is friendly and engaging but not intrusive. And his cooked breakfast each morning included amazing omelets. I can't think of a better B&B breakfast anywhere else we've ever stayed!

It was the off season, so the second night we were by ourselves. The first night one of the other rooms was occupied by a family from England. It does front a main street which wasn't a big deal in the off season, but I suppose in the summer season could get a bit busy/noisy.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chriswaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

Lovely host - very friendly and accommodating. Wonderful breakfasts. Brilliant location. Had very enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matt_michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

This is a tremedous place to stay and we stay in lots of B and B's. It is clean, comfortable and very conveniently located. The food is delicious and plentiful, we did not need to eat lunch on the days we stayed with Gerard.

The best reason to stay at Mon Logis is the host, Gerard. He is very funny and very informative on things to do and places to eat in Napier.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john99801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

I stayed at the Mon Logis in Napier in August 2010 for four nights. I had the single room with no bathroom. The bathroom was just down the hall, robes were provided. The bathroom was clean and a good size. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. There is free wifi which is always welcome. There is a sitting room on the main floor with a tv and you can have tea or coffee there with a biscuit. Then there is the breakfast, wow! Fruit, yogurt, fresh croissants, and omlettes made while you wait. Just wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 348Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2010

Lovely room with balcony overlooking the sea, very comfortable beds, light airy rooms. Gerard is a wonderful host, very helpful and those wonderful omelettes, many thanks
Bron & Bryan Melbourne

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HurtleandMurtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.6 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.7 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.1 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.8 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 48 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
1.7 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mon Logis Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mon Logis Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mon Logis Bed and Breakfast
Address: 415 Marine Parade | Marine Parade -Napier, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mon Logis Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mon Logis Luxury Bed & Breakfast Marine Parade Napier, New Zealand. A little Piece of France nestled in the heart of the beautiful wine growing region of Hawke's Bay. Originally built as an English Terrace house in the 1860's, this colonial Building was extended into a private hotel. Only a few minutes walk to the city centre, this grand two story colonial villa overlooking the Pacific ocean has a fascinating history as a private hotel since the early 1900's. Mon Logis is one of the building who survive the 1931 Hawke's Bay earthquake. In 1991, it became Mon Logis, meaning "My Dwelling." Now lovingly renovated, Mon Logis will cater to a maximum of eight guests and is modeled on the small privately owned French hotel. Charming personal service and French cuisine are the specialties. Of the upstairs individually furnished rooms, two have queen size beds and two have twin beds and all have their own private facilities. Owner Frenchman Gerard decorated each guest room differently but in a style in keeping with the original charm of the building. Iron bedsteads, feather duvets, lace covers and fine cotton linen all create a special elegance and one room is totally furnished with pieces bought from France. Downstairs an informal guest lounge invites relaxation, television viewing, a quiet time reading or perhaps a game of chess or bridge. Guests can help themselves to coffee or tea and biscuits any time of the day. Breakfast, served in the privacy of your own room or downstairs dining room, could be a basket of freshly baked continental breads, croissants and brioche with a compote of locally grown fruits or a wonderful herb omelette, crispy bacon and grilled tomatoes. Whichever is chosen certainly promises to be a most memorable meal. However, should the choice be made to dine out, Gerard is happy to give recommendations and as guide competent in giving an insight into Napier's unique architecture. All perfectly designed for comfort and relaxation, Mon Logis is a non smoking establishment and does not cater for children. French and Spanish are spoken; exclusive customised vineyard tour with host by arrangement. " Mon Logis is casual elegance at a price you can afford." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Mon Logis Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing