We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gallic charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mon Logis Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Gallic charm”
Reviewed August 10, 2007

I agreee with the comments of all the contributors I have read so far- Gerard is a wonderful, charming host! He is kind and attentive and a very good cook. The room reserved for guests' use is thoughtfully equipped. Breakfasts are a time for chat, both with the host and the other guests. It all makes for a very comfortable and welcoming experience.

  • Liked — the host
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SueinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    72
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
44
468
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2007

Gerard is a wonderful, warm and helpful host of a beautiful seaside inn. The room was large, comfortable, clean and comfy. Beautiful linens, and a comfortable king sized bed made the stay even more plush. Gerard couldn't be nicer or more welcoming. Breakfast was excellent and overwhelming. Loved the guest parlor for coffee, tea, tv and conversation. Mon Logis is a gem of a lodge in the midst of ordinary motels. Gerard was so helpful and knowledgeable about all local sites, restaurants and shops, you feel that you have a relative looking out for you. I wish I could give him and Mon Logis 6 stars.

  • Liked — King beds, great linens and breakfast
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jane1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2007

Mon Logis is a charming 1860's house located on Napier's lovely Marine Parade, overlooking the Pacific Ocean and the cliffs of Hawk's Bay. Our host, Gerard Averous, a former French chef, provided outstanding hospitality, an abundant delicious breakfast, and great restaurant and area recommendations. When he saw us preparing to go to the laundromat, he insisted we allow him to wash our clothes. He would not accept payment, and commented that this was one of his services to his guests. My wife & I have stayed in B & B's around the world during 40+ years of travel. Mon Logis rates at the top of our list.

  • Liked — Service beyond the call of duty
  • Disliked — Lack of WiFi (wireless Internet connection)
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank bkrutchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2007

Spent two great nights at Mon Logis in Napier which happened to coincide with the start of the Art Deco festival.

The B&B is located right on the sea front, which if you get the right room will give you a great sea view. It's about 5-10 mins walk into the heart of Napier from the guest house. The rooms are clean and tidy and there is a spacious lounge area downstairs for guest use, plus there is parking for those with cars. The B&B is decorated with Art Deco in mind in keeping with Napier as a whole.

However what really made our stay here was Gerard; the host. He was fantastic. Firstly he prepares the most wonderful breakfasts - plenty of fruit, croissants, cakses and the usual bacon and eggs. Breakfast is served at a large dining table where all guests can sit together and generally be entertained by Gerard and his stories / gossip of what is going on in Napier. He is also able to offer suggestions for day trips and places to eat. We arrived in Napier the just before Valentine's Day and could not get into any decent restaurants on the 14th. Gerard told us, no problem, and late in the afternoon on the 14th was able to book us a table at Mission Wine Estate (whom the tourist office had told us was booked up for the next 3 days).

We were sorry to leave Mon Logis - Gerard even gave us a bag of bread and croissants for our journey south! If you are going to Napier, this is the place to stay.

  • Liked — The host
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank great_gable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2007

Mon Logis B&B was our favorite accommodation of our 3-week trip through NZ. Gerard Averous, the owner, greeted us with Gallic warmth, and when we went to introduce ourselves, he said, “I know who you are – I’ve been waiting for you!” After he showed us up to our pretty room with its white bedspreads and lace-trimmed pillowcases over plump pillows and its balcony overlooking the ocean, Gerard invited us to join him and two other guests for wine before going out to dinner at “Take Five,” which he phoned to ask them to take good care of us. They did. The restaurant was just down the street, had a lively ambience with jazz music, photos, and art; and good food .

Next morning Gerard cooked the best breakfast we scarfed down on our entire trip: fresh orange juice, eggs, bacon, croissants, strawberries – and great coffee. He recommended wonderful nearby sites like Te Mapa Peak and nearby wineries, and drove us to his favorite restaurant, The Mission Winery, 10 minutes out of Napier, which was excellent. The morning we left Gerard gave us extra croissants to take with us. At NZ$200 it was a very good value.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank SallyOUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2006

Napier was mostly destroyed in an earthquake in 1931. The city was rebuilt in a style recalling Art Deco of the 20’s. In town are numerous clothing and souvenir stores capitalizing on the Art Deco motif. There is a very long walkway on the shoreline, with a wide strip-park between the walk and the road. It’s a lovely town.

The host here, Gerard, is Gaellic, from the border area of France and Spain. He was a pro-rugby player, came to Australia to play, lived there for awhile, then moved to New Zealand. He is a charming host, full of good information and directions. Gerard speaks French, Spanish and English, often intermixed.

The Mon Logis is a restored Victorian home which survived the earthquake and fire and was completely restored to the original. It’s not super fancy, but exceptionally clean, well appointed, comfortable and has excellent views of the ocean. Prices are reasonable, especially considering the view and location. Gerard’s favorite restaurant is the Mission Winery and Restaurant, a judgement we would share after a great dinner.

  • Liked — The host and the location
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travlin22006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 18, 2006

No one was there when we arrived, poor service upon calling him (thank god for cell phones) and he used our CC # after we cancelled the reservation without authorization. The charge was well over the amount of the room(s). Upon calling (after several attempts) to clear this up he told me he didn't need authorization, lost his cool, and hung up the phone. Fortunately I'm protected for this charge through my bank but others may not be so lucky.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerardofMonLogis, Owner at Mon Logis Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 7, 2008
This Four Guests arrived at around 1.30 pm .Mon Logis normal check in time is 4 Pm unless prior arrangement ,howewer after a call from this guests from their Mobile I organise to meet then in 15 Minutes outside Mon Logis .When I arrive nobody was there waiting ,I received a Call about 6Pm from them saying they were on their way to wellington and Have decided to skip Napier .My cancellation policy on their Booking form specifie clearly in Case of No Show 100% will be charged .I have charged the Full amount for the Total of their booking and this was paid by their Bank without any Problem .The cancellation Policy on the Booking Form is recognise by the Bank as a Contrat between both Parties
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.6 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.7 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.8 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mon Logis Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mon Logis Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mon Logis Bed and Breakfast
Address: 415 Marine Parade | Marine Parade -Napier, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mon Logis Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mon Logis Luxury Bed & Breakfast Marine Parade Napier, New Zealand. A little Piece of France nestled in the heart of the beautiful wine growing region of Hawke's Bay. Originally built as an English Terrace house in the 1860's, this colonial Building was extended into a private hotel. Only a few minutes walk to the city centre, this grand two story colonial villa overlooking the Pacific ocean has a fascinating history as a private hotel since the early 1900's. Mon Logis is one of the building who survive the 1931 Hawke's Bay earthquake. In 1991, it became Mon Logis, meaning "My Dwelling." Now lovingly renovated, Mon Logis will cater to a maximum of eight guests and is modeled on the small privately owned French hotel. Charming personal service and French cuisine are the specialties. Of the upstairs individually furnished rooms, two have queen size beds and two have twin beds and all have their own private facilities. Owner Frenchman Gerard decorated each guest room differently but in a style in keeping with the original charm of the building. Iron bedsteads, feather duvets, lace covers and fine cotton linen all create a special elegance and one room is totally furnished with pieces bought from France. Downstairs an informal guest lounge invites relaxation, television viewing, a quiet time reading or perhaps a game of chess or bridge. Guests can help themselves to coffee or tea and biscuits any time of the day. Breakfast, served in the privacy of your own room or downstairs dining room, could be a basket of freshly baked continental breads, croissants and brioche with a compote of locally grown fruits or a wonderful herb omelette, crispy bacon and grilled tomatoes. Whichever is chosen certainly promises to be a most memorable meal. However, should the choice be made to dine out, Gerard is happy to give recommendations and as guide competent in giving an insight into Napier's unique architecture. All perfectly designed for comfort and relaxation, Mon Logis is a non smoking establishment and does not cater for children. French and Spanish are spoken; exclusive customised vineyard tour with host by arrangement. " Mon Logis is casual elegance at a price you can afford." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mon Logis Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing