We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT A FANTASTIC STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mon Logis Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WHAT A FANTASTIC STAY”
Reviewed March 17, 2010

We had a great 3 night stay at Mon Logis, it was great meeting monsieur Gerard & socialising with the other guests. We had an ocean facing room with a balcony the bed was big & so comfortable & the room extremely clean.

The breakfasts & coffee lovingly prepared by the main man himself were the best we had during a two month trip in Australia & New Zealand.

Merci Monsieur for a great stay.

The English blokes

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herrings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    73
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
44
472
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Co.Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2010

The Mon Logis boutique hotel is a delightful and convivial place to stay.
It is within walking distance of Napier centre and is on Marine Parade across the road from the sea.

The propriertor, Gerard, was most
welcoming and gracious. He was very responsive in relation to any requests we had from customising the breakfast to meet our needs to handling requests for more
mundane items such as laundry etc.

The room, which had a wonderful view, was immaculate and extremely comfortable.

The one downside was that the hotel is located on Marine Parade which is a busy road. The noise level is quite high from early morning until late at night so sleeping was a little disjointed.
Notwithstanding that, we are happy to recommend as the upsides more than outweigh the downsides.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daoshaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Gerard offered great breakfasts that filled you up until supper. The view from our room was fantastic. There is a lot to see around Napier and Gerard offered good tips. The information centre also had very helpful staff

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePaynesMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

I recently stayed here for 2 nights whilst on a 2 week driving holiday around the north island. Napier is a lovely 'city' with a small town feel. Arriving at Mon Logis is like arriving at a family home. Gerard is there to meet you, show you round and look after you so well, yet not intrusive. Our double room over looked the pine trees at the front and was very comfortable. Be warned, breakfast is HUGE and is served in the dinig room in a most convivial atmosphere. Gerard cooks a great omlette and the fruit bowl is enormous. There is a separate lounge for tea/coffee/juice all day long. A few mins stride into the centre of Napier, on the flat. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeStephy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warkworth
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2010

Charming boutique bed and breakfast, with the most huge and delicious breakfast of fresh fruit, and with the equally charming and most jubilant host Gerard. Lively converstaion and banter that made us all feel soooo welcome. A stopover must !

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharmantWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Gerard is an amazing host. My parter and I love getting away to Napier and we look forward to seeing Gerard! The rooms and view are stunning and the breakfast Gerard cooks to order is absolutely divine. Its a quick stroll to town, and the area is full of fantastic vineyards. Plus its a great night sleep when you can hear the ocean.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chellechelleAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2010

My wife and I loved our three day stay at Mon Logis! Here are a few things we liked about the place and the area: The largest and best breakfast throughout our 4 weeks in NZ, walking distance to the town center, very friendly and helpful host, wonderful ocean view, a 1 minute walk to the beach, close to many restaurants and shops, clean and comfortable. We also loved the town and recommend a romantic dinner at the oldest vinyard in NZ The Mission. The Mission is a 10 minute drive from Mon Logis. The host Gerard was a professional rugby player and is a very interesting and helpful person to chat with if you have time. We loved our time at Mon Logis!

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank star0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.7 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.6 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
865 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
568 reviews
0.8 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
772 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mon Logis Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mon Logis Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mon Logis Bed and Breakfast
Address: 415 Marine Parade | Marine Parade -Napier, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mon Logis Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mon Logis Luxury Bed & Breakfast Marine Parade Napier, New Zealand. A little Piece of France nestled in the heart of the beautiful wine growing region of Hawke's Bay. Originally built as an English Terrace house in the 1860's, this colonial Building was extended into a private hotel. Only a few minutes walk to the city centre, this grand two story colonial villa overlooking the Pacific ocean has a fascinating history as a private hotel since the early 1900's. Mon Logis is one of the building who survive the 1931 Hawke's Bay earthquake. In 1991, it became Mon Logis, meaning "My Dwelling." Now lovingly renovated, Mon Logis will cater to a maximum of eight guests and is modeled on the small privately owned French hotel. Charming personal service and French cuisine are the specialties. Of the upstairs individually furnished rooms, two have queen size beds and two have twin beds and all have their own private facilities. Owner Frenchman Gerard decorated each guest room differently but in a style in keeping with the original charm of the building. Iron bedsteads, feather duvets, lace covers and fine cotton linen all create a special elegance and one room is totally furnished with pieces bought from France. Downstairs an informal guest lounge invites relaxation, television viewing, a quiet time reading or perhaps a game of chess or bridge. Guests can help themselves to coffee or tea and biscuits any time of the day. Breakfast, served in the privacy of your own room or downstairs dining room, could be a basket of freshly baked continental breads, croissants and brioche with a compote of locally grown fruits or a wonderful herb omelette, crispy bacon and grilled tomatoes. Whichever is chosen certainly promises to be a most memorable meal. However, should the choice be made to dine out, Gerard is happy to give recommendations and as guide competent in giving an insight into Napier's unique architecture. All perfectly designed for comfort and relaxation, Mon Logis is a non smoking establishment and does not cater for children. French and Spanish are spoken; exclusive customised vineyard tour with host by arrangement. " Mon Logis is casual elegance at a price you can afford." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mon Logis Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing