We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation at a good price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mon Logis Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
2 reviews
“Excellent accommodation at a good price”
Reviewed March 25, 2009

Gerard made us extremely welcome and provided an excellent selection for breakfast including his famous fruit plate. Our room didn't have an en suite but we had our own bathroom just down the hall. This was a little tired but very clean. It's an old building but with every comfort. I liked the guest lounge with tea, coffee, cookies, fridge full of cold drinks etc to help yourself at any time.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eye33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    73
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
44
472
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Creve Coeur, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2009

Mon Logis is just perfect !! The rooms of this small boutique hotel are exactly as described: the bedding is linen, the size as expected from a historic building, very comfortable and well apointed.
Gerard is the classy French "hotelier" any one can dream off: his breakfasts are sumptuous and he is always ready to advise on excursions, restaurants, all possible details about Napier, a lovely city.
This boutique hotel is above the most demanding expectations !!!!

No creo haya un lugar mejor en Napier donde hospedarse !!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Letsgoblues1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2009

Our stay at the Mon Logis did not disapoint, our host Gerrard was an excellent help in advising on local restaurants and things to see and do. The breakfasts were a sight to see but not if you are on a diet. The accomodation generally was very good, helped by Gerard, what a character!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randsknowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2009

A unique French character, old colonial building on Marine Parade close to the Art Deco centre.Warm and generous hospitality throughout our stay. The best breakfast we ate in over three weeks in N.Z. A beautifully appointed room with a balcony overlooking the Pacific.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorcesterWanderer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2009

Mon Logis and its proprietor Gerard are wonderful finds that any traveler desires but seldom finds. We stayed in a bright large room overlooking Napier’s beach with a balcony beachside as well. The room was clean neat with a very comfortable large king bed. Mon Logis has a lounge with tea, coffee, juice, mineral water available 24 hours.

The place is great, but Gerard makes it super special. He is a wonderful host in all respects. He made us feel at home from the start, helped us check in early, gave us great guidelines, and treated us to some of the best meals in town.

We had tried and failed to make dinner reservations at The Mission, famous as the oldest winery in New Zealand and the best restaurant in town. Gerard said tell them you’re staying with me. The Mission was completely booked with a wedding and a tour of German winemakers, but Gerard’s reference got us a lovely table for two and a wonderful evening meal. Next morning Gerard’s breakfast was overwhelming. The bowls of fresh fruit, cereal, yougart and fresh pastries were great and then he asked what we wanted for breakfast. I chose fresh cooked eggs benedict and didn’t eat the rest of the day.

The ONLY place to stay in Napier is Mon Logis

  • Liked — Gerard the special host
  • Disliked — We only booked for one night
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tj44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrogate great britain
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2009

Gerard is a knowlegeable and charming host in this French outpost in New Zealand..There is everything you would expect from someone who has created a truly unique 8 guest hotel with great attention to detail. and guest comfort. We happen to live in the country and therefore found the traffic noise a little intrusive ,others may find it quite acceptable as part of living within what is undoubtedly a vibrant and beautiful part of the world..

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahoramismo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2009

An excellent place, Gerard is wonderful, full of helpful advice and suggestions. Also extremely helpful to his guests. The location is excellent overlooking the beach at Napier and close to the centre. Breakfast was excellent. He even did our washing!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chester09Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.7 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
1.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.6 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
570 reviews
0.8 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#10 of 47 in Napier
776 reviews
0.6 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#14 of 47 in Napier
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mon Logis Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mon Logis Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mon Logis Bed and Breakfast
Address: 415 Marine Parade | Marine Parade -Napier, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mon Logis Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mon Logis Luxury Bed & Breakfast Marine Parade Napier, New Zealand. A little Piece of France nestled in the heart of the beautiful wine growing region of Hawke's Bay. Originally built as an English Terrace house in the 1860's, this colonial Building was extended into a private hotel. Only a few minutes walk to the city centre, this grand two story colonial villa overlooking the Pacific ocean has a fascinating history as a private hotel since the early 1900's. Mon Logis is one of the building who survive the 1931 Hawke's Bay earthquake. In 1991, it became Mon Logis, meaning "My Dwelling." Now lovingly renovated, Mon Logis will cater to a maximum of eight guests and is modeled on the small privately owned French hotel. Charming personal service and French cuisine are the specialties. Of the upstairs individually furnished rooms, two have queen size beds and two have twin beds and all have their own private facilities. Owner Frenchman Gerard decorated each guest room differently but in a style in keeping with the original charm of the building. Iron bedsteads, feather duvets, lace covers and fine cotton linen all create a special elegance and one room is totally furnished with pieces bought from France. Downstairs an informal guest lounge invites relaxation, television viewing, a quiet time reading or perhaps a game of chess or bridge. Guests can help themselves to coffee or tea and biscuits any time of the day. Breakfast, served in the privacy of your own room or downstairs dining room, could be a basket of freshly baked continental breads, croissants and brioche with a compote of locally grown fruits or a wonderful herb omelette, crispy bacon and grilled tomatoes. Whichever is chosen certainly promises to be a most memorable meal. However, should the choice be made to dine out, Gerard is happy to give recommendations and as guide competent in giving an insight into Napier's unique architecture. All perfectly designed for comfort and relaxation, Mon Logis is a non smoking establishment and does not cater for children. French and Spanish are spoken; exclusive customised vineyard tour with host by arrangement. " Mon Logis is casual elegance at a price you can afford." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mon Logis Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing