We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of the South of France”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mon Logis Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Although the weather was terrible, we had a lovely stay thanks to Gérard's warm welcome and friendly attitude. He loves to entertain and gives you an impeccable service - delicious and very generous breakfast (home-made croissants to die for), nice and clean property with magnificent views. Gérard is more than just a host, and his place is definitely to recommend!

From Anna and Ludo

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ludovic D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerard A, Owner at Mon Logis Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Winter Grab-one Super deal at Mon Logis .
Thank you for staying at Mon logis was a Pleasure to meet you Both .Hey !!!your French is a Good as me .Looking Forward to seeing you again at Mon Logis for another Winter Grab-one super
deal SOON
Regards
Gerard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (636)
There are newer reviews for Mon Logis Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 636 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

Last week, me and a group of 4 friends went to Mon Logis from 3rd to 5th July. Fortunately bought the coupon on GrabOne, giving us a absolute bargain and a extraordinary enjoy for the days we spent with Gerard. Mon Logis is a lovely, cute B&B motel, just minutes away from the Napier City Centre, along the waterfront and beach just across the road. Having the experience of watching sun rise in one of the morning was marvellous. We booked 3 room but Gerard resevered whole motel for us~ Gerard is an excellent chef for the nutritious breakfast of the day. He also offered the best restaurant to dine in, the best route to scene sightviewing, giving us endless information about the local and surrounding area. A big thank you to Gerard, and we are looking forward to have the experience again.

也许许多中国人更倾向于hotel的酒店,对于B&B这类的motel不太了解。B&B motel就是店主提供早餐及客房的homestay,相对于hotel更让人觉得温馨,舒适。价格也相对比较适合。推荐没有尝试过的客人试一下嚛~

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerard A, Owner at Mon Logis Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Hello Carol good to hear from you. Thanks for taking the time to write such a good review -and to provide so much information for others. We know many of our potential guests look to the reviews for the 'guest perspective" information - and it is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We do enjoy meeting our guests and the breakfast is so important I look forward to seeing you on your next trip.to Napier on Grab one
Regards
Gerard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Lovely comfortable bed, in attractively decorated room overlooking the ocean. Soothing to listen to the sea on the shore at night. Good variety of quality food offered at breakfast, including individual omelettes cooked to your personal requirements. Gerard made us feel most welcome. Convenient location to town. Ideal for a romantic retreat. We highly recommend you stay and see for yourself!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Early last week we spent two nights lapping up the luxury of this magnificent old 19th century establishment. The plumbing is strictly 21st century with ensuites in every guest room, the decor a dream. Location, location, just a short stroll to the CBD and soundshell while the surf beach is just across the road. Olde world charm in abundance and this includs Gerard, our wonderful host, Chef and endless source of local knowledge, We look forward to repeating the experience at first opportunity.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank howchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerard A, Owner at Mon Logis Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel..your comments were lovely - I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay - we look forward to your return.
Kind regards
Gerard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed at Mon Logis May 28-31, 2013. Chose it because of the high ratings and comments here on TripAdvisor. Gerard and his wonderful B&B are truly deserving of the high marks. Gerard is friendly, informative (helped tailor a sightseeing tour with a fantastic guide), makes the most delicious and filling breakfasts (muesli with milk/yogurt, fresh fruit, coffee/tea, fresh juice, custom-made omelettes, homemade croissants and toast). My travelmate and I stayed in the Paris room and Pineview Suite respectively. We both agreed, the beds were super comfy and warm (evening temps dipped into the mid-high 30 degrees Fahrenheit). Extra blankets were provided but not needed, the blankets, sheets and comforters already made up on the bed were just right. Lots of pillows, too, and bathrobes provided. I probably had the best three nights of sleep during our 13-day trip to NZ while at Mon Logis. The sunrise view from the balcony and front of the B&B is spectacular. The house is one of the older structures in town, but Gerard has maintained it well. It is located on the Marine Parade, a main thoroughfare that runs along Napier Beach, making for easy walking access to the beach and central business district. The National Aquarium is right across the street, which is also the first departure point for the new Art Deco Bus that runs from the Aquarium, along Marine Parade, through town, and to Ahuriri. Mon Logis has a nice breakfast/living room, and then a guest lounge with stereo, TV, books, magazines, coffee, tea, juice, water and biscuits. The premises are clean and comfortable. We traveled during low tourist season (beginning of winter for NZ), and the dozens of motels along Marine Parade seemed virtually empty. However, Mon Logis was booked full each night. Gerard has great restaurant recommendations too (especially Restaurant Indonesia right next door and Halim Turkish restaurant). He helped us book a shuttle to the airport and stowed our luggage on our last day. Free wi-fi, too. Mon Logis has lovely character, I definitely want to return for another stay someday and would forego all the bigger motel/hotel lodgings along Marine Parade in favor of charming, comfortable, clean Mon Logis--Gerard is a first-rate host.

Room Tip: The Pineview Suite was wonderful; corner front-facing room where you can see the sunrise every morni...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerard A, Owner at Mon Logis Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

You could live here That is for sure .
Many thanks for the lovely sentiments expressed, and appreciation for taking the time to post a such glorious review on Trip Advisor. It makes all my endeavors worthwhile when i read a positive review like yours.I enjoyed hosting you team and the very interesting chatting over breakfast with other guests
i hope you will grace our shores again and visit sunny Hawkes Bay soon, so you can explore even more of the wonderful local wine and food scene. A big Thank you for the lovely photos you posted on trip advisor Au revoir et a Bientot .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

By definition, a Bed & Breakfast needs to excel in those two functions. Mon Logis certainly does that, and throws in an engaging and obliging host and a convenient location on the waterfront. Our three nights with Gerard were entertaining and provided an ideal base for a long-anticipated visit to Napier.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imlittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

we stayed here for three days and enjoyed ourselves, Gerard was a great host and his style is different but refreshing and his breakfasts are to die for, the omelettes were amazing as were his croissants, good thing I am not on a diet, the rooms are adequate and the beds comfortable and it is very well positioned on Marine Parade. He catered for our friends with Gluten Free and Dairy free dietary needs with no problem. Gerard help us with bookings and trip ideas and was very knowledgable, our discussions over breakfast with other guests were also entertaining.

Room Tip: all rooms are up steep stairs, but it isn't a problem if you are mobile
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.7 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.6 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
914 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
576 reviews
0.8 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 47 in Napier
788 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#9 of 47 in Napier
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mon Logis Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mon Logis Bed and Breakfast

Address: 415 Marine Parade | Marine Parade -Napier, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range: $95 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mon Logis Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mon Logis Luxury Bed & Breakfast Marine Parade Napier, New Zealand. A little Piece of France nestled in the heart of the beautiful wine growing region of Hawke's Bay. Originally built as an English Terrace house in the 1860's, this colonial Building was extended into a private hotel. Only a few minutes walk to the city centre, this grand two story colonial villa overlooking the Pacific ocean has a fascinating history as a private hotel since the early 1900's. Mon Logis is one of the building who survive the 1931 Hawke's Bay earthquake. In 1991, it became Mon Logis, meaning "My Dwelling." Now lovingly renovated, Mon Logis will cater to a maximum of eight guests and is modeled on the small privately owned French hotel. Charming personal service and French cuisine are the specialties. Of the upstairs individually furnished rooms, two have queen size beds and two have twin beds and all have their own private facilities. Owner Frenchman Gerard decorated each guest room differently but in a style in keeping with the original charm of the building. Iron bedsteads, feather duvets, lace covers and fine cotton linen all create a special elegance and one room is totally furnished with pieces bought from France. Downstairs an informal guest lounge invites relaxation, television viewing, a quiet time reading or perhaps a game of chess or bridge. Guests can help themselves to coffee or tea and biscuits any time of the day. Breakfast, served in the privacy of your own room or downstairs dining room, could be a basket of freshly baked continental breads, croissants and brioche with a compote of locally grown fruits or a wonderful herb omelette, crispy bacon and grilled tomatoes. Whichever is chosen certainly promises to be a most memorable meal. However, should the choice be made to dine out, Gerard is happy to give recommendations and as guide competent in giving an insight into Napier's unique architecture. All perfectly designed for comfort and relaxation, Mon Logis is a non smoking establishment and does not cater for children. French and Spanish are spoken; exclusive customised vineyard tour with host by arrangement. " Mon Logis is casual elegance at a price you can afford." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mon Logis Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing