We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Aquarium

National Aquarium
Ranked #6 of 69 things to do in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to the national Aquarium, Marine Parade, Napier.Te Whare Tangaroa O Aotearoa New Zealand's largest display of aquatic life and unique New Zealand wildlife, including sharks, stingrays, living coral, kiwi, tuatara and a huge range of fish species. A fun and educational place to visit for all the family. Located in Napier, the National Aquarium is one of the premier Hawke's Bay Tourist Attractions. Opening Hours: Daily from 9.00am - 5.00pm, last entry 4:30pm, closed Christmas Day
Lumsden, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

We just happen to go on half price weekend, very impressed lots to see. Although some of the fish tanks were a bit small for the size of fish. Great to see divers in feeding fish. Lots of families enjoying the experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NationalAquariumHB, Manager at National Aquarium, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Half Price weekend was a huge success with nearly 2500 visitors over the two days. We are glad you were able to join in the fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    352
    163
    32
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Eketahuna, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Who needs to go to Auckland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

It has everything to offer and the children just loved it. I really felt it had as much as Kelly Tarltons (ok it was missing some penguins but I didn't travel 9 hours and it was cheaper)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank FriesianCows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NationalAquariumHB, Manager at National Aquarium, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for your support
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waipukurau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“It just gets better and better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Many years ago we took our children to the Aquarium and it was very enjoyable - but lots of small fish in small glass tanks - just rather too many. Then we visited when the moving platform was put in and thought that now NZ's National Aquarium was world class (we have visited several aquariums overseas including Australia and Dubai) and now with the Penguin feeding as well it is a really good day out. Interesting for all ages and a real tourist asset for Napier.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank WaipukRolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NationalAquariumHB, Manager at National Aquarium, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
We are pleased we made an impression and are grateful for the comparison to some truly amazing aquariums.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A good option for travellers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

A good option for travellers priced at $20 per adult. We were lucky enough to visit the acquarium around lunch time so we can watch the penguins and sharks. Best time is to go around mid day if you want to see the penguins and sharks get fed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NationalAquariumHB, Manager at National Aquarium, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Feeding times are definitely recommended as the best times to plan your visit around. To see these times, visit http://www.nationalaquarium.co.nz/aquarium-feeding.asp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Must see”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Friendly staff, ideal place to visit for any age.Good value for money plenty to see and learn. Nothing to dislike.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sukieo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NationalAquariumHB, Manager at National Aquarium, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
We appreciate you sharing the positive aspects of your time here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Aquarium also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to National Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing