We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an interesting place!”
Review of National Aquarium

National Aquarium
Ranked #6 of 70 things to do in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to the national Aquarium, Marine Parade, Napier.Te Whare Tangaroa O Aotearoa New Zealand's largest display of aquatic life and unique New Zealand wildlife, including sharks, stingrays, living coral, kiwi, tuatara and a huge range of fish species. A fun and educational place to visit for all the family. Located in Napier, the National Aquarium is one of the premier Hawke's Bay Tourist Attractions. Opening Hours: Daily from 9.00am - 5.00pm, last entry 4:30pm, closed Christmas Day
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What an interesting place!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I enjoyed visiting the Aquarium frequently even before they got the penguins which just add to the whole experience. For a town this size to have a facility of this standard is impressive. Lots to see and learn from the exhibits-perfect for a wet school holiday day. The moving travelator as almost as impressive as the one at Kelly Tarltons but considerably cheaper. People who rush through it in 20 minutes will miss a lot-I recommend putting aside a couple of hours.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    377
    176
    33
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun for all ages”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Being locals we have visited a number of times with family and friends over the years and have never been disappointed. While a bit pricey, we gifted our Grandson an annual pass last year which proved to be excellent value, and each return visit was enjoyed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NationalAquariumHB, Manager at National Aquarium, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
A Friend of the Aquarium Membership is a great way for locals or frequent visitors to come more often at a special price. We are pleased that your grandson enjoys his visits and that you feel it is excellent value. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
342 reviews
157 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Smaller than I thought”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Being entitled ‘The National Aquarium’ I was perhaps expecting a bit more than it turned out to be as I found it to be quite small. I arrived just in time for feeding in the main tank and thankfully there weren’t too many people in at that time so you could come off the moving walkway and watch the proceedings. There was a reasonable display elsewhere of fish but there didn’t seem to be a great quantity of them. The penguins were cute and I probably spent more time watching them (and trying to get great photos) than I did in other parts.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ne_quine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NationalAquariumHB, Manager at National Aquarium, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for visiting and taking the time to comment. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good if you have younger children”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

$50 to get in for two adults,one child. We stayed there for 20 mins. Was very well done,awesome if you have small children ,they will love it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I would recommend to visit this just to see the Kiwis. I had never seen them before, and this blew the socks off me!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank buds_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Aquarium also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to National Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing