We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good afternoons entertainment.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of National Aquarium

National Aquarium
Ranked #6 of 68 things to do in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to the national Aquarium, Marine Parade, Napier.Te Whare Tangaroa O Aotearoa New Zealand's largest display of aquatic life and unique New Zealand wildlife, including sharks, stingrays, living coral, kiwi, tuatara and a huge range of fish species. A fun and educational place to visit for all the family. Located in Napier, the National Aquarium is one of the premier Hawke's Bay Tourist Attractions. Opening Hours: Daily from 9.00am - 5.00pm, last entry 4:30pm, closed Christmas Day
Cowdenbeath
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A good afternoons entertainment.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is a good days entertainment especially if its raining. Best to go when the sharks/fish are being fed by the divers at 2pm.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Parfantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    366
    167
    33
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really cool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed it more than Kelly Tarltons, kids enjoyed the interactive parts, but the penguins were a bit lame

Helpful?
Thank Jo4nnek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nicely laid out medium sized aquarium”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Good selection of exhibits the main walk through tank exhibit even has a travellator so you can just watch as it glides you along the glass tunnel through the tank. It was a really hot day and it was nice to be inside in the cool. Shop for gifts and cafeteria (great coffee)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NationalAquariumHB, Manager at National Aquarium, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Happy new year to you. The shop is great for souvenirs or those hard to find gifts. The girls in the café will be pleased to know you enjoyed the coffee. Thank you for commenting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Swam with the sharks!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Husband and I spent a couple of hours viewing the many different fish (some I've never heard of, like the fish that have no eyes from Mexico!!) fantastic for the kids that I saw there too!
I spent the money and did the swim with the sharks and was so glad I did!
I noticed some reviewers said it was a long way out of town....it's not that far if you enjoy a stroll along the waterfront and perhaps grab an ice cream along the way.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brettanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NationalAquariumHB, Manager at National Aquarium, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
A visit to the National Aquarium is all about creating great memories and a swim would certainly do this! We are so glad you enjoyed your swim with the Sharks and hope next time you can try our other Close Encounters experiences. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“worth the walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We walked the length of the Parade in the wet but it was worth it to find this attraction. If you like walking under water with sharks and rays swimming over your head, this is for you. Kids love it!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dinonorwich2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NationalAquariumHB, Manager at National Aquarium, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thanks very much for your feedback. We hope the weather improved during your stay in Napier. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Aquarium also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to National Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing