We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury + charm = Great weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The County Hotel Napier
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury + charm = Great weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

We travelled to Napier for a weekend away with close friends and had a lovely time at The County Hotel. We had stayed a few nights a year ago and enjoyed our time there. We were especially looking forward to seeing Kay who we met there last time. Kay had given us fabulous tips on how to spend our time in Napier that proved to be exactly perfect for us. Kay was so friendly and made us so welcome I especially wanted to say Hello again!

Unfortunately Kay wasn't there this time but via e-mail she had given us suggestions for things to do. We picked a great wine tasting trip (Bay Tours) and enjoyed the Hastings Farmers market on Sunday morning.

Our friends hadn't visited Napier before but we all agreed we would like to return soon as there was lots more to do.

We took the "It takes two baby package" and loved it. All the special touches made our stay enjoyable. I especially like the message slipped under the door in the morning with the weather and news about the hotel.

We had dinner at the hotel restaurant and were very happy with the food. Everyone in the group found it hard to decide what to have at each course as the different options all looked good. I loved the prawn cocktail.

The girls at the front desk were especially helpful. We had a lovely Irish waitress in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner who we all thought was very good and friendly.

The rooms were perfectly clean and very comfortable. Ours had a lounge area that we could share if we opened up a door. This gave us privacy and also a shared area to relax together. The rooms had a wrap around balcony which was heaven!

We loved our stay and look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CocoJackNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    161
    41
    19
    10
See reviews for
80
632
39
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2010

We have stayed there 3 times, as a romantic getaway - once on our wedding night and subsequent anniversaries. The wedding night we got a complimentary bottle of wine but no other recognition of the special event.

We staying in Ruru, a great spa room which is why we chose it. The spa was fantastic. The other room Kotuku has only a spa bath, which isn't really big enough for 2.

The dinner meals are very pretentious which I guess is what you get with 5 star. An entree consisted of 1 scallop, quartered atop 4 biscotti (or similar).

It is a very quiet place, like a library with not many people around. It does have a unique charm though and an elegance in its decor. Rooms were adequate without being over-furnished. They were quiet without town noise although you could hear banging etc from the kitchen downstair. Kotuku had a balcony which overlooked a backpackers dirty backyard, not very good views.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkmtkrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2010

Central location, nice sized room. Restuarant food was good both for breakfast and evening dinner but the service was slow and inattentive.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickm45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2010

We stayed 2 nights while we explored Napier and Hawkes Bay. The manager at check in, Kay, put us right at ease and was very helpful in arranging our Cape Kidnappers gannet tour at the last moment. Restored English style hotel, very quaint and convenient to the waterfront and City Centre walking the Art Deco district. We did not dine in the restaurant, so can't comment on that. Comfy bed!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WIShikerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south of england
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2010

Recently toured NZ in various hotels/motels, and as this was the most expensive place we stayed we expected rather more than we got. The hotel seems to be relying on its past reputation. Breakfast especially poor, with rock hard fried eggs. Also the only place where we were charged for a morning newspaper. Overall, poor value for the money.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank saxonSouthOfEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inkberrow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2010

We stayed at the county hotel in February this year and although the room its self was clean our balcony had a pair of mens underpants left on a chair and some cress left on the table, plus stagnate water on the balcony that had obviously been there for some time. Also cobwebbs around the rails . The cleaner has not been doing their job.

We did give a letter to the receptionist about these matters and to date we have not heard from them.

Beware of the car park charge that they do not tell you about until you book out.

Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank torite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2010

I stayed here for a few days on a business trip with a colleague. The entire experience was terriffic and cozy. This isn't at all the place for a raucous party or for kids. For a nostalgic traveller or a couple, I couldn't imagine a nicer setting.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biznisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napier
0.1 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
1.2 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
9.9 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Hotel Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel Napier

Property: The County Hotel Napier
Address: 12 Browning Street | Hawkes Bay, Napier 4015, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#16 Romantic Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The County Hotel Napier 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Art Deco Supreme Award. The owners of Napier's County Hotel wished to combine the qualities and ambience of some of the finest hotels in the world. They have achieved this by incorporating fine service, fine dining and luxurious accommodation in line with 1930's Art Deco characteristics of Napier. The County Hotel is situated in the centre of Napier which is considered to be the 'Art Deco Capital of the South Pacific' and has captivated the emotions and senses of countless admirers. Originally built for the Hawke's Bay County Council in 1909, The County Hotel is one of only two significant buildings to have survived the massive 1931 earthquake. Faithfully refurbished as a boutique hotel, the County Hotel now stands as Napier's premier Hotel. The hotel is home to an extremely popular, multi award winning Wine Street Restaurant, the superb Churchill's Champagne Lounge, an intimate library, well-appointed function areas, conference facilities and eighteen luxurious guest rooms and offer a variety of accommodation packages. Come and enjoy this architectural masterpiece with its atmosphere of conventional luxury and allow yourself to be pampered by the attentive service of our devoted staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The County Hotel Napier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing