We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The County Hotel Napier
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2009

I stayed in the Akiaki Room, which was very nicely furnished, with wood panelling and the room was tremendously spacious. It overlooked the main street, but to be honest I wasn't too bothered by the view. It had his and hers hand basins, a shower and a spa bath and shower at the other end of the en-suite bathroom.

I found all the staff utterly charming and the young lady who tended the bar was particularly adorable. I felt this hotel had a warm and friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnonLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    161
    41
    19
    10
See reviews for
80
632
39
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2009

Stayed here March 2009 for 2 nights. Very comfy hotel. Didn’t book in advance just turned up and got a room on the day we arrived.

Staff were very friendly and helpful, public areas were tidy and very pleasant, with little quirky touches (an old 1930s typewriter and a pedal organ in the little 1st floor library for example!). We were made very welcome and felt very at home.

The room we had was “Takahe” (didn’t seem to have numbers), beautifully wood panelled, nice large shower room, pretty new furnishings. I don’t think that it’s that long since the hotel was totally refurbished, the furniture and pictures etc. were all “olde worlde”-looking but I think mostly were actually fairly new.

Nice flat screen TV, perfect for watching in bed! There was a CD player with radio as well which was a nice touch. I think there was also a DVD player.

Well stocked mini bar, good choice of wines, although with all the wine we bought in the Hawkes Bay area we never needed to actually use this!

We had dinner in the restaurant (“Chambers”) one evening, which was one of the best meals we had while we were in New Zealand, not cheap but well worth it, and again very friendly service. We didn’t have the breakfast though so I can’t really comment on that.

Hotel also had it’s own car park which was opposite, although be warned there is a NZ$5 charge per day for using it.

All in all Napier was a lovely place for a short break and the County Hotel was a perfect base for exploring the town.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fierydormouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2009

Unlike reviewers in 2008, we (two couples) found our two separate bedrooms to be high ceilinged, wood-paneled and sizeable, furnished in "period furniture," deep, richly-colored fabrics and spotless bathrooms. A lovely second floor library has leather chairs and a wealth of books to borrow. The food--both breakfast and dinner--was fine and served in a lovely art-deco styled dining room. The bar is a sweet reminder of past days and the Winston Churchill quotations covering the walls can create some interesting conversations. The restaurant and bar wait staff was somewhat young and seemed in the process of being trained, but they were attentive, personable and eager. They gave great recommendations for other restaurants without pushing their own. You can't beat the location--a block from Marine Parade and quiet. I would definitely recommend this to any of my friend (over 40) but would suggest people looking for a trendy spot to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mainemaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester, Northants, UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2008

Stayed here for 6 nights during England's cricket tour. Very expensive over Easter but room was great and hotel was excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful and sorted a couple of minor problems straight away. Hotel is furnished in art deco style and therefore doesn't have a modern feel, but don't confuse that with tired. Restaurant was excellent (we ate there 3 nights), quite expensive for NZ, but not outrageous. Continental breakfast included in rate was good but hot dishes very expensive and not worth it. Churchills Bar is very quirky, but good wine and cocktails. Hotel is in a fairly quiet street just off sea front and very close to town centre.

Overall if you want something different and can get a reasonable rate this is a great place to stay and will get you into the right 'deco' mood for Napier and Hawkes Bay

  • Liked — The overall feel and the restaurant
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelLover91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California,USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2008

We are travelling through NZ and booking our accommodation as we go. This hotel was listed in two Guide Books as being "Napier's Best Boutique Hotel" and had very good reviews. The outside of the building is lovely and certainly reflects the Art Deco feel of Napier but unfortunately the inside lets it down dramatically. I would think that at one time, probably when it was first remodeled, it was very nice, but now it is tired and in need of a complete overhaul. The staff were friendly but when we arrived we were told the Porter/Restaurant Manager didn't come in until 2pm and so we had to struggle upstairs with our bags. The room was small and could have been cleaner. The bed cover was stained. We didn't eat at the hotel because it didn't look very inviting.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Shabby
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TwoBrits93010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2007

completely apalling, the room costed us so much and we didn't even get a decent TV (to distract us from the non-seaviews from our windows). Furthermore, when we walked into the dining room for breakfast and we realised we had to pay 22 dollars each for a bite of toast and watery coffee, we simply decided NEVER AGAIN. For your own good, don't stay there

  • Liked — the service
  • Disliked — all the rest
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank aldonash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helsinki
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2006

the first feeling i got as soon as we step in the room was like this is RIP OFF. the room interior look like and fake antique and worn out.
the shower worked like back in the 1930"s
i even asked the staff how its possible this hotel was 5 stars. 2 stars in europe style
the breakfast was worst i ever seen for 22$

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank extrajoss5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napier
0.1 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
1.2 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
9.9 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Hotel Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel Napier

Property: The County Hotel Napier
Address: 12 Browning Street | Hawkes Bay, Napier 4015, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#16 Romantic Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The County Hotel Napier 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Art Deco Supreme Award. The owners of Napier's County Hotel wished to combine the qualities and ambience of some of the finest hotels in the world. They have achieved this by incorporating fine service, fine dining and luxurious accommodation in line with 1930's Art Deco characteristics of Napier. The County Hotel is situated in the centre of Napier which is considered to be the 'Art Deco Capital of the South Pacific' and has captivated the emotions and senses of countless admirers. Originally built for the Hawke's Bay County Council in 1909, The County Hotel is one of only two significant buildings to have survived the massive 1931 earthquake. Faithfully refurbished as a boutique hotel, the County Hotel now stands as Napier's premier Hotel. The hotel is home to an extremely popular, multi award winning Wine Street Restaurant, the superb Churchill's Champagne Lounge, an intimate library, well-appointed function areas, conference facilities and eighteen luxurious guest rooms and offer a variety of accommodation packages. Come and enjoy this architectural masterpiece with its atmosphere of conventional luxury and allow yourself to be pampered by the attentive service of our devoted staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The County Hotel Napier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing