We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The County Hotel Napier
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Total class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Our weekend stay was fabulous, The service and food was second to none.
It was a pleasure to stay in the County Hotel. Rooms luxury plus.
Location just great.
Would recommend to any one wanting to visit Napier.
We'll done to all staff.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. Nice to be by the library first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulsueharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for passing on your thoughts about the hotel, our cuisine in Wine Street Restaurant and our service. We truly value your comments.
Come back and take advantage of the fantastic rates we have available during the winter months! Warm Regards Fiona Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    161
    41
    19
    10
See reviews for
80
632
39
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Masterton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed here and got a great room as we have here in the past too, staff are friendly and helpful, the hotel is clean quite and has just a great feeling over all.
We got a room with breakfast included....wow how great that was too.
A must is to go to the library get comfy and have a port (provided!)
Looking forward to our next stay!!!
Todd

Room Tip: Just ask, but I think you' II find the rooms are all pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T0dd17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for posting your thoughts on Trip Advisor, we do appreciate your comments.
I hope you will come back and enjoy our hospitality again very soon. Thank you again for staying with us. Warm Regards Fiona Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waihi, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

From the moment we walked into the hotel we felt like VIPs, with the personalised service of John at reception. Every aspect of our stay, from the Vice Regal suite to drinks in Churchill's Bar and our 5 course meal at Wine Street restaurant, was perfect in every respect. Our suite had all the modern conveniences (including an incredibly comfortable bed!) without compromising the integrity of this beautiful historical building. This was an engagement treat for us and we would like to thank all of the staff for making us feel so special, and assisting with extra touches in our suite. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farms4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
It was a real treat & pleasure to read that you enjoyed The County Hotel and our hospitality!
It was a delight to welcome you for this very special occasion that you had planned. I am pleased you enjoyed our Vice Regal Suite & the atmosphere we have created in our boutique hotel. Wine Street Restaurant is a wonderful place to dine for all occasions, we are delighted that you enjoyed our cuisine. Come back & see us again very soon!! Warm Regards Fiona Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed at the Country Hotel for 3 nights and loved every second of it. Its location is perfect and close to the beach and in the heart of the town. The staff make you feel right at home and provide you with a great experience. The rooms are of a very high quality and the food is excellent .
We had a problem with our car on our departure buy the owner went out of his way to help us.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheehan1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We appreciate your lovely comments and your time taken to post your review on Trip advisor. We are pleased you enjoyed the unique charm we have created at The County Hotel. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I hope your remaining trip to NZ is safe and enjoyable. Warm Regards - Fiona Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

this is a true boutique hotel of fine fine standards.For Dinner the Beef was perfectly done, and Eggs Benedict for breakfast was also of high standards.Excellent food, wine and staff ensure you feel welcome and want to come back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshlaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for passing on your thoughts about the hotel, our cuisine in Wine Street Restaurant and our staff. We truly value your comments.
Come back and take advantage of the fantastic rates we have available during the winter months! Warm Regards Fiona Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Beautifully refurbished heritage building with gorgeously old-fashioned yet trendy decor, helpful staff and great adjoining bar and restaurant. We were given complimentary French bubbles and a delicious cheese and fruit platter as part of our package as well, and for breakfast there was a very nice continental buffet including fresh honey literally dripping from the comb as well as a good selection of cooked breakfast options.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 987KirstyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful words!
Your review is very much appreciated by our management and team!
We are delighted that you enjoyed the little extras we offer in some of our packages.
The honeycomb at breakfast in our Wine Street Restaurant, is certainly delicious and enjoyed by many of our guests. We look forward to seeing you very soon.
Warm Regards Fiona Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

complimentary round of drinks in churchills bar and a very pleasant dinner to follow . a glass of complimentary port in the library an a cosy room great service from all,very quite location but it was a Tuesday nite .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tilez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback on the hotel’s facilities!
Our Wine Street Restaurant is a salute to Hawke’s Bay wine and food! We are delighted that you enjoyed our cuisine and the complimentary drinks we offered to our guests.
Thank you for your preference when booking accommodation in Napier.
Warm Regards Fiona Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napier
0.1 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
1.2 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
9.9 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Hotel Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel Napier

Property: The County Hotel Napier
Address: 12 Browning Street | Hawkes Bay, Napier 4015, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#16 Romantic Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The County Hotel Napier 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Art Deco Supreme Award. The owners of Napier's County Hotel wished to combine the qualities and ambience of some of the finest hotels in the world. They have achieved this by incorporating fine service, fine dining and luxurious accommodation in line with 1930's Art Deco characteristics of Napier. The County Hotel is situated in the centre of Napier which is considered to be the 'Art Deco Capital of the South Pacific' and has captivated the emotions and senses of countless admirers. Originally built for the Hawke's Bay County Council in 1909, The County Hotel is one of only two significant buildings to have survived the massive 1931 earthquake. Faithfully refurbished as a boutique hotel, the County Hotel now stands as Napier's premier Hotel. The hotel is home to an extremely popular, multi award winning Wine Street Restaurant, the superb Churchill's Champagne Lounge, an intimate library, well-appointed function areas, conference facilities and eighteen luxurious guest rooms and offer a variety of accommodation packages. Come and enjoy this architectural masterpiece with its atmosphere of conventional luxury and allow yourself to be pampered by the attentive service of our devoted staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The County Hotel Napier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing