We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm in Napier”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The County Hotel Napier
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The County Hotel in Napier is a fascinating reminder of hotels of old, more like a house than a hotel, each room opening off a winding hallway with a traditional key and individually named after a native New Zealand bird rather than just a number. The hotel has been renovated thoughtfully and offers contemporary and exemplary wine and cuisine while still offering deep leather sofas in darkened corners, photographic reminders of Napier's days of old (including the earthquake), and even a library for guests' use complete with complimentary port! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and appreciated the attention and service from the excellent staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyoftravel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherNapier, Reservation Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Wow! What a lovely review! We valued your feedback and delighted in your enjoyment of our unique hotel and all the added treasures that await our guests. I am also pleased to read that you appreciated Wine Street cuisine and the fabulous selection of wines that we can offer. Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Warm Regards Fiona Booth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,072)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

788 - 794 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2014

The County Hotel is an architectural gem, retaining many of its original touches. From the moment you step through the door, you feel as though you have stepped back in time - in a good way!

The staff here are the hotel's greatest asset. We dealt mainly with Jayne, who went out of her way to assist however she could. She always greeted us with a smile and hello (as did every member of staff we came across) but Jayne and the lovely lady who runs the restaurant particularly contributed to our enjoyment of the hotel.

Our room was spacious, with a large and extremely comfortable bed and good-sized bathroom. The spa bath was a very welcome place to relax after a long drive to Napier, I just wish it had been big enough to fit two comfortably.

Its location in the heart of Napier (walking distance to almost everything) can't be beaten and car parking is provided directly across the street. The on-site restaurant and bar also provides great food (far better than what I have come to expect from in-house dining) if you don't feel like leaving the hotel. The port and books available in the library are another touch to make this feel like a home away from home.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Kotuku room on the second floor. It is spacious, comfortable (especially the bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbTraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review The County Hotel, we appreciate your lovely comments. We are pleased you enjoyed the unique charm we have created at The County Hotel. Warm Regards - Fiona Booth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

If you wish to be in the heart of Art Deco Napier, have super food in the hotel, and great touring on foot, stay here. The rooms are full of personality with early 20th century period furnishings. The halls offer an opportunity to meander among vintage treasures. We enjoyed the balcony sunsets with an outstanding selection from the winery store across the street. I fell in love with the experience.

Room Tip: Who needs a fitness center with so much walking and sight seeing in Napier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Thank you for your feedback on the hotel’s facilities and our team! I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. The New Zealand Wine Centre is definitely a treasure trove showcasing some of Hawke's Bay's finest wines. Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Warm Regards Fiona Booth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Our return stay did not disappoint. The building of course retains its charm, the dining experience is of a consistently high standard, and the staff were even more friendly and helpful than last time. The port in the library was a nice touch. A very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J56462014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Thank you for posting your thoughts on Trip Advisor, we do appreciate your comments.
I hope you will come back and enjoy our hospitality again soon. Warm Regards Fiona Booth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

If you go to the Art Deco capital of NZ, then you must stay in this hotel. It has preserved the historical atmosphere of its era (1910) but still ensures the comfort and amenities are of a high standard and are equal to those at any top class hotel. We enjoyed everything on offer. We had pre-dinner drinks in the cosy and welcoming Churchill Bar. Our dinner was superb. Karl, the maitre'd, knew his business. The service was spot on and his knowledge of local wines was extensive.
All staff were very friendly and efficient. This is a place I would certainly return to, whether visiting Napier for pleasure or business.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor. The room was very spacious and extremely quiet. No traffic noise and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful words!
Your review is very much appreciated by our management and team!
We are delighted that you enjoyed our unique bar and Wine Street Restaurant, Karl is certainly very knowledgeable and welcoming. We look forward to seeing you very soon.
Warm Regards Fiona Booth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Had only one night here but thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were so very friendly and friendly, room was not huge but warm and comfortable, lovely high ceilings and immaculate bathroom.
I am vegan, mentioned this to the staff who brought the chef out to have a chat. Result..the most wonderful and imaginative 3 course vegan meal I have ever had, Great choice of wine as well and the waiter made the whole evening even better with his recommendations on wine for each course.
Would love to go back sometime soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

We treasured your feedback on the hotel’s facilities and our team!
Our Wine Street Restaurant is a salute to Hawke’s Bay wine and food, we are delighted that you enjoyed our cuisine and the many delicious wines we have available for our guests pleasure. Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor Warm Regards Fiona Booth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Our recent two night stay at the character filled County Hotel ticked all our boxes. The old world ambience, the incredibly helpful, friendly, informative staff and management all contributed to a wonderful weekend of relaxation in the delightful city of Napier. Top tips for visiting the wineries of the Hawkes Bay were very welcome from Karl, our maitre'd, over a really good breakfast.
Our king bed was comfortable, with quality linen, however, I found the quality of the pillows compromised. Enjoyed being able to walk to the fountain in the evenings and sit and watch the display, whilst hearing waves breaking on the shore of the stony beach. Lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BreakAWay60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherNapier, Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts, we do appreciate your comments.
I hope your remaining trip was enjoyable and safe. Warm Regards Fiona Booth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.1 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 46 in Napier
927 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
1.2 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 46 in Napier
800 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 46 in Napier
581 reviews
0.3 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#13 of 46 in Napier
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Hotel Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel Napier

Address: 12 Browning Street | Hawkes Bay, Napier 4015, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napier
Price Range: $115 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The County Hotel Napier 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Art Deco Supreme Award. The owners of Napier's County Hotel wished to combine the qualities and ambience of some of the finest hotels in the world. They have achieved this by incorporating fine service, fine dining and luxurious accommodation in line with 1930's Art Deco characteristics of Napier. The County Hotel is situated in the centre of Napier which is considered to be the 'Art Deco Capital of the South Pacific' and has captivated the emotions and senses of countless admirers. Originally built for the Hawke's Bay County Council in 1909, The County Hotel is one of only two significant buildings to have survived the massive 1931 earthquake. Faithfully refurbished as a boutique hotel, the County Hotel now stands as Napier's premier Hotel. The hotel is home to an extremely popular, multi award winning Wine Street Restaurant, the superb Churchill's Champagne Lounge, an intimate library, well-appointed function areas, conference facilities and eighteen luxurious guest rooms and offer a variety of accommodation packages. Come and enjoy this architectural masterpiece with its atmosphere of conventional luxury and allow yourself to be pampered by the attentive service of our devoted staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The County Hotel Napier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing