We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old World Charm with a touch of class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The County Hotel Napier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The County Hotel Napier
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Old World Charm with a touch of class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

The Napier County Hotel is situated just a minute’s walk away from the heart of this vibrant east coast town, within easy striking distance of a great selection of restaurants, cafes and bars. It is an equally short walk to the beach; a great place to relax, walk the dog or an early morning run.

Once a year we join up with friends for a trip to Napier and for us, there is nowhere better to stay.

The hotel occupies one of the most striking and authentic buildings in Napier. This is continued when you step inside, throughout the lobby, dining room, library and all the rooms. The County does not attempt to play on the art-deco theme, so often done badly to attract tourists – it feels genuine and has a noticeable touch of class without a hint of snobbishness.

This is evident in the fixtures & fittings, the food and the service. The County feels warm, intimate and cozy. The atmosphere is easy, and feels more like a family home. It would be very easy to stay longer than planned. On three separate occasions, we have stayed in three different rooms; each was very individual and comfortable, we have no preference so far. All have the usual facilities, plus a variety of period furniture and cozy seating. The beds are soft with electric blankets just like your Grandma used to have and all the experts say is bad for you; but nonetheless always ensure a great night’s sleep and sweet dreams!

Down below, Churchill’s Bar is a fantastic venue either for the whole evening or as a rendezvous before venturing out into Napier. The bar is small and easy to meet other guests, if that is what you wish to do.

We have never taken breakfast, preferring to try our luck out on the street, so cannot comment on this. Dinner has always been excellent with an imaginative menu and high quality food presented with perfection. Ditto the wine list. On our recent visit, twelve of us decided to eat late and at short notice. This proved to be no problem and we received excellent service with a smile.

One of my favourite areas of The County is the library. Soft carpets, leather chairs and a complementary decanter of port are a great way to waste an hour or two while you browse through the many books on offer.

Our annual trip revolves around a shooting weekend, which means lots of baggage/equipment, dogs and early/late arrivals and departures. All of our group have always found the staff and management to be very accommodating and helpful in every way. There is secure parking directly opposite the hotel.

The County is not necessarily for everybody. People who prefer ultra modern, sweaky-clean rooms may be disappointed. But for a bit of old-world comfort with a touch of class, look no further.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raptorman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    157
    40
    19
    10
See reviews for
75
614
38
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

I have stayed in the city of Napier on many occassions over the years and this time found myself looking for a place which could cater for four of us between two twin rooms and that hopefully could deliver on a historic vibe with good food and service. Wow! Got that here folks! From the moment we walked in and were shown into the rooms and around the Hotel I could tell I'd booked the right place! Shown up to the library and informed about the carafe of port and glasses to which one could help one's self for gratis - I had to ask twice if I'd heard that right...
Room accomodation was comfortable, clean and spacious. Regret that I never made it down to avail myself of 'Churchills' (the cosy in-house bar) but when we all breakfasted the following morning in the County's restaraunt we were impressed big time! Awesome selection of well-cooked morning sustinance accompanied by great coffee and selection of juices. I had never stayed before - will I be going back? Damn straight! I've already booked again to stay two-nights this time round. That way they'll be no excuses for me and my partner not finding time for a relaxing drink down in Churchills...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We ran into this hotel on accident and were so happy with it that we wished we could have stayed there the night before. We were upgraded to an apartment type accomodation with our own sitting room and separate bedroom. Everyone was very helpful and the food in the restaurant was fabulous. I had the best salmon I think I have ever had and we lived in Alaska and we have salmon a lot at home. The cute bar attached to the restaurant was quaint and fun and called Chambers. If you are in the area this is a great gem to find. Loved it!

Room Tip: See what specials they have available and come in winter when it's not so busy in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lenorecrawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

we booked into the county hotel on the basis of its 5 star rating. God only knows how it got this rating - it doesn't even deserve 1! Our room was incredible dusty, one lamp didnt work, out of date food in our min bar and the decor was just horrible! The bathroom smelt like something had died in there! The whole place is in dire need of a revampand a good clean. Check in was painfully unprofessional by an old lady who I suspected as being drunk. We had a drink in the cosy churchills bar later only to be harrased by the drunken english owner who stunk of wine! We just wanted a quite drink and he kept insisted on buying us more and more drinks - he was clearly very intoxicated. We ended up leaving after his dalmation dogs were jumping around everywhere in the bar. Next morning we proceeded down for breakfast. The buffet was well below average and did not look very inticing. We were greeted again by the owner who was drunk again at 8.30am! We saw the dogs again come out of the kitchen, after this we left our cooked breakfasts (which were well below average in taste and presentation) and checked out soon after and will never be staying here again. what a waste of money. This hotel is a joke and desperately needs its stars reviewing. Not a good experience for people coming from outside of the area (we had flow from auckland for the weekend). Shame as we always enjoy coming to sunny napier. Do not be fooled by the reasonable prices online - you get what you pay for! shame though as the building has so much potential with the napier art deco theme going on. We will never be staying here again, but we will be back to beautiful napier.

Room Tip: stay at te pania or anywhere apart from here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherNapier, Reservaton Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We are absolutely astounded at The County Hotel that it has taken you nearly four months to write such a malicious, vengeful review! Surely if you felt this strongly about the service and facilities we have to offer you would have voiced your opinion at your very first opportunity!
It is an attention-grabbing review and we are intrigued why you did not bring your concerns to our attention directly and then at the time of your check out!

We are indeed very pleased that not all of our guests share with your opinion.

I would like to ask you to indeed verify that you did stay at The County Hotel, as I notice you are a first time reviewer and I question the integrity of your delayed review and so your intentions.

I would like to add for guests looking to stay at our beautiful boutique hotel please take the time to look at the many positive comments our guest’s have shared on Trip Advisor. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Got a great wotif deal that included breakfast. The hotel is close to the centre of Napier - easy walking distance to many attractions along Marine Parade and to check out the art deco architecture throughout town. We were given a glass of champagne upon arrival, welcomed and taken to the Pari room (all rooms named after native birds). A gift box of little snacks was also provided free of charge.
The hotel and rooms were old fashioned and very stylish but with modern amenities, including free wi fi. Free port was made available in the library on the first floor.
The restaurant and bar was also excellent and the breakfast was delicious.
The only down side was that Napier does still seem to have a boy racer element which is a bit annoying, though didn't go all night and its not really the hotel's fault.
The hotel made our long weekend getaway to Napier all the more memorable. Absolutely recommend it.

Room Tip: All rooms (I suspect) would be great, though there was a fairly noisy A/C unit outside the neighbour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherNapier, Resrvations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Your feedback on the hotel’s location, guest room and breakfast service is very much appreciated. It was our pleasure to have been of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future, should you travels bring you to Napier.
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The County Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed a long weekend at the hotel and Napier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

The staff were great, the atmosphere was from another time. A great weekend, we will be coming back to bring my clients who would relish the atmosphere, the grandeur and the price which was reasonable for the grade of hotel. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Trish LL
We truly appreciate your generous compliments on the ambiance we have created at The County Hotel. We look forward to further delighting you with The County Hotel hospitality when you next return to Napier. We thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

After a rather farcical check in we were shown to our room. The twin beds were super comfortable but the room could use a proper dust and clean throughout (lots of dust). The bathroom had a 'funky' smell from the outset which was off putting although in saying that it was clean-ish (have def stayed in worse!!). TV didn't work & due to the bathroom smell left the window open for the full two nights and days we were there.

Room Tip: First floor with a window to get some fresh air through the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roseygirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Roseygirl13
Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on Trip Advisor!
I am very sorry to learn of your disappointment at this time. Contrary to what you have experienced, we truly value our guest’s comments and we regret that you did not receive our normal high standards of welcome and hospitality.
Your comments have been passes onto our team.
Regards
Fiona Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napier
0.1 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
1.2 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 48 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
9.9 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Hotel Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel Napier

Property: The County Hotel Napier
Address: 12 Browning Street | Hawkes Bay, Napier 4015, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#16 Romantic Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The County Hotel Napier 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Art Deco Supreme Award. The owners of Napier's County Hotel wished to combine the qualities and ambience of some of the finest hotels in the world. They have achieved this by incorporating fine service, fine dining and luxurious accommodation in line with 1930's Art Deco characteristics of Napier. The County Hotel is situated in the centre of Napier which is considered to be the 'Art Deco Capital of the South Pacific' and has captivated the emotions and senses of countless admirers. Originally built for the Hawke's Bay County Council in 1909, The County Hotel is one of only two significant buildings to have survived the massive 1931 earthquake. Faithfully refurbished as a boutique hotel, the County Hotel now stands as Napier's premier Hotel. The hotel is home to an extremely popular, multi award winning Wine Street Restaurant, the superb Churchill's Champagne Lounge, an intimate library, well-appointed function areas, conference facilities and eighteen luxurious guest rooms and offer a variety of accommodation packages. Come and enjoy this architectural masterpiece with its atmosphere of conventional luxury and allow yourself to be pampered by the attentive service of our devoted staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The County Hotel Napier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing