We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old world charm, fantastic service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The County Hotel Napier
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Old world charm, fantastic service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Got a great wotif deal that included breakfast. The hotel is close to the centre of Napier - easy walking distance to many attractions along Marine Parade and to check out the art deco architecture throughout town. We were given a glass of champagne upon arrival, welcomed and taken to the Pari room (all rooms named after native birds). A gift box of little snacks was also provided free of charge.
The hotel and rooms were old fashioned and very stylish but with modern amenities, including free wi fi. Free port was made available in the library on the first floor.
The restaurant and bar was also excellent and the breakfast was delicious.
The only down side was that Napier does still seem to have a boy racer element which is a bit annoying, though didn't go all night and its not really the hotel's fault.
The hotel made our long weekend getaway to Napier all the more memorable. Absolutely recommend it.

Room Tip: All rooms (I suspect) would be great, though there was a fairly noisy A/C unit outside the neighbour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherNapier, Resrvations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Your feedback on the hotel’s location, guest room and breakfast service is very much appreciated. It was our pleasure to have been of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future, should you travels bring you to Napier.
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The County Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed a long weekend at the hotel and Napier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    161
    41
    19
    10
See reviews for
80
632
39
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

The staff were great, the atmosphere was from another time. A great weekend, we will be coming back to bring my clients who would relish the atmosphere, the grandeur and the price which was reasonable for the grade of hotel. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Trish LL
We truly appreciate your generous compliments on the ambiance we have created at The County Hotel. We look forward to further delighting you with The County Hotel hospitality when you next return to Napier. We thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

After a rather farcical check in we were shown to our room. The twin beds were super comfortable but the room could use a proper dust and clean throughout (lots of dust). The bathroom had a 'funky' smell from the outset which was off putting although in saying that it was clean-ish (have def stayed in worse!!). TV didn't work & due to the bathroom smell left the window open for the full two nights and days we were there.

Room Tip: First floor with a window to get some fresh air through the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roseygirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Roseygirl13
Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on Trip Advisor!
I am very sorry to learn of your disappointment at this time. Contrary to what you have experienced, we truly value our guest’s comments and we regret that you did not receive our normal high standards of welcome and hospitality.
Your comments have been passes onto our team.
Regards
Fiona Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta
Level Contributor
76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were so excited to stay at a historic property (where else would you want to stay if you're going to a city because if its historic architecture?) and disappointed that the internet showed them to be full-up for our visit to Napier. However, we took a chance when we arrived and called anyway. Apologetically, the manager (Bobbie) told us they had only one small room (named "Roa" - they rather charmingly use bird names to designate rooms instead of numbers) available and that we were welcome to come and have a look at it. We went right over and Bobbie showed us right up. The room was indeed small but it had a queen sized bed and shower (no tub) and, really, what more do you need in a room that you're not going to be spending a lot of time in? And, the beautiful lounge/library area on our floor meant that we had a lovely place to relax that we probably would have taken advantage of even if we'd had a more sizable room (and made the rather pricey $169NZD room far more worth the money). Even better, they provided evening port for guests and it was actually quite good. We particularly enjoyed getting to know some free-pouring gents from Wellington, who were very engaging and helpful in their advice about our upcoming visit to their city (Kiwis are generally pretty dang nice and hospitable, btw). The only downsides were that our room was only available for one night and the hotel restaurant, Chambers, was incongruently inferior (service was not very good and food was OK but very slow in coming). This is a fine choice of historic hotel (also right across the street from the Wine Center) but you'd be better off staying here and eating at the wonderful Emporium restaurant that's part of the nearby (one block away) Masonic Hotel.

Room Tip: The small room ("Roa") we were in was perfectly adequate and the lovely lounge/library (an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Good Afternoon Rebinga
Thank you for your preference when choosing accommodation in Napier.
Your feedback upon the hotel’s facilities is very much appreciated.
I will pass your comments on to our Restaurant Manager regarding our restaurant and service.
We hope you enjoyed NZ and your trip.
Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here a couple years ago, and still remember it fondly. It was a surprise present from our in-laws, and one of the best best hotel weekends ever. Loved the room, restaurant and location was very central. Lovely staff made it memorable too. Thanks guys xx

Room Tip: Ask for privacy when booking and they give you a quiet corner room, so accomodating!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serena O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Serena O
Thank you for taking the time to review The County Hotel, we appreciate your lovely comments. We look forward to further delighting you with The County Hotel hospitality when you should next want to enjoy a weekend away from home.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed four nights and loved Napier this time. The hotel is old, therefore the stairs are creaky, the windows are finicky and the light switches are a little confusing but these are part of the overall experience. We had the Akuku? room which is large and has a large bathroom. The bed was a king and had lovely quality linen. The bathroom has a separate spa bath and shower.. The hotel offers a library room which is nice and cozy with a huge selection of books and a glass of port (complimentary) we enjoyed the use of this area prior to dinner and also afterwards. There were a lot of little touches which made our stay really nice, for example they give you fresh milk every day for tea/coffee. The manager suggested great restaurants and was super helpful. I asked him a billion questions all of which he happily answered. We will stay there again. In summary: great staff, great value, great location and great room!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srlisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Srlisa
It was very rewarding for our team & management to read your review.
We are thrilled you enjoyed The County Hotel and the small things we like to offer our guests.
Your feedback is very much appreciated.
We hope your trip to New Zealand was safe with treasured memories!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

The County is unlike any other Hotel. It excludes a lovely old fashioned charm from the library - which has leather chairs, antiques and a room full of books. They also have a room with a computer for modern comforts. A beautiful large table and a bottle of Port you are welcome to drink. The rooms are nice, ours was a little dated in décor. Our room had a lovely balcony. Host is lively and the bar is worth visiting... easy to recommend the County Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LianneJ57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Lianne
We truly appreciate you taking the time to review The County hotel.
We look forward to further delighting you with the County Hotel’s hospitality when you next return to Napier. Warm Regards to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napier
0.1 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
1.2 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
9.9 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Hotel Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel Napier

Property: The County Hotel Napier
Address: 12 Browning Street | Hawkes Bay, Napier 4015, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#16 Romantic Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The County Hotel Napier 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Art Deco Supreme Award. The owners of Napier's County Hotel wished to combine the qualities and ambience of some of the finest hotels in the world. They have achieved this by incorporating fine service, fine dining and luxurious accommodation in line with 1930's Art Deco characteristics of Napier. The County Hotel is situated in the centre of Napier which is considered to be the 'Art Deco Capital of the South Pacific' and has captivated the emotions and senses of countless admirers. Originally built for the Hawke's Bay County Council in 1909, The County Hotel is one of only two significant buildings to have survived the massive 1931 earthquake. Faithfully refurbished as a boutique hotel, the County Hotel now stands as Napier's premier Hotel. The hotel is home to an extremely popular, multi award winning Wine Street Restaurant, the superb Churchill's Champagne Lounge, an intimate library, well-appointed function areas, conference facilities and eighteen luxurious guest rooms and offer a variety of accommodation packages. Come and enjoy this architectural masterpiece with its atmosphere of conventional luxury and allow yourself to be pampered by the attentive service of our devoted staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The County Hotel Napier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing