We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back in another age but lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The County Hotel Napier
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Back in another age but lovely”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel - and found it very comfortable if a little quirky. It was very quiet when we were there post RWC and so the restaurant lacked atmosphere but the food both at supper one night and at breakfast was good. The room was clean and had everything we could need - the only thing was that we were charged for the 2 chocolates that were on top of the tea caddy-they and a bottle of water were $16 on the bill which was a bit of a shock! However we would have no hesitation in staying again and the staff were all really friendly!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suze30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    162
    41
    20
    10
See reviews for
84
645
39
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

A lovely hotel with charm and character, After dinner Port in the Library was a very nice touch! Staff great, room lovely, .... and very well situated for walking around the town of Napier. Dinner in the restaurant was superb. Would love to go back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJ5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lampeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Interesting and somewhat quirky, this hotel has a wonderful style and ambience. The room was exceptionally comfortable, the service generally top notch and the whole experience pleasing and relaxing. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

I loved this place. It was one of the few hotels which had charm, elegance, & excellent facilities. The old was tastefully preserved while completely modernized. We were generously upgraded to a suite, which had everything one could want - both soaking tub and shower, huge balcony, living room and separate bedroom with a king bed. any other small amenities one could want.
I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coromandel, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We celebrated my birthday at the Country Hotel in the fabulous Art deco city of Napier.
From the moment we arrived, the service was excellent.
We dined in the Chambers Restaurant where the food was so yummy with excellent presentation. Clearly an experienced team in the kitchen.
Being married to a Chef, and previously from the Industry, we know about quality food.
You will love the quirky bar Churchill's for a glass of champagne or two.
The room was stylish and intimate.
We left at 6:30 am on a Monday and the team were still vibrant and could not do enough for us.
We are really looking forward to returning to the Country Inn
Judy & Derek

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor with the Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We were greeted by extremely friendly and helpful owners . Our suite was on the top floor with a wrap around balcony . The suite was very well appointed with every possible requirement covered . Internet access was available and free ( unlike so many other 5 star establishments ) . Dinner and breakfast were wonderful . The building is in classic art deco style , very attractive .

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niamhnolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui
2 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Friendly, welcoming and discreet service could not be faulted. We were extremely comfortable in our tastefully decorated suite and thoroughly enjoyed the ambience of the hotel. Delighted to be greeted with the cathedral bells when stepping out onto balcony in the morning. Meals available at hotel but very short walk to any numer of eateries and shopping in town if desired. Quality and luxury reflected in price. Thank you for a very pleasant weekend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMCKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napier
0.1 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
1.2 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
9.9 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Hotel Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel Napier

Property: The County Hotel Napier
Address: 12 Browning Street | Hawkes Bay, Napier 4015, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#16 Romantic Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The County Hotel Napier 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Art Deco Supreme Award. The owners of Napier's County Hotel wished to combine the qualities and ambience of some of the finest hotels in the world. They have achieved this by incorporating fine service, fine dining and luxurious accommodation in line with 1930's Art Deco characteristics of Napier. The County Hotel is situated in the centre of Napier which is considered to be the 'Art Deco Capital of the South Pacific' and has captivated the emotions and senses of countless admirers. Originally built for the Hawke's Bay County Council in 1909, The County Hotel is one of only two significant buildings to have survived the massive 1931 earthquake. Faithfully refurbished as a boutique hotel, the County Hotel now stands as Napier's premier Hotel. The hotel is home to an extremely popular, multi award winning Wine Street Restaurant, the superb Churchill's Champagne Lounge, an intimate library, well-appointed function areas, conference facilities and eighteen luxurious guest rooms and offer a variety of accommodation packages. Come and enjoy this architectural masterpiece with its atmosphere of conventional luxury and allow yourself to be pampered by the attentive service of our devoted staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The County Hotel Napier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing