We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2014

A big thank you to management, reception and staff for making our recent stay in Napier such a pleasurable experience. The location is handy to CBD, rooms spacious, clean and comfortable, views are gorgeous and staff friendly and welcoming. Would recommend Te Pania over and again! Virginia

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virginia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Hi Virginia J
What a fantastic way to start my Thursday by reading your lovely review! we are so pleased you enjoyed staying with us, it was indeed our pleasure having you here.
Can't wait for your return
warmest regards
Kerryann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (813)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 813 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2014

I have stayed before but never thought to write a review until now prompted by a few days here last month in a climate only Napier can produce when it is wet and cloudy elsewhere. Apart from a beautiful setting this hotel has all you would want from vistas to service; from accessibility to comfort and staff who take an interest in your wellbeing.
A top floor room and on one night being a spectator of those arriving for a school ball at the conference centre across the road. The transport ranged from a double decker bus to a stretched limousine and of course the SUV all disgorging their dressed up party goers. In the mornings there were runners, cyclists and swimmers in the open air pool also across the road. An ever changing mosaic of people and their activities set against an ocean back drop.
But I digress as what this review is about is the hotel where the car can be parked virtually outside the entrance. Reception was staffed who were prompt and well organised with a friendly greeting. Always a good start when you are staying a few nights as it creates confidence in what lies ahead. Sometimes such confidence can be misplaced but not here as on opening the room door there was space, comfort and warmth and a lovely large bed. I cannot recall the cost but I easily bring back the experience which is not always the case.
There are some wonderful restaurants in Napier and all who visit and wish to enjoy a chef who is well versed in his craft should book into Pacifica. I arrived at this point as one night I also eat at the hotel and whilst the dinning room is large and lacks ambiance I was surprised to find the food was good, service prompt and the waiting staff all that one might expect.
If planning to enjoy Napier and its hinterland with wonderful wineries then as far as I am concerned this hotel makes the sojourn complete. Enjoy the comfort and pamper yourself.

Room Tip: The higher up the better the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Perpetual_Motion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

What a lovely well thought out review..thank you so much. It was our pleaseure having you to stay and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon..perfect day in paradise today..clear blue skies and the sun is beaming down upon upon us
Thank you again for taking the time to review us.
warm regards
Kerryann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Very easy place to stay. Very clean, friendly and helpful. Lovely views over marine parade. The windows looking over marine parade were very covered in salt spray. It made it hard to look out. Im sure this is always going to be a problem for all accomodation along the sea front. I enjoyed this hotel.

Room Tip: I had a twin room right by the lift. Although I could hear when people used the lift, it was not ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Bronwyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. A word about the salt spray..happens every time we have an Easterly storm, which we have just had. We clean the windows on a revolving schedule so that they are all washed at least twice a month. Thankyou for your supportive comments of the Hotel we look forward to your return .
kind regards
Kerryann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night at the hotel. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Though our room was facing the direction of the sea, we were disappointed to find that our room on the 2nd floor only had the view of the street and nearby buildings! We had dinner at the restaurant and the standard of the food was average. The lamb shank had some pumpkin-like sauce on it and tasted too sweet! The service of the staff in the restaurant was impressive.
Napier was a quiet city.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank RonnieHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for takign the time to review Te Pnaia. I am sorry that we were unable to get you to a higher floor during your recent stay. The sea views from the 2nd floor are just as expansive and they have the added bonus of being below the street light level which means less light pollution.
Still a great view though. Regarding your meal the suace was actually a kumara sauce, which is also known as sweet potato , so I am sorry that you did not enjoy this.
Thanks again for your feedback
Kind regards
Kerryann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a cosy winter break with views of the huge waves crashing on the beach from our room. Had a cold, but didn't even have to get out of the comfy bed to see the view -- feeling spoilt!! Daughter and husband happily on bikes hired from across the road and soaking in the hot pools (also just across the road). Great location. Friendly helpful service. Our top hotel in Napier.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheltonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thank you for your comments..if you liked the waves crashing when you stayed you would have been blown away this morning..crashing waves AND a glorious sunrise..cold though around 1 degree Brrrrrrrr!
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we would love to see you back in the Bay soon.
stay warm
kind regards
Kerryann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Scenic Circle has the advantage of the best views in Napier. We asked for an end room, as there are lots of extra windows, and a view of the fountain - my nana got the end room, which she loved, and we got the next room along with a lovely view of the lit up trees and the fountain. We love the clean white bedding and toiletries, and the staff are exceptional! We didn't find the breakfast great though, and the carpet could do with replacing, as it's very worn in the halls now. Also, as I had reserved both rooms under my name, my nana was unable to use the free wifi in her room. All in all though, we would definitely stay here again, we never stay anywhere else when in Napier.

Room Tip: Ask for an end room with a view of the fountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank queenp108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thank you so much for your fanatstic comments..I am delighted to advise that our new carpet is curently being milled and will be in Napier on the 30th July! The process took longer than expected but we are very excited about it.
We look forward to hearing your feedback when you return.
Again many thanks for your lovely comments
warm regards
Kerryann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Great view from window. All rooms over look the sea. We enjoyed the room here. Clean. Comfy. Nice people working here

Parking was free out the back and was in walking distance to lots and next Dr to a hogs breath!

Food on site was expensive and for more ritsy palettes than what we have. Cocktail menu was very limited and drinks were expensive. Decently stocked mini bar I raided the chocolate!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Bek31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thank you so much for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay..we aim to please!
Looking forward to your return.
warm regards
Kerryann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
1.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.2 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 46 in Napier
973 reviews
1.2 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.7 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 46 in Napier
595 reviews
0.4 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#11 of 46 in Napier
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Te Pania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Te Pania

Address: 45 Marine Parade | Napier South, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#7 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#7 Business Hotel in Napier
Price Range: $142 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Te Pania 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Te Pania invites you to enjoy quality four-star accommodation and hospitality. From the moment you step into our spacious, light-filled lobby, you will experience our commitment to quality and customer service. The Hotel’s slender curved form echoes the shape of the bay, and guests enjoy sweeping views out over the water. Fresh and contemporary, Scenic Hotel Te Pania is just a short stroll from Napier’s main art deco architecture and little wonder why it is a firm favourite of all its valued guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Scenic Hotel Te Pania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing