We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Over the last year I have had reason to stay at Te Pania many times (20 - 30 nights).
The service is fantastic, the rooms are extremely comfortable, proximity to town handy and the superb views of the ocean are an added bonus. Cant really ask for more.

Room Tip: They are all pretty good, the higher up the better though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review..reviews like yours, recieved on a Mondy morning set the tone for the week...its going to be a great week!
We are so pleased that you enjoy staying with us - we appreciate your loyalty and support.
warmest regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    350
    74
    26
    9
See reviews for
111
382
31
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have stayed at Te Pania on several occasions now and have found the rooms to be consistently comfortable. The beds are extremely comfortable, the view fantastic across the Marine Parade.

The staff are very professional and the service excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments..it is so good to read that you enjoyed Napier and Te Pania..we are so pleased that we have great guests like you..it makes our day.
Again many thanks for your kind words
warm regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
105 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

I made a booking fairly close to the Easter weekend break and upon searching for hotel availability I came across Scenic Hotel Te Pania - The photos were great and the reviews were consistantly positive, so I booked 2 rooms for the weekend of 29 - 31 March 2013.
Having not been to Napier for well over 20 years, I was not really sure where the hotel was situated, however upon arrival at the hotel I was impress with its very central location and the ample free carparking to the rear of the hotel.
Upon checkin we were greated by very efficient and friendly staff, we were promptly provided with our keys to our rooms on Level 5, which had the most amazing views of the ocean.
The rooms were of a high standard in terms of condition and overall cleanliness, There was plently of room and large windows (that can be opened) at the end of the room overlooking the ocean. The table and chairs by the window were great for enjoying a few pre-dinner drinks with a view.
Overall, I was very impressed with this hotel, from location, standard of rooms, service and price - I highly recommend this to others.

Room Tip: Level 5 was great, but all rooms view the ocean, the higher the better though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam6750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Well you have made my day! Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our Hotel.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you sincerely for taking the time to tell all our Trip advisor friends about it.
Lets hope its not another 20 yeasr before we see you in Napier again
warmest regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Very handy location to the city center, and lovely outlook across the road to a park and the sea.
Plenty of free private car parks. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Room was well appointed with a very comfortable bed and great views. A very pleasant experience !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We are so pleased that you took the time to review us and that you enjoyed your stay..we look forward to seeing you again soon.
warmest regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Good location & most importantly fantastic service. Room was spacious - although we got an end room, which I suspect is bigger.
Helpful from the start to the finish. Handy to shops - check out the organic grocery & cafe nearby - best breakfast ever!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niko1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Glad that you enjoyed your stay..I agree Chantelles have a great food and a wonderful assortment of local produce. we look forward to your return and thank you again for taking the time to review us.
warm regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice hotel especially for first timers coming to Napier for a conference. Great morning views with sunrise particularly charming!
Friendly staff, good breakfast, near deco streets & shops of Napier

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rashid4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Te Pania. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
I read your review of Kilim..another favourite of mine.
We look forward to your return.
kind regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
194 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We booked through HotelClub to stay for 3 nights and were given a great deal of discount even though the Hotel was nearly booked out due to a Conference attendees booked to stay there the same time. We requested our room to be on Level 6 and were obliged by Roxanne at Front Desk on arrival. All rooms in this Hotel have great views of the open sea in front and our room being located at the corner had the advantage of a good sleep. Room had a comfy King bed and nice and cozy pillows. Air-con was very efficient and quiet. A well stacked Mini-bar is there. The amenities were high quality stuff which is much appreciated. Towels were clean and soft and the linen were clean and tidy. The House keeping staff did a great and meticulous job of cleaning, especially Manuia there. We found that all staff at this Hotel were generally very friendly and helpful. The free car-park at this Hotel is both very convenient and safe to keep. Just opposite to Hotel is the Ocean Spa, a great place to relax.

Restaurant and bar was a bit high priced although very convenient on a rainy day.

Being located close to the CBD, it was very convenient to shop and dine around. RSA Restaurant is quite close by where gorgeous Buffet lunch and dinner at $15 and $27 were served. Supermarkets were close by at walking distance.

Ideal place to stay with young families.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on levels 5 and 6 were quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellerPorirua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review...to say you have made my day is an uderstatement.
I am so pleased that our team added to your experience.
we all look forward to your return.
warmest wishes
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.2 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.1 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Te Pania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Te Pania

Property: Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Address: 45 Marine Parade | Napier South, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#7 Business Hotel in Napier
#9 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Te Pania 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Te Pania invites you to enjoy quality four-star accommodation and hospitality. From the moment you step into our spacious, light-filled lobby, you will experience our commitment to quality and customer service. The Hotel’s slender curved form echoes the shape of the bay, and guests enjoy sweeping views out over the water. Fresh and contemporary, Scenic Hotel Te Pania is just a short stroll from Napier’s main art deco architecture and little wonder why it is a firm favourite of all its valued guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Hotel Te Pania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing