We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I'm a regular visitor at Te Pania Scenic Circle. The staff are very friendly and professional. The dining facilities are very good. I enjoy the variety on the menu and the food is always fresh and beautifully presented - a very good chef. The bed very comfortable and there is an extra blanket should you require it.

Room Tip: The rooms at either end have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind words..and thank you for being such a loyal supporter of Te Pania, we value you and enjoy your return visits.
warmest regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    359
    76
    26
    9
See reviews for
112
391
32
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frigiliana, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We just spent three nights at Te Pania and would recommend this hotel to everyone visiting Napier, for its location, for its fantastic ocean views, for its staff - everything, really. But what absolutely bowled us over was that our double room was provided with TWO easy chairs; obvious point, but I can't remember the last time one of us didn't have to sit on the bed.
A useful tip: if you approach along Marine Parade from the south, after the roundabout at the end of the dual carriage way stretch, turn left into Browning St ( also signposted to cathedral) and then take the first right. This brings you to the hotel's large, free car park with its own entrance to Reception.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank payasoru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, it was an absolute pleasure having you visit.
Glad you enjoyed the chairs and views - they will both be here when you return - which we hope will be soon.
Thank you for the great directions!
Kind regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Lovely location in Napier, so close to town but with oustanding views of sea from every room. We were on the top floor with adjoining family rooms so the view was as good as it could get. The beds were extremely comfortable with great linen. Only let down are the bathrooms which are tad tired - shower over a bath with shower curtain and ageing tiling.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pip1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review..we are very proud of our great views.
Kind regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khandallah Welling 6441
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Scenic Hotel Te Pania is perfectly located for exploring Napier. The rooms are spacious, well appointed and very clean. The staff are extremely friendly and responsive. The views over the ocean are to die for. We have stayed several times and have been meaning to write a review. We highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Napier or the wider Hawkes Bay. The General Manager is to be commended for the high standard that she expects of her staff and hotel. Well done! Vince and Helen.

Room Tip: Try a room on the corner on an upper floor to get the most of the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments..we do what we do because we love doing it! It is comments like yours that make our day and the team and I really appreciate you taking the time to notice.
we look forward to seeing you again in the very near future and again thank you for your gracious comments.
kindest regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

this hotel has all the touch points that make your stay just that much more enjoyable......Apple Mac computers to use! Big bowl of Hawkes Bay fruit in Hotel room on arrival.....beautiful smelling pump bottle of sunscreen in the foyer (free to use) - made in the Great Barrier, smells like Honey - this is great as I would often venture out for my bike ride and had forgotten sunscreen saved me going all way back to my room.....big bowl of apples in the foyer FREE.....nice branded pen in the Hotel, love collecting these....but BEST of all beautiful NZ Made organic shampoo/conditioner and body lotion in the rooms, I stayed for 5 days and these were always replaced and the company that make these eco-products also supply a lovely wee cloth carry bag which says on it to feel free to take the samples home(so you don't feel like a thief!)....large pottles of the products also available to buy from reception which is great.
Probably the only negative thing about the stay is that the Hotel doesn't have a pool - there is a beautiful pool/spa complex 30 seconds across the road and although hotel users get free gym access at this complex it is $9.90 for a swim. I like to swim in morning and have a spa at night with my husband who has been sailing all day in a regatta up here so that would cost us $30 a day! The Hotel should really look at getting Hotel guests a subsidy for this complex even if it is an evening pass for the spa pools.
Other than that brilliant stay highly recommend.

Room Tip: the hotel is 6 levels you need to get 4 or above to get sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wondercap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. With regards the pool, the Hotel guests have complimentary access to the Gym - which is a wonderful facility at Ocean Spa, unfortunately we can not afford to extend this to the pools and spa. However, we do have a package on line that includes pool access along with bike rental...you can see it on our webiste its called the Bed Bathe and Bike package.
We look forward to your return adn again many,many thanks for taking the time to review us.
warmest regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed in September, off season, so very quiet. Modern clean rooms with a stunning view. If you happen to see a sunrise you'll not be disappointed! Good location for a walk into town. Art Deco town with a few interesting shops downtown. Good base to explore the Hastings and Hawke Bay wine area from (so long as you have a car). I would return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. I have to agree with you about the sunrises...this morning it was spectacular!
We wish you a happy and prosperous 2013 and look forward to your return/
warmest wishes
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I thouroughly enjoyed my stay in the scenic hotel. I was on a road trip and intending to stay 1 night but both the charm of Napier and this fantastic hotel made me easily decide to stay on another night. The staff on reception and in the restaurant were superb. The room was excellent, spotlessly clean, lovely comfortable bed, and with fantastic views and the hotel is so close to all amenities.   I enjoyed my meal in the restaurant the first night so much that I decided to eat there again the second night as I doubted I would find a more top quality meal & in such pleasant surroundings elsewhere. I will certainly return again soon. 

Room Tip: The hotel has 6 floors, so the higher up the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GavAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Te Pania..it is reviews like yours that make my day!
Thank you so much..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.2 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
884 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.1 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
572 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Te Pania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Te Pania

Property: Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Address: 45 Marine Parade | Napier South, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#7 Business Hotel in Napier
#10 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Te Pania 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Te Pania invites you to enjoy quality four-star accommodation and hospitality. From the moment you step into our spacious, light-filled lobby, you will experience our commitment to quality and customer service. The Hotel’s slender curved form echoes the shape of the bay, and guests enjoy sweeping views out over the water. Fresh and contemporary, Scenic Hotel Te Pania is just a short stroll from Napier’s main art deco architecture and little wonder why it is a firm favourite of all its valued guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Hotel Te Pania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing