We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scenic Hotel Te Pania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

This hotel has everything. Right on Marine Parade and easy walk to the shops and all the attractions along the waterfront. We had a one bedroom suite on the 6th floor with a fantastic view. It was great to have a sitting room with another TV. The staff were wonderful and so helpful with maps and advice where needed. Pity we were only there for 1 night.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean views so you cannot go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Kia ora Leonie,

Thank you for your cheery response.It is only through feedback like this that we can continually improve as a Hotel.

Thank you once again.

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    340
    74
    26
    9
See reviews for
109
371
31
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Katikati
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We recently stayed at your hotel and as well as being clean, comfortable, with a gorgeous view, in our opinion it is outstanding for its service. The staff in ALL departments, from the genral manager down, appeared to be delighted that we were staying at the hotel and just wanted to make us feel welcome. The food in the restaurant was also delicious. Thank you.

Room Tip: Choose a room on one of the higher floors as the view over the Bay is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avoann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Avoann

Thank you for your kind response. Really proud of myself that I also got a mention in your message, thank you ! ;-) On a serious note, we pride ourselves on working as a team and we understand this is the difference between being a good Hotel and a world-class one.

Thank you once again we treasure your custom and valued feedback.

Yours in hospitality,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

This place was one of the last on our stay in New Zealand. I loved this hotel. Its location was perfect in both relation to shops and the boardwalk. The rooms were very neat, well designed and ours looked out over the water so spectacular view. Staff were very friendly and very welcoming. Tolietries smelled awesome and were perfect gifts. The only thing that let this hotel down was the breakfast slightly. Tehre was no toaster, we had to order it and by the time i came breakfast was over. Otherwise this hotel was perfect, I would definitely recommend and return again.

Room Tip: All rooms have a very similar layout I am told.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryKayPinkLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear MaryKayPinkLady

Apologies for the disappointment with our toast service that ultimately lead to us earning a 4/5 star rating of your stay at Scenic Hotel Te Pania. Rest assured that since your valued feedback we have improved our service of toast during breakfast as these are basics and basics are the last things we ever need slipping!

Yours sincerely,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Cliff, Texas, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

My plane was delayed, then the transfer was cancelled. My holiday back to New Zealand was looking bad. I arrived in Auckland and got ripped off. Then I reached Napier and this fantastic hotel. I found the place quiet and relaxing with great views of the ocean from my 6th floor room. Excellent food in the restaurant and quite reasonably priced. Great work guys. I'll be back.

Room Tip: Top floor has the best views. I'm sure I saw a whale.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Harvey

Thank you for your valued feedback and pleased to read that you rated our service delivery so highly.

Thank you once again.

Sunny regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

A fantastic hotel. Staff were excellent, polite, and helpful. Wonderful position on the sea front yet near all amenities. Food in restaurant was well cooked and nutritious, and reasonably priced. Car parking was easy and rooms were airy and spacious.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea. A higher floor give you a more panoramic view of the sunrise each morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjudithclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Mjudithclare

Great to read that your expectations were exceeded, as their is nothing worse than encountering irritating, hidden (parking) costs when checking out of a Hotel in a foreign country. It must be fast approaching winter in UK so we are glad that you managed to catch some Hawke's Bay rays from the comfort of your bedroom!

Yours sincerely,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hutt
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Great room with great views; clean and well appointed. Staff were very courteous and professional. Generous of street parking monitored by security video a plus. Being located within easy walking district of the CBD made wandering the shopping area very accessible without parking hassels. The monthly meal is terrific value for money; three courses with glass of wine and coffee only $29.50. This hotel will be my first choice for any future trips to Napier.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Allen

Pleasing to read that you had such a great time with us at Scenic Hotel Te Pania. Our Menu of the Month is totally geared for the discerning NZ local so it is great to read that this menu is enjoyed by all that have tried it. Thank you once again for this valued feedback.

Sunny regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

31 senior citizens of our club arrived in Napier recently after a long, wet and windy drive from Auckland. On arrival, we were greeted by the manager, assistant manager and staff who distributed glasses of fruit juice and each of us was given a map of Napier. The welcome was quite exceptional and very much appreciated. Each room overlooks the Bay, and very close at hand, only metres away, are lovely gardens, the statue of Pania of the Reef and a boardwalk along the foreshore. The rooms were very clean with a exceptional supply of toiletries with a little drawstring bag to take any 'extras' away. The staff was efficient, helpful and friendly, and made our stay quite outstanding. It is the little things that make a hotel memorable, and we had many outstanding 'little things' which will stay with us for a long time.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean, which give spectacular views out over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Joy B

Thank you for choosing Scenic Hotel Te Pania. Glad you enjoyed our personalised guest service and the "finer touches" extended to your tour group. We look forward to welcoming you back to sunny Hawkes Bay and Scenic Hotel Te Pania in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.2 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.1 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Te Pania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Te Pania

Property: Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Address: 45 Marine Parade | Napier South, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#7 Business Hotel in Napier
#9 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Te Pania 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Te Pania invites you to enjoy quality four-star accommodation and hospitality. From the moment you step into our spacious, light-filled lobby, you will experience our commitment to quality and customer service. The Hotel’s slender curved form echoes the shape of the bay, and guests enjoy sweeping views out over the water. Fresh and contemporary, Scenic Hotel Te Pania is just a short stroll from Napier’s main art deco architecture and little wonder why it is a firm favourite of all its valued guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Scenic Hotel Te Pania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing