We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Nearby Hotels
expressotel(Napier)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albatross Motel(Napier)(Great Value!)
$90
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The County Hotel Napier(Napier)(Great Value!)
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ormlie Lodge(Napier)
$142
$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$163
$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Art Deco Masonic Hotel(Napier)(Great Value!)
$253
$229
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Quality Inn Napier Travel(Napier)(Great Value!)
$89
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$165
$140
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dome(Napier)
$139
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (865)
Filter reviews
865 results
Traveler rating
347
396
85
28
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
347
396
85
28
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the roadmarine paradeocean spahot poolshigher floorsea frontart decobuffet breakfastsea viewfree wifinew zealandmini barlovely roomcentral locationwithin easy walking distancestayed longerguest laundry
Filter
Updating list...
733 - 738 of 865 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Clean, good sized rooms, well equipped and modern. Car parking was a boon for us as we happened to arrive on Art Deco weekend and the place was crazy, with vintage cars, so many people dressed in the period and the whole party atmosphere that went with it. The location is really good for Napier, it's in the right bit for access to Town and the beach and it's reasonable value. We ate in the restaurant and felt that the standards of service and food were up to what we're starting to see as the norm for NZ (that's a complement as we've not yet had a bad or even average meal in NZ). Would choose this as the Napier stop over even though the building doesn't add to the Art Deco character of the area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welshtraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2012

We are so pleased you enjoyed your time over the Art Deco Weekend. Thank you for your lovely comments, positive repsonses are always well received by the staff and management.
We look forward to you returning next year!
warm regards
Kerryann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

The hotel is lovely and modern. The rooms are good, clean and spacious. The restaurant is excellent. Car parking is free. Views of sea superb. HOWEVER bring ear plugs if you want to get any sleep. The sound proofing of the windows is dreadful and it is on the main road. There is absolutely no excuse for it being this bad. The sound proofing from inside the hotel is terrible and you can hear everything going on.
I come to a hotel to sleep and whilst being delighted when we checked into our Te Pania room I am not so delighted this morning as I write this review and I've been awake for hours....and I can normally sleep through most things!!!

Room Tip: Maybe a room on the top floor would be better, but I would go elsewhere if you want to sleep.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinny-The-Kid-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write. I do apologise for the road noise. We have installed heat pumps to provide ambient temperatures in the room so that the windows may remain closed eliminating a great percentage of road noise, coupled with our heavy drapes with double backing and black out to further mitigate road noise. I am sorry that you were still able to hear road noise, as generally the noise is coming from the roar of the surf.
Again thank you for taking the time to write.
Best regards
Kerryann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We were a lower floor superior room and I realise it was the 5th November but the traffic noise and people walking outside were disturbing. Only had breakfast which was fine and staff helpful. Well positioned near the centre.

Room Tip: Ask for higher rooms which should be quieter and more private.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GordandSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Great is the word I use for this hotel, un unexpected gem.

The Scenic is well positioned on Marine Parade and easy to find, right next to the Hogs Breath Café.

Free parking is available behind the hotel, the entrance to the car park is off the street prior to the hotel.

The building is glass fronted and has a clean modern feel despite being 10 years old – one could almost think it is new. Reception was fast and easy and the staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Once in our room we noticed we had a screaming toilet that was having a issue with air squealing in the pipe, reception sent up the maintenance man , who again was very friendly and helpful, the issue was corrected but we were moved to another room at our request – just to be sure.

The Scenic as mentioned is well positioned a short walk to the statue of Pania and the many beautiful art deco buildings Napier has to offer. The hotel also offers two guest laundries and ice making machines (level 2 and 4). I was in room 416 opposite a laundry which I could not hear, not even when my own washing was done. The rooms also have an opening window so you can hear the sound of waves crashing to the shore – lovely in the cool of the mornings. The showers are wonderful with good pressure and the bathroom amenities are fantastic, there is even a bog for you to take the left overs home in – the first time I have seen this. At reception are little containers of herbs and spice in a sniff box to keep you in focus – a lovely touch,

Breakfast was very good, we had the buffet buy a-la carte is also available. With the buffet come eggs of your choice and toast from the kitchen – both were perfect.

This was my first Scenic Hotel and I will be recommending it to everyone, I am generally loyal to Accor, as is evident from you reviews but I have a new brand for my next trip to New Zealand – as long as they are all even remotely as good as the Napier Scenic Te Pania.

Room Tip: A higher floor for the view
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drew Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review. we are glad that you found us and we very much look forward to your return.
warmest regards
Kerryann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

After our County Hotel debacle, we booked into here, a little saddened we weren't staying in something art-deco but were pleasantly surprisedby Te Pania. What we wound up with was a very nice room on the top floor, with beautiful toileteries and great view of the beach for a very reasonable price. Furnishings were clean and roomy and the bed comfy. The bar downstairs also did desserts so we finished the night (after dinner at the Med) with a serving of desserts and port downstairs. Staff were very helpful and there was abundant parking at the rear. All in all, a nice place to stay with a really great view to wake up to!

Room Tip: Top floor = superb views!
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skydivej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for reviewing us, its great to get positive feedback - our team loves it!
Looking forward to your return
warm regards
Kerryann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews