We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Nearby Hotels
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Nautilus(Napier)(Great Value!)
$76
$73
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
$110
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Art Deco Masonic Hotel(Napier)
$126
$122
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Shoreline Motel Napier(Napier)(Great Value!)
$76
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Front Motel Napier(Napier)(Great Value!)
$94
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ASURE Colonial Lodge Motel(Napier)(Great Value!)
$97
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairley Motor Lodge(Napier)(Great Value!)
$105
$92
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (856)
Filter reviews
856 results
Traveler rating
343
393
83
28
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
343
393
83
28
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the roadmarine paradeocean spahot poolshigher floorsea frontart decobuffet breakfastsea viewfree wifinew zealandmini barlovely roomcentral locationwithin easy walking distancestayed longerguest laundry
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
731 - 736 of 856 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2012

This was a perfectly adequate hotel, great location. But the soundproofing between the rooms (and in particular the outside hallway) is totally non existent. seriously at 2am I dont really want to hear people's conversations...

I wouldnt say the views are anything that special, mostly you are looking at the trees and we were on a high floor but to be fair, every room would have some sort of view which is a bonus..

reception on check in was somewhat lack lustre, not awful but not really very friendly either.

all in all, just an average hotel. The bed was very comfortable though!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starrf1re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed here a couple of nights and we were very pleased with the hotel. Our rooms were clean, housekeeping was great, nice views of the sea and walking distance to everything local. We ate at the restaurant one of the nights and the food was enjoyed by all 6 of us at our table. Particularly enjoyed the closeness to Marine Parade - we took a lovely walk early in the morning on the seaside path and was good not having to take our car to visit the shops for coffee and shopping.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above level 3 if you want uninterrupted views of the sea.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoxAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Thank you for your lovely comments..I will pass them on to the team..we look forward to your return.Kind regards Kerryann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My wife and I looked at rooms in several other central Napier hotels upon our arrival in town and found them unusually over-priced. By contrast the Te Pania ticked all the boxes at a reasonable price. Being directly opposite the beach, most rooms on the higher floors have a view of the ocean. Our room was large and the bed was comfortable. The restaurant staff were helpful and attentive. There is plenty of parking at the rear of the hotel and we found the Te Pania an ideal base to explore the region. We arrived without a booking and stayed 4 nights. My only criticism is that the desk staff were sometimes distracted with other tasks and not always as approachable as I would have liked.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldvolvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. I am pleased that we ticked all the boxes and look forward to your return
warm regards
Kerryann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Very close to Ocean Spa and central Napier. All in walking distance. Average room. No coffee at bar.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loveurope22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Good hotel with all rooms facing the view of the ocean. Only 5 minutes to the town centre and everything clean and well looked after. Good sized room and all the expected amenities - fridge, toiletries etc. Only small gripes were with staff - this was a busy time of year but still don't appreciate housekeeping knocking to come in depsite the 'do not distrub' sign being out.

Rooms near the lifts can be noisy - we asked to move but there were no spare rooms.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room away from the main lifts - we were directly opposite and heard the lift doors opening all night.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fi-W-Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews