We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly, great menu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Stayed here one night but would have liked more. Town of Napier is funky and hotel is right there.

Room Tip: big room, clean bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlipperTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (801)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

703 - 709 of 801 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2011

Our room looked out over the ocean, with a busy road in between. The road didn't bother us as the room had good A/C and was well soundproofed. Our room was big, modern and comfortable. A few minutes oceanside walk away from the art deco centre of Napier, it is very well situated. The front view of the hotel from outside is not very inviting - a featureless, curved slab of a building - but the room made up for it.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

This hotel is central in Napier and is clean with pleasant setting. Stayed here a few times and had no problems.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FDS100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Spacious and professionally run hotel that knows what it is doing.

It's in a great position just minutes away from the centre of town, with free parking a bonus.

The staff are very friendly and there to help.

Very nice rooms with all the mod cons with the best feature being the amazing views out of the window.

A solid hotel with nothing exceptional about it that would make me book in again.

Room Tip: Open the curtains - view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBugged2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

My wife and I stayed here during a recent trip to Napier. This is a big and not well managed hotel. The location is excellent. It is right on the bay with ocean views and just a couple of blocks into town. Everything else about it is unimpressive and it is over priced. The internet was $30/ day. Next time we will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nzcharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

We stayed a night at Te Pania as part of a road trip around New Zealand. The location is fantastic, right across the road from the beach and only a couple of minutes walk from the centre of town. Our room on the top floor was lovely. We had a great nights sleep with just the sound of the surf (we arrived during the worst storm in years) and the curtains did a great job of blocking out the light. The staff were friendly and efficient. Would definitely recommended it as probably the top place to stay in Napier.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJW5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2011

Thank you for your kind words..we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return
Many thanks
Kerryann Gibbs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

Great location right on the sea front but it is also the main route for trucks heading to the container terminal just up the road – we heard them from 05.00. All the rooms face the sea so there are no quiet rooms at the back. The windows are not double glazed which doesn’t help. In such circumstances I normally run the aircon to help drown out the noise but it was switched off for the winter. The rooms are a good size however and very clean and modern and have a small seating area near the window. The check in/out was swift and friendly and there are lots of tourist brochures in the foyer. There is a large car park at the rear of the hotel. WiFi has to be paid for as an extra. It is less than 5 mins walk to a selection of shops and restaurants. This hotel does have coach parties so beware of the usual problems – queues at check in and for breakfast. I booked this on the internet and it was one of the few who demanded full payment at time of booking and the refund process is a bit complicated but fortunately I didn’t have to use it. Nice hotel but not for light sleepers.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.2 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 46 in Napier
927 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.1 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#13 of 46 in Napier
96 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 46 in Napier
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Te Pania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Te Pania

Address: 45 Marine Parade | Napier South, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#7 Business Hotel in Napier
#7 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range: $134 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Te Pania 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Te Pania invites you to enjoy quality four-star accommodation and hospitality. From the moment you step into our spacious, light-filled lobby, you will experience our commitment to quality and customer service. The Hotel’s slender curved form echoes the shape of the bay, and guests enjoy sweeping views out over the water. Fresh and contemporary, Scenic Hotel Te Pania is just a short stroll from Napier’s main art deco architecture and little wonder why it is a firm favourite of all its valued guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Hotel Te Pania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing