We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!!”
Review of Indigo

Indigo
Ranked #4 of 201 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: What you can expect on the menu at Indigo We are a contemporary fine dining Indian restaurant where all of our dishes are cooked fresh to order. We never compromise on quality and offer a range of traditional and unique dishes, constantly offering our guests new experiences and tastes. Getting the spice right Our Indian hot is truly hot, so we only recommend it if you know you enjoy spice. We offer 5 more levels of spice from Extremely Hot,New Zealand hot, medium, medium-Hot and mild. Please ask us about which dishes suit the spicier styles such as Jalfrezi's and Vindaloos, as some dishes like Korma or Dal Bukhara are best enjoyed milder. The Kitchen We operate a traditional charcoal tandoor that you can be assured gives the best flavour to all our dishes including our selection of naan breads. All dishes are cooked from scratch specifically to your order. The Drinks Menu Indigo offers the largest selection of Hawke's Bay wine in the region and is proud to offer one of the broadest selections of gin, vodka, rum and bourbons. What are you famous for? We pour the largest whiskey selection in New Zealand with over 500 bottles on offer. Whiskey connoisseur and Indigo owner Paul Anderson will happily help you with a recommendation. You can order Indigo for delivery to your accommodation anywhere in Napier. This is ideal to continue sampling Hawke's Bay wines or global whiskies in your own time. You may also arrive at the Amber Bar after dining anywhere in Napier from 7pm. Where is Indigo Indigo is situated in the Parker's Chambers Art Deco Building built in 1932 in the heart of Napier. Table seating is ideal for groups, as well as booth seating for groups of 4 - 8. We recommend advance table booking Thursday through Sunday.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious!!”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Came here to get takeaway after being referred by the bar manager at the Emporium. Great menu, very good value, generous portions, even offered a glass of water and papadums while I was waiting!! Takeaways, who knew!! The restaurant area looked very very nice, clean, open, modern, and the staff? Great, very very professional. If we were in town for more than one night, we would have dined there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony_Annette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    596
    150
    47
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“wonderful Indian cuisine”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We were not going to eat Indian food, and ended up at Indigo. We got the last table outside, and enjoyed our meal, and service a lot. The food was very tasty, the service very friendly, and we were very impressed with the quality. Would defenitly go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maloofmieke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

This must be the best indian food i have ever had. The service was great, waiters were knowledgable and offered good advice. Groper and prawns very fresh and all our meals beautifully cooked. And unexpectantly a great whisky range

Helpful?
Thank Jaynecam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Another flawless dining experience at Indigo”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This is about the fifth time that we've been to this restaurant and every time we've had a consistently excellent experience. I made an online booking request which was confirmed promptly by both email and by phone. Service is always fantastic. I like the fact that poppadums (4) and pickles/chutneys are waiting for you on your table when you arrive. The portions are not stingy, so our wife and I usually order a single main with a couple of naan breads, and we're always full after that. Last night we had Goat Rogan Josh with a garlic naan and a cheese/garlic naan. We like our Indian food hot so we ordered "Indian Hot" (one below their hotest "extremely hot"). The waiter cautioned our choice (quite rightly as its not for everyone), but the heat was perfect, as was the taste. Goat seems to be one of their specialities and I would recommend everyone try it. The meat must have been slow-cooked beforehand as it was fall-apart gorgeous. The cheese and garlic naan was especially delicious, too. I will definitely not go anywhere else for Indian food in Napier any more.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DuncanKinnear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic night out”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Two other couples joined us at Indigo for our wedding anniversary. When we booked we told them what the occasion was, Shaun and Louise decorated our table with white roses, we were thrilled that they had taken the trouble to make the occasion special. The meal was as usual very very good. The waiting staff and the kitchen staff do such a good job it is hard to see why Indigo is not the number one restaurant in Napier.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indigo also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Indigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing