We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“classy”

Mission Estate Winery
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$108.02*
and up
Napier Wine Tour with Chef's Platter
Ranked #4 of 70 things to do in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: At Mission Estate, we have been perfecting our craft since 1851. By combining the traditional craft of winemaking with the latest technology, we are reaching out to a new generation of wine lovers across the globe.
Sechelt, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“classy”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We came to visit early in the morning. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Beautiful grounds and buildings. We were unexpectedly informed of the area's history by a grounds keeper who even took our picture. You can tell that this old New Zealand winery produces good wine: it is one classy place!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank hamlet2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    149
    36
    15
    18
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful estate, icy welcome..”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We were most disappointed as we arrived there. Other personel whom we met there did not even greet us as we walked in. It is so untypical for Kiwis! It is beautiful estate though, with a nice garden and a restaurant. The lady at the wine tasting let us know we were neither welcome nor at the write place. After tasting two or three wines, none of our group had any wish to stay longer or to enjoy the restaurant. We would advice visiting smaller wineries with good wine and friendly hosts instead!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank pineapple_girl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Food and Good WIne”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Friendly staff arranged a table and agreed that during the wait we could go and taste some wine. Great wines! Lunch was a gastronomic affair and was wonderful.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Slough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Mission Estate Winery it's a must!!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We are staying right at the gates in a cute bed and breakfast and strolled up the lovely tree line avenue to the mission house where we were greeted by friendly staff who showed us to a table, but the option for a quiet drink over looking the vineyard was offered too.
The menu is delightful with plenty of options on offer and the sort of menu that leave you torn on your choice, we skipped the entree and starter as we had had a late lunch but decided on a lovely main and could not hold back ordered a desert straight away.
to cut a long story short , this place is Devine the food is first class and you would find it hard to get better anywhere ...
The service and wine accompany the food and are of an equally suburb high standard... We highly recommend this place and look forward to hopefully sneaking back up there for lunch before we leave Napier.

Helpful?
Thank Rhys F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Helpful and Beautiful Estate”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

A must see and taste! Beautiful building and great wine. The restaurant looked amazing but it was too hot to eat :s

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nomad290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mission Estate Winery also viewed

 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Mission Estate Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing