We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveler rating
19
10
5
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
10
5
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeaceful escapestayed heretrampolineaviaryairporthostunitsea
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 36 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2017

We stayed in this motel on a tour of the North Island whilst visit Napier. It's a few minutes drive from Napier, but there are some places to eat and drink within walking distance and a good pub.

The host was very friendly and made us feel very welcome. The unit was small but fine for our needs, with a large flat screen television, comfy bed and a small kitchen area for cooking. There was a small outside sitting area, and a swimming pool and an aviary which was a very nice touch (and was nice to hear them singing in the morning). Fast free internet was also provided.

Two small complaints was that the shower was bad, it was hard to get a decent temperature and good pressure and we were near to a children's trampoline which children used until early evening (So if you're looking for peace and quiet and not traveling with kids then this might be an issue unless you can get a different unit). Luckily it was quiet after about 10pm.

I'd happily stay here again if coming to Napier, as it's cheap and cheerful and easy to find, and the host was friendly and inviting.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonDigg, Owner at Sunset Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017

Thank you Tony, much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2017

Don and his team at Sunset Court are excellent hosts - very friendly and helpful. the room was very clean, tidy and comfortable. It was an added bonus to be able to have my little dogs come visit me for a couple of nights.

I would recommend and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank debmoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonDigg, Owner at Sunset Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

Thank you Deb for your kind comments., it was a pleasure having you and your dogs visit us.
Kind Regards
Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for a weekend and it was an excellent choice. Classic kiwi motel, close to sea (2 mins walk away) very handy for airport (5 mins drive away) and easy access to the main town 10 mins drive away) Staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and warm - heater and electric blankets for winter) flat screen TV with Sky, comfortable bed, small basic kitchenette. Room decor a bit old fashioned and tired but for the price this was a perfect choice for my short stay.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Kiwiontour_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonDigg, Manager at Sunset Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017

Thank you for your kind comments.
It was a pleasure meeting you.
kind Regards
Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for work, Don was extremely welcoming showed me to my room and hand over a small bottle of milk.
The room was spacious and the bed well presented.
The rooms open onto a spacious communal garden with a picnic table to sit and enjoy lunch or dinner in the sun.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled on business
1  Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2017 via mobile

Right next to beach, great weekend away with family and a short stroll to Westshore bar to watch the lions game. Relaxed and friendly environment will be booking again here for our next trip. Thank you!

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank KiwiRichNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews