We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three strikes - we won't be back”
Review of Sunset Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunset Court Motel
Ranked #29 of 46 Hotels in Napier
Reviewed December 30, 2005

We had a terrible stay, half the fault of management, half not.

1) Very uncomfortable bed. We could feel all the springs and my pillow was a folded duvet in a case.

2) Loud traffic noise. They are right on the highway, not the management fault, but with no a/c (only in room 3 according to the hotel guidebook) we heard traffic all night.

3) Loud guests. A group of drunk people allowed their children to play on the trampoline loudly, well past the pool/playground closing time. My husband was the third guest to complain to them and got yelled at by the drunken father. Not the management fault, but our calls to reception went unanswered and they should have been available to deal with the problem.

Very bad stay. And it was the most expensive on our trip. Our next stop was the Novotel in Wellington, very nice, clean and quiet and $15 less a night.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lahmalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonesNapier, owner at Sunset Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2007

I just found this site only a short while ago otherwise you would have heard from me by now.We are on the main road - it was New Years Eve and we have no control of road noise. We did not receive amy complaints from these people about customer noise that I can remember .We are a family type motel and have been very successful operators for the past 12 years. There is no way any of our beds had the springs sticking up and there is no way we had a duvet inside a pillow. To me it just seems like sour grapes and I do not fell that this should remain on this site for ever. We are good people who run a good business and this giving us awful publicity. We have a lot of return business so we must be keeping most of our customers happy. Thanks Bob and Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 36 of 36 reviews

A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed October 1, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2015, traveled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 21, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reinhard Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
2 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#11 of 46 in Napier
129 reviews
2.4 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#8 of 46 in Napier
590 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 46 in Napier
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
1 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
2.4 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 46 in Napier
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Court Motel

Address: 68 Meeanee Quay, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 46 Hotels in Napier
Price Range: $100 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Court Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing