We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly & Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunset Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Court Motel
Ranked #33 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Gisborne, Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly & Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We have stayed at Sunset Court more than 20 times in the last 2 years and we find it very good value. It's very homely and comfortable. It is ideal if you have children as it has a lovely fenced garden & lawn area unlike some motels plonked in a piece of asphalt. There's a lovely pool & trampoline and the units are roomy. Nothing is too much trouble for Bob & Diane and I'm frankly floored by the negative comments in the one of the other reviews. Every stay has been excellent for us. There's a charge back service to the excellent Ahruriri Fish Cafe & The West-shore Tavern down the road. The Ahuriri Estuary walk over the road is very enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GizzyRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    8
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
7
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2008

Have stayed at this motel for many years and cannot ask for better service. I stay at many motels around the country and find the friendliness from the owners makes me feel like I am coming home. Have been calling for over nine years and stay for four consecutive nights on a seven week cycle. Motel is always clean and tidy - an older style motel however - but a warm welcome can always be expected.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed, good showers and friendly service
  • Disliked — Nothing, otherwise I would not stay.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomwans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2005

We had a terrible stay, half the fault of management, half not.

1) Very uncomfortable bed. We could feel all the springs and my pillow was a folded duvet in a case.

2) Loud traffic noise. They are right on the highway, not the management fault, but with no a/c (only in room 3 according to the hotel guidebook) we heard traffic all night.

3) Loud guests. A group of drunk people allowed their children to play on the trampoline loudly, well past the pool/playground closing time. My husband was the third guest to complain to them and got yelled at by the drunken father. Not the management fault, but our calls to reception went unanswered and they should have been available to deal with the problem.

Very bad stay. And it was the most expensive on our trip. Our next stop was the Novotel in Wellington, very nice, clean and quiet and $15 less a night.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lahmalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonesNapier, owner at Sunset Court Motel, responded to this review, June 18, 2007
I just found this site only a short while ago otherwise you would have heard from me by now.We are on the main road - it was New Years Eve and we have no control of road noise. We did not receive amy complaints from these people about customer noise that I can remember .We are a family type motel and have been very successful operators for the past 12 years. There is no way any of our beds had the springs sticking up and there is no way we had a duvet inside a pillow. To me it just seems like sour grapes and I do not fell that this should remain on this site for ever. We are good people who run a good business and this giving us awful publicity. We have a lot of return business so we must be keeping most of our customers happy. Thanks Bob and Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
2.6 mi away
Napier Garden Motel
Napier Garden Motel
#30 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fern Motel
Fern Motel
#15 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedar Court Motel
Cedar Court Motel
#22 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ace High Motor Inn
Ace High Motor Inn
#32 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
2.5 mi away
Spanish Lady Motel
Spanish Lady Motel
#29 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fountain Court Motor Inn Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Court Motel

Property: Sunset Court Motel
Address: 68 Meeanee Quay, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Court Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing