We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude staff and the amenities that made me choose hotel 'inacessible' - what a joke!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn Napier Travel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quality Inn Napier Travel
Ranked #23 of 48 Hotels in Napier
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rude staff and the amenities that made me choose hotel 'inacessible' - what a joke!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Decided to add an extra night in Napier and changed hotels because quality inn have heated covered pool and gym. After a day of sightseeing went to get the gym key from reception and was told it is closed for repairs and has been for a week, then decided to go in the pool, couldnt find the light switch so once again went to reception and was told there are no lights, why have a pool open at night when you cant see anything? Rude receptionist told me she doesnt make any decisions and i need to talk with the manager who conveniently wasnt working. If you are in a frontline role learn some customer service skills.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quicktracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Quality Inn Napier Travel, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
We are extremely disappointed with this review. There is earthquake proofing work being done on the hotel which is why the gym is unfortunately not in use. This work needs to be carried out due to council regulations. This is the quieter time of the year so is the perfect time to get it completed. We agree that no lighting at the pool is unacceptable and are working on getting this fixed. We believe our staff handled being abused and sworn at by this guest extremely well. We remedied this compaint with the guest and she later decided to post this review on trip advisor. Her abusive behaviour was unacceptable and people in a customer service role should not have to put up with it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    106
    59
    18
    10
See reviews for
63
93
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
510 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We liked this motel type accommodation although it is a Quality labelled motel. The staff is very helpful and knowledgeable. It is located near the main streets of Napier and it has good restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eaa1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

The hotel is in a great location on Marine Parade, which gives you a 5 minute walk to a lot of the down town action and restaurants in Napier. While straddling two 'main' roads, it is still very quiet and you can sleep well.

We were in a room, however, that is entered from the shared balcony, meaning for any privacy you must have the blinds completely closed so as to prevent anyone from seeing in as they walk to their room. This was the only major downside to our room. People we were travelling with had a room on the Marine Pde side of the hotel, and had a large private balony and was VERY private. Request a room in the area of the hotel if possible.

The restaurant is very good, and great value for money. We had all dinners out at other locations, but breakfast at the hotel everyday.

Staff were freindly and non invasive.

Overall a very good hotel let down by reduced privacy if you happen to get the wrong room.

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor that doesn't enter from the shared balcony to improve privacy (y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 17646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Inn N, Manager at Quality Inn Napier Travel, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Our Hotel is in a great location, we are very close to the CBD, the beach and many restaurants and cafes. There is not a shared balcony, there is a walkway to enter the rooms. The standard studios where you stayed do not have a balcony whereas your friends had booked and stayed in a seaview studio which does have its own private balcony overlooking the sea. We are pleased you enjoyed everything else that our hotel had to offer. We hope to see you again in the near future, a seaview studio will give you the balcony and privacy you have mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

I traveled from Tauranga to Napier and was stuck in traffic so ended up being a five and half hour trip. On arrival at the Quality inn i was greeted by an extremely rude receptionist who had a very poor attitude towards my custom. I was handed my key and told where i would find my room in a very poor manor....
On finding my room, it backed out onto a very busy road with lots of road noise, a kettle that wouldn't boil unless the switch was held down, long black hairs in the shower & bed that wasn't clean!

On the balcony i found 3 used milk containers on the floor & the table was very dirty.

The booklet in the room had no mention of the Cobb and Co restaurant attached to the motel.
Later in the evening i called reception and spoke to another lady who was extremely helpful and explained there was a local Thai Restaurant that i could use and charge back to the room as they deliver to and also the local RSA which i could also use.
Why wasn't i told this when i first checked in??

The dirty bed wasn't that comfortable and woke up feeling like i hadn't slept .

On check out i was greeted by the rude receptionist again and she grunted i had Thai that was charged back, not oh how did you find the meal, did you enjoy it etc...

I find it very hard to understand why this person has a job on the front desk if there are no customer service involved.

I travel alot with my job and have to say this is an experience that i won't forget in a hurry and no i won't be going back here either for ALL of the above reasons...

Room Tip: Find another motel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaurangaAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Inn N, Manager at Quality Inn Napier Travel, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I was unaware that your journey had taken you 5 ½ hours so I can understand that you would have liked to have been offered you’re room immediately. Our check in time is 2pm but we always endeavour to offer a room that has already been cleaned at anytime, unfortunately due to a busy weekend I wasn’t able to do this and the quickest time I could get you into the room was 11.54am.

I had no idea that you would have preferred a quieter room, or that the kettle did not work or that there were hairs in the bed and the shower, had you made me aware of this I would have moved you immediately and dealt with the problems. I wasn’t made aware of the problems until reading your comments.

Unfortunately Cobb & Co restaurant are in the middle of receiving new menus, so we have had to take all of the old menus out of the compendiums in the rooms to make way for the new ones.

I asked you if you had dined at the Thai restaurant, this was just to make sure that you had and they hadn’t charged it to someone that they shouldn’t have.

You were not happy with me because I had charged you for the extra internet that you had purchased; you stated that this was to be charged back to the company where as in fact the company would only allow charge back for the room + meals. Companies are very strict on what they will and will not pay for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Napier hotels

Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

The check-in staff member was friendly and helpful when we arrived, which was a pleasant start. We checked in to our room and noticed an odour in the kitchen, but were unable to figure out what it was. My husband noticed hair on the bathroom floor and in the bath, which meant the idea of having a spa bath was out of the question. Rather than focus on the negative, and thinking that this was as bad as it would get, we went out, and enjoyed dinner in town.

On return to the motel we again noticed the smell in the room. On the bench were splashes of dry coffee or tea, which was not from us as we had not made any drinks in the room. The microwave was splattered in something brown, perhaps an overheated drink in the microwave. A quick look in the cutlery drawer also found a sharp knife with crusted food on both sides, with the other cutlery looking grubby.

The worst was still yet to come. We got ready for bed and lifted the covers on the bed. Just for a laugh I peeled the covers right back, only to discover several dark hairs, some looking like pubic hairs, in the bed. It was late, we were tired, and sadly we did our best to clean out the bed and went to sleep. Not a great start to a honeymoon.

The next day I went to reception and reported our issues to the reception staff member, who appeared to listen to our concerns. She offered to move us to a new room, but she did not offer any discount or refund on the room price, which would have at least started to make up for our bad experience.

I do wish I'd checked on tripadvisor first, as I see there are similar experiences documented for this motel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nzangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

Booked in here on arrival in Napier as the price was right and the place is handy to beach and shops. We were however a little disappointed with the first room we were allocated in that it appeared the bedding had not been changed from the previous occupants. The staff, were helpfull and did not hesitate to give us another room. They're explanation was that it was more likely to be due to the laundry process rather than housekeeping. The second room served our purpose well. On the plus side, there is an excellent Cobb & Co restaurant on site which was put to good use due to the inclement weather.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Inn N, Manager at Quality Inn Napier Travel, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We would like to apologise again for your first room and assure you it would have been the laundry process. I am pleased the staff were quick to rectify the issue and you were pleased with the new room. It is very handy having Cobb & Co restaurant on site for those days where the weather is miserable. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
241 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

Napier is a small town on the ocean, and gets some tourist trade, mostly occasioned by the fact that its downtown is all art deco. There aren't that many beds for rent, and prices are pretty steep. The Quality Inn is not new, but it's well kept. I was there with a rugby team (over 40's) and they looked after us very well. It was off season, and the heat for the pool was off, but they allowed us to turn back the cover and use the pool. Good location, nice views, friendly staff. Pretty good dining room, although the prices are a bit higher than other places in town.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ianjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Inn N, Manager at Quality Inn Napier Travel, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Napier can be a very busy place from December through to April so can get a bit tight on beds available which can influence price. We are pleased you got to enjoy our heated covered pool and the staff were helpful. We hope to see you and your rugby team again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.2 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 48 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
2.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Napier
Econo Lodge Napier
#24 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Motel de la Mer
Motel de la Mer
#21 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palm City Motor Inn
Palm City Motor Inn
#7 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Front Motel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Napier Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Napier Travel

Property: Quality Inn Napier Travel
Address: 311 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quality Inn Napier Travel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Quality Inn Napier Travel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Napier Travel Hotel Napier
Napier Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing