We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Inn Napier Travel
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Auckland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our stay”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Booked in here on arrival in Napier as the price was right and the place is handy to beach and shops. We were however a little disappointed with the first room we were allocated in that it appeared the bedding had not been changed from the previous occupants. The staff, were helpfull and did not hesitate to give us another room. They're explanation was that it was more likely to be due to the laundry process rather than housekeeping. The second room served our purpose well. On the plus side, there is an excellent Cobb & Co restaurant on site which was put to good use due to the inclement weather.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Inn N, Manager at Quality Inn Napier Travel, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We would like to apologise again for your first room and assure you it would have been the laundry process. I am pleased the staff were quick to rectify the issue and you were pleased with the new room. It is very handy having Cobb & Co restaurant on site for those days where the weather is miserable. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    112
    62
    18
    10
See reviews for
63
98
10
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
245 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Napier is a small town on the ocean, and gets some tourist trade, mostly occasioned by the fact that its downtown is all art deco. There aren't that many beds for rent, and prices are pretty steep. The Quality Inn is not new, but it's well kept. I was there with a rugby team (over 40's) and they looked after us very well. It was off season, and the heat for the pool was off, but they allowed us to turn back the cover and use the pool. Good location, nice views, friendly staff. Pretty good dining room, although the prices are a bit higher than other places in town.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Inn N, Manager at Quality Inn Napier Travel, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Napier can be a very busy place from December through to April so can get a bit tight on beds available which can influence price. We are pleased you got to enjoy our heated covered pool and the staff were helpful. We hope to see you and your rugby team again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALLETTA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We hadn't made a reservation and we were very pleased with the helpful receptionist who offered us the choice of 2 very nice rooms both with nice sea views. Even though we were only passing through she was very helpful especially as the restaurant was fully booked for the evening she pointed out several excellent restaurants in the town which was only a short walk away.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VallettaHorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Inn N, Manager at Quality Inn Napier Travel, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjyed your stay and the receptionist was very helpful. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We arrived after a 4 hour drive and were recieved by a very helpful receptionist on Christmas Eve, I don't recall the name but thank you so much. We recieved a nice room with a spa, and a second night all at a very reasonable price which indeed was like a christmas present to us. The room was of a fine standard, with a very comfy bed. It was clean and tidy and had everything we needed, as someone else said the outside corridor was a bit tacky but nothing to overly worry about. Thanks

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are the better option
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevec776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Inn N, Manager at Quality Inn Napier Travel, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and the receptionist was very helpful. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed at this place for just 2 nights in December 2011. We got a good online deal and I thought this motel was satisfactory for the price. On a Good location, within walking distance to town, our standard room was a good size and clean. Room looks a bit tired, with the green carpet and red bed pread, but we were not too fuss about these. THey could have more channels on their Sky, as we only had Cnn, sports and the normal free to view channels....
We didnt use the pool, but it looked nice and staff was very friendly and helpful.
Overall a good place for someone on a budget.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brtraveller07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We found the reception staff to be extremely friendly and welcoming but thereafter the whole experience was simply quite average. We stayed in a number of places throughout the North and South Islands on our holiday and this one was the most difficult to remember in writing this review. It was clean and functional but nothing really stood out as being special or memorable. Equally there was nothing to complain about. It did have free internet access with a PC in the small reception area which was a plus for us. We would happily stay again, but would more probably be tempted, just for some variety, to try another place on the seafront.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AaaaandEeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Inn N, Manager at Quality Inn Napier Travel, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thank you for your comments. It is always helpful to get guests feedback. I'm surprised our covered heated pool did not stand out for you as this is usually a highlight with the majority of our guests. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

For the same price as what we had just paid for a hotel in Gisborne which gave us a huge balcony with a view, an enormous state-of-the-art bathroom, kingsize bed with superior linen and another room with a single bed, plus a buffet breakfast, we arrived at Quality Inn in Napier to find we'd been allocated a room with furnishings similar to those in state retirement homes.

No balcony and the only windows that one could open were tiny high windows. To get more fresh air, we had to open the ranchslider which opened straight onto a (carpeted - tacky) outside corridor, which coincided with a very busy time - people walking back and forth and of course inevitably looking into the room.

Traffic noise sounded like it was passing through the room. Overall, a dismal experience and definitely not one I will ever repeat again. We spent as much time away from the hotel as we could only returning to sleep and couldn't wait to leave the next morning.

The only upside to the experience was the friendly and helpful receptionists when we booked in. Honestly didn't think that in this day and age hotels charging the prices they were charging still provided rooms of this standard.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koowellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Napier hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.4 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#14 of 47 in Napier
63 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#32 of 47 in Napier
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beach Front Motel Napier
0.9 mi away
Palm City Motor Inn
Palm City Motor Inn
#7 of 47 in Napier
195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edgewater Motor Lodge
Edgewater Motor Lodge
#17 of 47 in Napier
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Napier Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Napier Travel

Property: Quality Inn Napier Travel
Address: 311 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quality Inn Napier Travel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Napier Travel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Napier Travel Hotel Napier
Napier Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing