We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap Sleep in Napier”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Art House Backpackers
Ranked #28 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Reviewed May 17, 2012

This Back-Packer / Hostel is located downtown about ½ block from the City Hall & Town Center main pedestrian street as well as the sea-side park. So it’s close to everything. Our room facing the alley was small but had a private bath and some furniture. The kitchen has electric stove tops which limited cooking options and room in the refrigerator tight. The kitchen/dining area could get crowded but we did not have a problem using it. The Napier Historical Society’s Walking Tour of Art Deco buildings was excellent and well worth the time and ticket price. Do the tour first if you can so you’ll know more of what your seeing. Parking on the street was not a problem. We stayed 1 night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 40 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2012

I have stayed at Andy's Backpacker in February 2012 and have received about 20 bites on my body from bed bugs. Important warning from one traveller to another.... Had I known before hand, I would have avoided that unpleasant experience.

Room Tip: Stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldadventurer333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Sturmmeise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chrisherb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank luca a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Caro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Damien I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.2 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#10 of 46 in Napier
561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 46 in Napier
927 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 46 in Napier
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 46 in Napier
802 reviews
0.4 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.2 mi away
Beach Front Motel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Art House Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Art House Backpackers

Address: 259 Marine Parade, Napier, New Zealand (Formerly Andy's Backpackers)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Price Range: $20 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art House Backpackers is located on Napier's Marine Parade with Pacific Ocean views. We offer our guests a funky relaxing environment and a perfect base from which to explore the beautiful Art Deco city beyond. Free Wi-Fi, free tea and coffee, friendly welcoming staff and a beachfront location. Our facilities include a large guest kitchen and dining area, sunny outdoor courtyard, TV lounge and laundry. Less than 10 minutes walk from the bus stop, supermarket and city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Art House Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing