We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coffee on the run and a bowl of fries”

Boardwalk Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 197 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Coffee on the run and a bowl of fries”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Called in for a quick coffee and a bowl of delicious fries, pleasantly surprised but the great service and good food. Certainly look forward to trying some of the new and extensive menu. the upgraded restaurant is looking good. Staff friendly and well presented. We will be back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    150
    68
    42
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lumsden, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“breakfast with a view”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We had sunday lunch with friends at this awesome restaurant and were very impressed that we had to come for breakfast on Monday. What a fabulous place absolutely delicious food. We had a lovely friendly waitress that mentioned there was no rush and we could take our time. It was a great way to start the day. Thank you so much.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumsden, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Fantastic and Awesome”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Sunday Lunch invite by friends, Ashley was our waitress who was outstanding. She was very helpful in recommending tasty dishes that she has tried, We were very impressed with our meals they were amazing, very nicely presented and value for money. Lovely atmosphere we thoroughly recommend to all. Thank you for a great lunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Poor Food and Service”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

They've tried but missed. Poorly cooked and no consideration for freshness and good taste. It all tastes like grease. Service reminds me of an american diner without the thirst for tips. Disinterested but going through the motions. Such a shame as the location is amazing and could be anywhere in the world.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JudgeJoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely brunch in the winter sunshine”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Enjoyed a delightful brunch on a Saturday afternoon sitting outside in the Hawkes Bay sunshine in winter! Waitress was very friendly and pleasant, checked with Chef if he could slightly rearrange a menu item - no problem! Brunch meal was great - just love those Te Mata mushrooms with bacon!!! Good coffee that came with little piece of shortbread - nice touch and one I generally only see in NZ.
Brunch partner had bowl of shoestring fries that were delicious and crunchy coated that came with bowls of both tomato sauce and aioli.
Couldn't fault the food or friendly service and good coffee!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank expatkiwiwairoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boardwalk Restaurant also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Boardwalk Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing