We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor food!”

Boardwalk Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 201 Restaurants in Napier
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Napier, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poor food!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Such a beautiful outlook for a restaurant in Napier! The service was good though our booked table was 'given' to another party. However they did give us another table that was not quite so good reasonably quickly.

However the food was terrible. Salt and pepper squid - tough! Pork Belly and roast kumera chips plus roast vegetables stirfried. Where to begin - Pork belly was tender and nice - the roast veges were tough little bullets. Totally dried out and inedible. They were cut far too small which did not help. I would not serve these to anyone! We had two visitors to Napier and did not kick up a fuss but they were terribly disappointed in the food! Come on Boardwalk get your act together!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Starlightncalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    157
    69
    42
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely location and great food”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Dropped in for coffee on a walk around Napier and liked it so much we went back for lunch later in the day. Food and service both really good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Would not recommend - find somewhere else”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

After dining here this evening - I was so disappointed and annoyed I have come back to our hotel to place this feedback. This was a shocker of an experience. The poor service and mediocre food added up to a stink evening for my family and I while on holiday here in Napier.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank YaYaSisterWhangarei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly but poor service and food”
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

We visited on a quiet night, public holiday after Christmas. Maybe there was a lack of staff or not regular in the kitchen as 3/4 of our dishes were disappointing.

The salt and pepper squid salad was very good. Squid was tender and well seasoned. Salad was tasty, would recommend.

Seafood hotpot was disappointing. The sauce just tasted of tomatoes and raw onion and the seafood within wasn't very flavourful or plentiful.

Steak salad was made without the onion rings described in the menu, by the time they arrived after questioning the waitress the salad was finished. When sauce was requested to go with them (since rest of dish was finished) it didn't arrive for over 10 minutes by which time the rings were finished!

The chicken Cesar salad was OK, but the chicken was quite dry.

The waitresses were friendly and apologised for the mistakes with salad and not bringing sauce for so long. No one offered us more water for the meal which was disappointing.

Maybe it was just a bad day due to the public holiday so I hope they can do better on regular days!

Helpful?
1 Thank Spicysi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Yum! Yum!”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I think everything here tastes good. The table decor (shells in a glass vase) was a hit with my kids. They were lining up the shells on the table while we waited for our food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boardwalk Restaurant also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Boardwalk Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing