We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely afternoon”

Vines and Views Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$70.84*
and up
Napier Afternoon Wine Tour
Ranked #9 of 24 Food & Drink in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Napier tours. Come with us, in our ten seated, air conditioned tour bus, to experience some of the best wines and views this region has to offer. Guided by experienced vineyard manager Ross Lepper and culminates at his exclusive viewing platform high above the Hawke's Bay vineyards.
Perth
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Just spent a lovely afternoon at three Hawkes Bay vineyards before travelling through hilly farm land to reach a lookout with fantastic views, where our host Ross provided cheese, biscuits and other goodies to nibble while we look out over Hawkes Bay. The view was sublime. The vineyards we visited and tasted at were The Church, Mission and Esk Valley, the wines were great and two had facilities to send wine back to Australia. Ross is very knowledgable about the region and wines and the afternoon met all our expectations.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BethDid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napier
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Local Doctor says this is the tour to take.”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I've lived in Hawkes Bay for 27 years and recently took leave having been lucky enough to get a locum
for six months. So what to do while enjoying the Hawkes Bay sunshine? Ross, owner and operator of "Vines and Views" had the answer for me.

I can whole heartedly recommend this trip. I did the half day winery tour but this was no ordinary winery tour. Yes, the usual wine tastings (4 wineries, no extra charges, entertaining purveyors of good NZ wine) but the X factor on the trip was getting into the "bowels" of a winery and seeing the vats, gooey grapes, presses, separation machinery, and fermentations that take place. Then to top it all off a trip up a rugged New Zealand Road in a comfortable four wheel drive bus to the lookout where great views back to Napier (and beyond) are augmented by a yummy cheese platter and a glass of famous NZ sauvignon blanc.

Recommended.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank NapierGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent wine tour”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

well selected vineyards with an informed and involved guide, cheese platter with wine at viewing platform a real highlight, also enjoyed some behind the scenes elements to tour

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DrJMacP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful Day Out”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

What a great day visiting three wineries with a wine expert. Small group which made the day even better. Tasting the grapes off the vines was all a great experience and the inside knowledge from the person who planted the grapes just added to the experience.. Late afternoon wine and nibbles at an exclusive lookout with magnificent views just topped off an excellent day. Thanks again for a brillant day and would highly recommend it to all wine lovers. Napier is a lovely place to visit and wish we had more time as we were on a cruise ship and only had a day their. Much better value than the ship tours as well.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pam56_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Magical day in Napier”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We organized this shore excursion from Australia with Ross.. What a magical day. From the moment we stepped into the decorated mini van ,Ross was very obliging and told us the day was ours .We were informed about the beautiful art deco buildings in Beautiful Napier, visited the Tobacco Company.We sampled wines from beautifully landscaped wineries,.Listened to local band music while tasting beers and cider and sampled some of the fresh fruit and homemade ice-cream.
The weather was perfect and the scenery stunning.The drive through the countryside and up the mountain to Ross's platform in the sky was wonderful.Here we dined on fresh NZ cheese and biscuits while sipping NZ wine all supplied by Ross.The view across the valleys and Napier was stunning.
On the way back to the ship Ross drove us through some of the beautiful housing estates. as some of our group are dog lovers friendly Ross organized for us to meet his 2 dogs in the park. They were even dressed for the occasion. Our day extended well beyond the advertised hours for the excursion but we arrived back at our cruise ship in plenty of time. Thanks Ross for such a memorable, friendly and informative day. We would thoroughly recommend it to anyone.. Members of Inner Wheel Club of Rockhampton Sunset

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank IWRockyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vines and Views Tours also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Vines and Views Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing