We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Thai Lotus Restaurant
Ranked #72 of 201 Restaurants in Napier
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: 06 844 2760
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Excellent restaurant!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I chose Thai Lotus on the basis that they cater to food allergies. I love Thai food but unfortunately can't eat out often due to a shellfish allergy. Our waitress was friendly and attentive. The chef was able to cater to me and the red curry I had was fantastic and very ample portion. The wine was also great. They also have a children's menu which keeps the unadventurous children happy. The small fish and chips was a very generous serving and very much enjoyed. Overall a very pleasant dining experience and will definitely return. Thank you for a great dinner!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Indirya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    19
    4
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for Money”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The food is consistently good and it's such good value for money. You are guaranteed a fabulous meal and great service in a pleasant environment. This has to be the best Thai restaurant in the area. The staff really do look after you. It's BYO wine which really keeps the cost down, and prices over the bar are reasonable too. I wouldn't go anywhere else for Thai food. They also do great takeaway food

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikki255109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“This has to be the best Thai ever”
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

I have been going to this place for the last five or so years and it had to be the best Thai is have ever tasted. The flavours are consistent, it never fails.
It has come to be the only place I go to throughout New Zealand as other places disappoint. Keep it up and go there if you haven't been here yet!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paul_teddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Pretty darn good”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Have eaten here about 8-10 times the past 18 months, and had quite a few takw-aways as well.
Hard to fault really. Mid priced - dishes $20 to $25, good range of cuisine and styles. Thai waitresses are charming and friendly.
Presentation has just a little extra - you need to go and find out.

Is BYO and fully licensed - Charges corkage at reasonable level - so we take our own preferences of wines.
Try to get table middle or rear, away from front part where takeaway patrons come to collect food.

They are very familiar with Gluten Free as requirement for some people. Dine in menu does not show it, but takeway menu does - needs dine in menu updting. But about half dishes are GF, and a few more can be made so upon request to chefs.
Nothing ever seems to be a problem to them.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MethuselahNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Out of this world”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

The food, service and overall experience of this Thai restaurant leave all the other in Hawkes Bay for dead..... This is the one to go to forget trying the rest it is the BEST....
Food is always great and the people that run the place are out of this world....
Come to Taradale and forget the rest, Thai Lotus is the one

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paul_teddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Lotus Restaurant also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Thai Lotus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing