We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Italian food and atmosphere”

Trattoria alla Toscana
Ranked #23 of 206 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $26
Cuisines: European, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: This is the place in New Zealand where you'll succumb to romance and discover the tantalising flavours of Tuscany...Loving hand crafted pasta and salsa's. Followed by classic Bistecta Fiorentina or maybe a fresh fish....Having operated for 19 years providing locals & tourists great service & quality food. We use local providers for meat , fish and vegetables and all pasta etc made on site.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Excellent food and atmosphere. The chef, Risa, and all the staff are very friendly and helpful. Trust their recommendations, they know what they are talking about.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nikki255109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
There are newer reviews for Trattoria alla Toscana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 234 of 257 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2012

We had the entre and a mains each. The service was great, the owner lovely and couldn't have been more accommodating. The meals were just a little disappointing. We were looking for an Italian meal experience. Meals lacked flavour and finishing touches with presentation. Steak in the middle with one piece of broccollie and a piece of carrot and 3 beans in each corner just didn't cut it. Would not consider it good value for money.

Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enz023, Owner at Trattoria alla Toscana, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

Thank you for your review.
We are always looking to please our customers and are regretful that you felt that the meal was not good value for money.
We were also surprised that you did not mention the two fresh epicurean salads that would of accompanied the mains and we don't serve potatoes with any main other than fish. As this is not the Italian way. Your mains are complimented by fresh seasonal greens & followed by a salad.
We do not serve chips with our mains or mash as this is not Italian cooking.
Plus we don't have a deep fryer as it is a thing that not used in Italy Cuisine you are more likely to have boiled potatoes salt pepper olive oil & balsamic vinegar.
Traditionally in Italian cuisine the portions are not large as you are expected to enjoy Entree (starter), Primi Piatti, (pasta or rice) Secondi Piatti (main) (meat or fish) Contorni (salad & or vegtables) Dolci (dessert) followed by fresh fruit and an expresso or degestivo.
We would be delighted if you returned and tried our beautiful authentic Italian cuisine and speciality handmade on the premises pasta & salsa's which you will find on the menu under primi piatti. Plus enjoy again a main, however if you wish to have potatoes as an extra please feel free to request.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We came here as we read that the chef was friendly and flexible and we were not disappointed because the he was able to prepare a salt-free sugar-free meal. However, we were hoping for spaghetti napoli but there was no spaghetti on the menu, so we went with fish instead. The food was good but meal portions were disappointing as they were not consistent even for similar dishes ordered more than once. When comparing meal sizes, the bigger eaters got smaller portions and the small eaters got larger portions, even though the price was the same. Even our overseas relatives were surprised by the inconsistencies. As for the taste-test, our opinion is about average-to-good for a restaurant of this calibre. Also the nice presentation, classy romantic atmosphere and friendly flexible restaurant staff made up for it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SecondStarToRight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

The proprietor is a proud Italian. When we asked for some fresh parmigiana for the seafood pasta, he came out personally and explained to us that, in his opinion, the cheese would detract from the delicate flavors of the seafood. While we disagree with him, we like the passion he shows for his food. We took his advice and saved the three dollars it would have cost for the extra cheese.

1  Thank Deutscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

quality food presented in tidy surrounds by friendly helpful servers.
impressed by the experience and highly recommended

Thank r s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria alla Toscana also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Trattoria alla Toscana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing