We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a casual meal”
Review of Crab Farm Winery

Crab Farm Winery
Ranked #21 of 222 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Very rustic but lovely to sit outdoors on a fine day which is most of the time in the Hawkes Bay. Good food, reasonable prices.

Thank Ewen_r_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 187 of 226 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is a great place for lunch. Great food and wine. Great friendly staff.
Once a week, live local artist.
Love it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rayandjenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

If you would like to take lunch in a funky, warm and rustic setting around a huge central fireplace where the service is friendly and the food excellent then this is the place. The Crab Farm wine is pretty good too.

Thank ResAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

February 2014 : 3 of us went for lunch. I booked a table for 1pm and have been told a wedding was on so we would need to leave by 3pm. When we arrived it was another story ! We had to leave at 2pm. It was crazy ! We tried to have a wine tasting but they were busy setting up and running everywhere. Not great atmosphere. The food was good however the wine was doubled from the cellar door to the restaurant. (Very expensives staff and glassware I suppose!)

April 2014 : We went for a wine tasting. The guy was really nice and very friendly. However we find the wine just ok. But it is a personal opinion !

May 2014 : We went to the night live session. It was just awesome ! Affordable bar snack and quick service - great and lovely atmosphere with a fire and candles - the bands were great too. Really good night out ! You should defo go there !

Overall : Nice and chill out winery where you don't need to where a suit to fit in !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Muteen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The food and wine here just seems to get better and better and it won't break the bank! Who says kiwis cant do a good red? Fantastic for a romantic lunch of wine and cheese and cold cuts platter or a main meal. Friendly and prompt service. Always a roaring log fire going. Keep it up guys!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tesandsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crab Farm Winery also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Crab Farm Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing