We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous food and rose wine”
Review of Crab Farm Winery

Crab Farm Winery
Ranked #29 of 201 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“fabulous food and rose wine”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

our first interaction with the local cumara (sweet potato)
It's a very 'at ease' location, very good food and nice wine. If you want to visit a winery on your way from Napier to Taupo (or back) this is a well worth suggestion!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank sandra_in_zweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    47
    16
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good music”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Went there to find a very hip trendy young crowd, great atmosphere, well kept secret. Fair prices and worth a visit for a nite under the stars.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank petergrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Relaxed setting, great food.”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had lunch at Crab Farm winery last year while in Napier and we enjoyed it so much we decided to go back this year. We did not regret our choice at all. We were originally seated inside but as it was a beautiful day we asked if we could be seated outside. This was no problem at all for the staff who had us set up at a table outside very quickly and without complaint. The food was lovely - I had the fish of the day which was groper and my partner had the scallops and prawns. The meals were a decent size, beautifully cooked and presented. The staff were great and were happy to leave us to enjoy our wine in the sun without feeling the need to interrupt us every few minutes. When we wanted something the service was quick and efficient. We had a lovely relaxed afternoon at Crab Farm and would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aotearoanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rustic charm”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Consistently good. Excellent food and wine at reasonable prices and a very relaxed atmosphere with their very owe musicians. A wonderful atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rayandjenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to spend an evening”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Spent the last night of our NZ holiday here, and what a way to end it. Food was fantastic, wines were even better and the staff were so helpful in recommending what would go well with our food. There's a lovely outside area, however we sat inside and even when the music began it wasn't too loud. Lovely atmosphere, lovely music and just a fantastic evening.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank E-K-Dolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crab Farm Winery also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Crab Farm Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing