We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Fab”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Simply Fab”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were lucky enough to get a cancellation on the weekend of the Art Deco weekend. The room was simply superb, clean, spacious, and well equiped (not that we used much as we were out for most of the time). Parking is under the apartments (but plent of space on the road.

It was lovely and quiet and just across the road from the beach. There is a few restaurants around, but it takes a good 20 minute walk to get into town (Drive! - 5 mins).

The team on the front desk were also extremely friendly and helpful. One of the nicest places we stayed at in NZ and thoroughly deserves the TA reviews.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilLanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Manager at Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thanks Neil for taking the time to complete a review. Great to hear that you had a great time and look forward to hosting you again. regards Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    184
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
238
359
16
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in a family room apartment, which was very comfortable and spacious. Navigate is in a a very convenient area. Just out of the main part of Napier and across the road from the swimmable beach in the area. The cafe down stairs has great coffee, and there are numerous eating places within walking distance. Would stay he again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Regan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Manager at Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you we appreciate your review and do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, Thanks Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great location and unit. Very clean and close to the Ahuriri restaurant area. Plenty of free parking. Walkable to all amenities and the main shopping centre. When in the Hawkes Bay, do not miss then Hasting Farmers Market on Sunday mornings.
Bed slightly hard for my taste but an excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 208 overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Majik_One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Manager at Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and surprised that the beds did not hit the spot as we get such favourable feedback specifically on the beds. Once again thanks for taking the time to share your experience, regards Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed in November and then again in February. Both times we couldn't have been more happy. The rooms are large and bright with nice views over the ocean. The deck is quite nice to hang out on. Nice restaurants below the hotel and in the nearby neighborhood. Andrew was very, very helpful and friendly and I think this is what really pushes Navigate from good to excellent.

Room Tip: Obviously the ocean side rooms on the top floor are the best, but all the rooms have similar layouts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdVan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Manager at Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Wow! thank you for the terrific feedback and for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. Regards Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Navigate provides dream accommodation in one of Napier's best settings. It is literally beside the sea - not on a noisy throughfare but in the seaside 'suburb' (not a suburb by any big City standards but just far enough from the main shops - still walkable though - to be idyllic) of Ahuriri. The units are beautifully appointed and maintained and Andrew and his staff very friendly and helpful. It is a great part of Napier to stay - lots of art deco and antique shops and restaurants and cafes nearby - even a cool art deco art cinema next door! The staff in the cafe 'in' the complex - Sol - were equally charming. I would highly recommend this place and WILL stay again - in fact we are already booked!

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor or second floor down at a pinch - and a front facing (not side) room if you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Manager at Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hi Caroline, thanks for the fantastic feed back - I will be sure to pass this on to the team! We hope to get a chance to to host you again soon - regards Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Not bad
Not bad at all
Traveled through Napier for business and left the booking to our local sales rep but we neglected to factor that there was an international cricket match being played the night we were there
As as result this was about the only place left
And I'm glad it was
Very new and very clean, great service, good rates, and good wifi
A view of the beach and the sun rise across the ocean capped it off

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanC67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Manager at Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Google Translation
Cheers mate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed in a seaview studio. Take note its only a partial view, as you have to go to the side balcony to have a view of the sea and i could see other rooms balcony from mine as well. So dont go hoping for privacy at the balcony, but at the time i was there, i didnt see anyone.

Not too sure about the other hotels nearby, as almost all hotels were fully booked when i was there. So i found this hotel quite pricey given the location.

I was initially concerned about the location, but surprisingly i began to like the area a lot, like how the others pointed out. Its a very quaint little neighbourhood, with plenty of food choices and mini-market closeby and i think the beachfront is one of the more beautiful ones ive seen in the Napier/Hastings area!

After checking-in and going out to Napier city centre for dinner, i began to appreciate how pretty and serene the hotel is located!

Clean, modern, good kitchen facilities and stayed in a wheelchair accessible room.

Room Tip: Request for a full ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsianTrekker48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
1.2 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
1.2 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments

Property: Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Address: 18 Hardinge Road | Port Ahuriri, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments offers modern, contemporary accommodation located just 5 minutes' drive from the airport & city centre, and across the road from one of Napier's only swimmable beaches. Positioned in the vibrant seaside village of Ahuriri, Napier we are the gateway to the Hawke's Bay! Designed with both the business and leisure traveler in mind, Navigate offers spacious, quiet, affordable accommodation in a range of room and bedding configurations. Navigate is in the heart of Napier's waterfront wining & dining quarter and growing business hub with walk through access to many local eateries and restaurants. We boast facilities such as an on-site café, free undercover parking with elevator access to all levels, free wifi, free guest laundry and use of our exclusive barbecue area. We can accommodate small conferencing and meetings up to 14 people in our Port View Meeting room, with expansive ocean views and catering available from Sol Café. Make use of "the Box" and Village Green to add some flair to your next meeting. Special rates are also available for Vue Apartments which can be utilised for break out facilities and delegate accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing