We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visit if you get a chance”
Review of Faraday Centre

Faraday Centre
Ranked #16 of 72 things to do in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“visit if you get a chance”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

A mixture of science and lovely old fashioned artifacts with lots of hands on knobs to press. Not many opening times so check first

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank janekeScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    18
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devonport, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Wonderful hands on attraction”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Went with the 4 kids and hubbie who left me to go and look at all the engines on display. Kids had a great time and if didnt have a long drive in the afternoon we would have stayed longer. The volunteers were wonderful with the kids, explaining everything to them and it was great for the kids to touch and play. Great value and a gem for Napier, this was more exciting than the aquarium.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel7310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Hands on every where”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Found this quite by accident. The staff were knowledgeable by personal experience rather than by following a script. Kids will love it and will have to be enticed away. I'm a wrinkly so many memories were brought back as I walked round. The huge motor driving an early electric typewriter intrigued me, it must have needed its own power station! The larger steam generator whilst not generating anymore was rotating. Memories, memories. Wonderful. If you do nothing else in Napier, visit this.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton IL
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“More people should know about this place”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Fortunately we squeezed in a visit to the Faraday Centre. It closed rather early in the afternoon so check times so that you don't miss this "toy store for tinkerers." It's very refreshing that many of the items are decidedly hands-on and many others are not machines to just look at, but which have been lovingly restored by volunteer engineers and mechanics so that you can watch them running. The four of us (a mechanic, the complete opposite of a mechanic, and their wives) all enjoyed checking out their unusual assortment of items (from an iron lung to a ship's evacuation basket to bells on which you are encouraged to ring out the Westminister chime melody). We even got to stay "after hours" to see the electricity demonstration being given to a school group.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel-Afficionados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

This was an unexpected gem. Lots of hands on things to do and touch. parts of it felt like my grandfather's garage 40 years ago but the two year old still had plenty to keep her amused. We could have spent hours here. It's one for the whole family and very cheao. the volunteer staff were great too. Don't miss it.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jockosuarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Faraday Centre also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Faraday Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing