We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great afternoon!”

Bay Tours and Charters
Ranked #1 of 2 Transportation in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Top value wine tours, with many options to suit your time and budget. Free pick-up from your accommodation in Napier, Hastings and Havelock North. See and savour award-winning wineries with the experts. All tours include a specialty food tasting and a range of red and white wines at each winery. Full tour commentary included, so you will end the day more enriched about sunny Hawke's Bay than when you started. Come and join us - a great time is guaranteed!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Portslade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great afternoon!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We were advised to use this company as we wanted to do a wineries tour. What a good result! Had a great afternoon taking in 3 different vineyards of varying sizes. We were introduced to one that we were especially keen on and have found a source back in the UK. At each winery, the presentations of the various wines were very good by some very knowledgable and passionate people and this made it very interesting. We were also treated to an excellent cheese and cold meat board to compliment the wine. Finally, Katrina who drove us, also gave an excellent commentary!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    44
    4
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“1st Class Tour Operator”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We were a group of 9 from the Vintage 64 Wine Club, Perth, Western Australia. We decided to head for NZ and the Hawkes Bay to tour the Wineries and taste their top of the range wines. After extensive Web research I as the Tour Organiser settled on Bay Tours & Charters ( 2012 ) Pty Ltd to look after us and look after us they did. Kerren Withington and her husband Ken were a pleasure to deal with while Peter our driver was exceptional, his knowledge of the area and his contacts with the Wineries ensured we tasted the top wines produced by these Wineries, as well as meeting the Winemakers and/or Owners. We had 4 great days of Wine Tasting, Lunches and Dinners. For some of the Wives who were not into wine tasting, Kerren organised 4 days of sightseeing for them. I can unhesitatingly recommend this Company if you want to undertsake a Wine Tour of the Wineries of Hakes Bay.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kevieofperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great way to see the boutique wineries of Hawkes Bay”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We did a full day tour of the Hawkes Bay region and had a great experience. The tour was small with only 10 people in the bus. Our guide Rob was very knowledgable about the region and selected a good range of boutique and medium sized wineries for the day.

Rob also reassessed during the day, and changed activities according to our schedule and taste in wine. We visited several wineries as well as having a lovely platter style lunch at one of the wineries with a glass of wine. We ended the day with cheese and nibbles at the last winery.

Our overall impression was that we got to taste a good range of wines at varied wineries and the food was lovely. Each winery served a number of wines so we were able to experience a wide range of wines that we could compare from cellar door to cellar door.

Would recommend this tour if you don't have a lot of time to spend in the area and want to get a great taste of the region or if you want to know where to start. It was a great day out.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fork Talk O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bay Tours & Charters”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Bay Tours organised a wine trail to several vineyards near Havelock North for 28 of us. We had a great day. Our driver, Dean, was cheerful, friendly, and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for him. We spent longer at our first vineyard than we had intended, but Dean went with the flow and reorganised our schedule to fit. A great day. Thanks Bay Tours.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Experience!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I recently took my Mum and an Aunty on the half day premium tour. The entire afternoon was absolutely fabulous!

The arrangements in the first instance were easy to make. The team were responsive to my every change and many questions. Organising the tour was a breeze.

The driver Katrina was amazing. She was friendly and extremely knowledgeable of both the area and the wineries we visited. Moana Park was without doubt a stand out winery for us.

The tour was extremely personal, we were fortunate to be the only three on the tour that day and as virgin wine tasters, we were made very comfortable.

The cheese board and extra gift finished the tour off perfectly. To top off the wonderful tour, we were fortunate to have such a beautiful afternoon.

Many thanks to you all for assisting me in organising and providing such a wonderful service. From set up, through to drop off, the service we received was incredible.

We are from the Hawke's Bay and look forward to enjoying the service again. Easy to arrange and very enjoyable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank patrick_hape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bay Tours and Charters also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Bay Tours and Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing