We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Jesters Pies Napier
Ranked #79 of 201 Restaurants in Napier
Cuisines: Diner
Restaurant details
Kakanui, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stopped for a quick lunchtime snack - coffee and a pie for $7.50 - good value for money. Large selection of pies to choose from and even gluten free versions.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DanieWigzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    11
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pies for lunch with great coffee”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I was in a hurry during a lunch break on a work day, was very surprised with the lovely lady who served me and made my coffee. Set in Napier's CBD it had outside seating and I would recommend for a quick and tasty lunch. Coffee was excellent.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not like Mum used to make!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very wide choice of fillings, but pretty ordinary and a bit expensive. Pastry somewhat soggy and too much gravy with not enough meat.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tonyn46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Delicious pie at reasonable price”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I came across this when feeling a little hungry, I was not disappointed with my find, the price was ok for NZ, and they delivered good flavor. I get to sit down and watch the world go by in one of the most charming spot in town. Nice experience indeed!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank la_speranza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Service above and beyond ...”
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Jesters Pies is an Australia-based franchise making its way into the New Zealand market. The Napier franchise is well situated in the heart of the city and offers a very pleasant aspect, with a clean, colourful interior and tables outside in the mall.

The menu is typical of the "new breed" of Aussie/NZ fast food cuisine - clever and tasty variations on traditional fare. I remember when pies basically came into two varieties - mince and apple. How times have changed ...

I tried the "Russian Roulette", which is a tasty beef stroganoff pie; I also liked the sound of the Maharaja (an Indian style butter chicken pie) and the Mother Hubbard, which is a smoked salmon pie with cream and dill sauce, creamed spinach and Hollandaise. I'll definitely try the Maharaja next time. I don't know how they do it, but their pastry pie crusts are absolutely perfect, soft, flaky and buttery - very nice indeed.

I also want to mention that I had about an hour to get to the local airport, but couldn't pay for a cab because I'd just realised that I'd lost my wallet. I returned to the Jesters store hoping I'd left it there. It was nowhere to be found, but the store owner's mother, who was working there at the time, listened to my tale of woe and then insisted on driving me to the airport to catch my plane! It's not everyone who would do that for a customer. Fortunately, my wallet was found and safely returned three days later.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lone_wolf_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jesters Pies Napier also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Jesters Pies Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing