We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so scary”

Napier Prison Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.98*
and up
Tongariro Self-Guided Audio Tour
Ranked #15 of 30 Tours in Napier
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Listen to a 50 minute self-guided audio tour while inspecting the vacant prison cells and deserted exercise yard. You will learn the history of the oldest prison in New Zealand and experience what doing time was all about. Feel the oppressive atmosphere of the hanging garden, the solitary confinement and the death row cells. Hear the tales of the Australasia’s richest drug baron; escape attempts, the Eye eater, hangman’s gallows and much more. Audio guide tours allow you to take your time and read extra information along the way. Family entertainment is guaranteed with plenty of photo opportunities including mug shots and an opportunity to create life-long memories through our Souvenir Shop Napier Prison has also been featured on Ghost Hunters International where unexplainable activities were investigated. is also one totally haunted attraction. We invite you to experience your own Ghost Hunt learning from our paranormal experts how to use the ghost equipment, take great photographs and recognize paranormal activity. We provide our guests ample time to use our "Ghost Hunting" devices.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not so scary”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We walked from the seashell and to begin with thought it would be easy. Then we saw the street.... Then the driveway! Woah no one said it was going to be that steep!
We finally made it to the prison and there was only 1 car in the carpark. It was a ridiculous price we paid for our audio tours.
It started off great until 30 school kids came running out of the dining hall. They were doing some puzzles around the prison but were yelling, running and screaming down every hallway. We couldn't hear our audio anymore and it ruined the whole experience!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank xstacey87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    68
    38
    14
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tararua
Level Contributor
1 review
“Interesting History”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We really enjoyed the self quided tour with the audio. It may have helped that a couple of the prisoners were fairly famous eg RH Edwards who murdered his family in Ormondville and was hung there as was Mr Big the leader of a notorius gang. Very interesting.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Moios_Supergran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“You would be incarcerated if you stole $20 !!!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We visited the jail on a gorgeous day in Napier but were not expecting to be robbed.

$20 for a self guided audio tour is far too much, in fact its daylight robbery !!!!

We had to change our audio equipment because it just wouldn`t work. Also audio itself is very low.Staff are apologetic about the equipment which they shouldn`t have to be.

Get rid of the backpacker upgrades and make the place authentic, surely there is a lot of untold history and what they do have could be much better presented.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank geoffery c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Prisoner, shmisoner..”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just an okay tour. Coupled with $20 each audio tour devices it is over priced. Prison was a prison, then a backpacker hostel, now a tour site. Backpacker influence remains. If you have nothing left to do, do this.....but you really could find something else.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank BostonPete1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Certainly not worth NZ$20”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We have been pretty impressed by the mostly free/ donation museums in New Zealand so we thought we were in for a treat here. It certainly bigs itself up with its publicity using very powerful quotes and citing 4 star TripAdvisor scores. Well it was no $20 trip. There are a few interesting stories, repeated in different locations around the smallish prison.

The audio is well produced but bizarrely the different locations have letters and the audio is numbered.

It's worth $5 tops

Helpful?
Thank united33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Napier Prison Tours also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Napier Prison Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing