We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stables Lodge Backpackers
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Art Deco Masonic Hotel(Napier)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edgewater Motor Lodge(Napier)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
expressotel(Napier)(Great Value!)
$86
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marineland Motels(Napier)(Great Value!)
$80
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$117
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour View Lodge(Napier)(Great Value!)
$104
$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shoreline Motel Napier(Napier)(Great Value!)
$73
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Nautilus(Napier)(Great Value!)
$73
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Front Motel Napier(Napier)(Great Value!)
$98
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveler rating
34
26
9
12
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
26
9
12
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree wifibunk bedsenjoyed my staywell equipped kitchenhome away from hometwo nightslocation is greatother guestsmarine paradehostelhallwaynzbeddingloungereceptionist
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 96 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hostel has all the things that real backpackers really look for when booking. FREE wifi that actually works, only one of 3 places that offers this in the North island. The location is right near the center of town, very close to food stores, and of course, the beach. Very nice outside section with proper area for socializing and hanging out. The common areas are nice because they are open and all together so it is very easy to meet people. Cheap laundry ($2) and lines for hanging. Theme nights every night. Best hostel I have stayed in in a long time. Long term people live here and are very keen on welcoming new guests. Very happy with my stay. Manager lives on site as well so always someone to assist if you need anything.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms even have double beds!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Clean and tidy hostel that never fails to deliver on everything it promises. Unlimited free wifi that worked everytime for us, clean and tidy rooms with good mattresses. A little noisy after dark at times, but staff were always on-site to deal with noises when they were notified (they live opposite the main building, and as a staff member said once they can't hear people yelling in the rooms and hallways from there and need to be notified to fix it). So we slept just fine.
Cheapest bike hire in town (that we could find), and cheapest laundry too.
A very reasonable hostel.
Oh and the cats are adorable, but watch out for the little one with white feet. She's very sneaky and will curl up on your bed if you leave the outside door open (we were fine with this, but others may be allergic).

Room Tip: Room 8 is opposite the bathrooms, and at the end of the courtyard, and our favorite.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kinanna_ishtar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Rooms are rather small - in a dorm, there's hardly any space to put your bags but I was lucky and had the room on my own the first night. There's just one desktop PC so if you don't have a laptop, you need to wait to use the free internet. I liked the veranda that heads out to the street where you can sit on couches and enjoy the sunset.
The staff is nice and helpful but exaggerates their clean-your-dishes-policy a bit. They should be a bit more easy-going with it and not threaten you to lose your key deposit immediately if you'd rather have your hot meal first and THEN wash the saucepans.
The location is very central and therefore great.
They have one single bike that they hire, it's only 10 NZD a day which is cheap but the bike is honestly a bit rusty and not very comfortable, so if they say in the BBH guide that they have free bikes, they should have more than one.
All in all, I still enjoyed my stay a lot. I liked the buildings and was lucky to get a king-sized bed (the only one) in a shared room.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klothilde M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Pro:
1. Location: Opposite the Warehouse, 10 mins to Countdown/Pak'N Save, 5 mins to Library, beach and CDB.
2. Free internet and Wifi.
3. Warm bed and room.

Con:
1. Noise at Night due to next to Hasting street and some long-term residents at the lodge (despite the 10pm curfew, they still talking out loud and even cooking during mid night).
2. Small room.
3. Kitchen, dining room and TV room are all at the same place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vjie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed here one night after being told our current hostel had no room (they lied, and it's Criterion Art Deco, FYI).

The rooms are literally former stables. They resemble the inside of a sleeping train car- narrow, with 2 bunks bolted to either wall, and 2 doors on each end. It's cute, but I wouldn't want to stay there for a LONG time.

Pluses:
- free wi-fi, a veritable unicorn of rarity in NZ
- adorable pet cat/kitten
- friendly staff
- free parking, easy to get

Minuses:
- a bit of a walk out of town, though right across from the beach
- no free breakfast
- can be noisy (it's small)
- rooms can be claustrophobic, and I certainly wouldn't want to share one with 3 other people!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cool_jonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews