We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Self Loader Logging LTD Social Club Weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Napier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Valley Adventure Lodge
Ranked #28 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Self Loader Logging LTD Social Club Weekend”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

As a social club we always try and do something different for our trips. We'd often talked about white water rafting and thought 'bugger it' we'll do it. What a good decision that was, we took 23 people and although not everyone participated in all the activities there wasn't one of us that didn't enjoy the weekend. We purchased a group package that included Saturday: Accommodation, Rafting, Dinner. Sunday: Breakfast, Archery, Pistol shooting, Claybird shooting, Paintball and Lunch.
Thank you to Doug, Gemma, Dion, Dano, Daniel and Dave, you guys made the weekend for us. We found you all very approachable and friendly, the facilities are not 5 star but they were clean and yes the accommodation is basic and it was exactly what we were expecting. I fully recommend Mountain Valley to all those who are thinking of going to find a piece of paradise.
An awesome weekend in a stunning setting with a group of like minded people out for a bit of adventure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    16
    4
    4
    12
See reviews for
29
13
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This spot is right on the mighty Mohaka River and does a lot of school groups/family camping/crazy mud run stuff. The Mountain Valley team are all awesome with hearts of gold. Stunning views and a very relaxing place indeed.

Rosey took our family of four out for a 3 hour horse trek - up some big hills with amazing views and back along the river. Rosey is great with the horses and knows exactly where they're at all the time. A really fun thing to do as a family - along the way you get to see the personalities of the horses which were some uncanny matches with each rider! Rosey took heaps of pics for us and emailed them all afterwards - we really appreciated it.

We also did a fun-yakking trip that afternoon with Danno which was brilliant - heaps of fun and I hope the Kiwi school kids who get to do these things for vacation care and school camps know how lucky they are. Danno sent pics too - very handy when you don't have a waterproof camera.

We stayed in Fantail Cottage which was quite ramshackle, run down and a bit smelly. The picture of Fantail Cottage on the website isn't the actual cottage so it wasn't quite what we were expecting and it's overpriced for what it is. But we were there for the adventure and not the lodge so it didn't really matter.

If we lived on the North Island we would buy some fun-yaks and come camping here all the time!

Room Tip: A brilliant camping spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tropporama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

As locals from Hawkes Bay, we have often driven past the sign and not managed to stop but we spent 3 nights there after our wedding (a mini honeymoon) What a great find!! We loved every minute of it :)
Lovely friendly staff! Plenty of fantastic activities - horse trekking, mountain biking, rafting, fishing, archery and clay bird shooting. Very reasonably priced and enjoyed burgers and chips at the bar on our final night.
Such a beautiful spot - can't wait to come back again with a group of friends! A perfect place to bring the family. Just wish we had found it earlier!!! Great place to relax, unwind or get adventurous!
Thanks for the great stay Doug, Julie, Gemma and the rest of the team!

Room Tip: The chalets are lovely - perfect spot, lovely view and slightly away from the bar. Good amenities an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kylz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountainV, Owner at Mountain Valley Adventure Lodge, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thanks for your awesome feedback - it was a pleasure having you to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Travelling down to Napier on a petrol free road we found ourselves in urgent need of 'gas'. Passed the sign to the camp and decided it would be better to break down there than in the middle of the road. No one at reception at that time of night but we got a warm welcome down the phone and asked if we could make it down to the camp site. The owners were great and very accommodating, getting us drinks and a simple meal even though it was very late (and we definitely hadn't booked!). After star gazing (awesome black sky), we set up camp. The morning showed us to be right next to a great piece of river and mountains - the views were fantastic. We bought petrol from them and made our way to Napier. A genuinely great find and lovely people.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJToyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We booked to stay here with the GrabOne voucher. We arrived quite late at night and it was quite difficult to find our way around. To be honest, I was really disappointed with our chalet - it wasn't what I was expecting and I didn't realise there would be no toilet/shower in our accomodation and we would have to use a communal block. In the rain and mud this was not much fun! The room was really basic and didn't feel very clean. The shower and toilet block were pretty disgusting and I don't think it was cleaned at all the whole time we were there - hair, dirt and bugs everywhere (yuck!) The location itself is absolutely stunning but I felt it was really badly let down by the poor customer service. The owners seem pretty disinterested and I felt like I was annoying them if I asked a question. I also felt there were times they could have been more helpful but seemed like they couldn't be bothered. In saying this, we found the daughter on reception really lovely and as helpful as she could be. We did a horse trek which was really good and we enjoyed a lot. I wouldn't recommend the food - overpriced for what it is. I don't think I would pay full price for the chalet - just didn't seem worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dinosaur10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountainV, Owner at Mountain Valley Adventure Lodge, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thanks for your feedback Hayley. We appreciate you taking the time to put comments on this site however it’s very disappointing to hear some of what you had to say.
The bathrooms are cleaned daily and “the whole time you were here” was one full day - hardly time to comment that they were not cleaned regularly , however we have addressed cleanliness issues with our cleaners based on your feedback. We never attempt to hide the fact that there are no bathrooms in our chalets – as a camping ground shared ablutions are fairly standard.
We think that your disappointment in the customer service wasn’t very fair either. You chose to drive over a kilometre on a flat tyre then were disappointed that we didn’t neglect our other guests to help your partner fix the problem. He and Doug didn’t think he required more assistance just to change a tyre!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caen, France
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

In addition to all the positive comments I just want to say that we went there during the low season (end of May) and still had a really good time. We were the only 2 people staying in the whole domain. It was a bit scary because we arrived at night and it as rainy, it felt like we were in a scary movie in the middle on nowhere. But when we woke up in the middle of the mountains with the river just down the chalet it was quite amazing. We went there using a voucher for 2 nights and 1h of rafting. We really enjoyed the rafting, and one of the advantages of going there during low season is that we had the raft guide just for ourselves and it was really relaxed.
We will definitely go back there with friends in summer time!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nounouf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2012

The staff where fantastic, I highly recommend this to anyone in NZ and especially any overseas travellers that love the outdoors, beautiful views, and the staff are just wonderful, I dear you to go to this lovely spot miles from any dairies/shops and spend a weekend there. You will not be disappointed and it just shows New Zealand to the world that its a beautiful place with beautiful people

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsalaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
21.3 mi away
Napier Beach Kiwi Holiday Park and Motels
26.2 mi away
Kennedy Park Resort Napier
26.0 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.4 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#7 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
25.9 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
26.5 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Valley Adventure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Valley Adventure Lodge

Property: Mountain Valley Adventure Lodge
Address: 408 McVicar Rd | RD2, Napier, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Valley Adventure Lodge & Camping Ground is a slice of paradise hidden on the mystical Mohaka River in Hawke's Bay on the Napier-Taupo road. Escape for a while and have an adventure or just relax in our serene setting. There is something for everyone including Rafting, Horse Trekking, Archery, Mountain Biking, Bush Walks, Paintball, Claybird Shooting & Swimming as well as a Bar & Restaurant. Accommodation ranges from self-contained cottages to camping; lodge rooms to cabins. Grab the family or rustle up some friends and come on a true blue kiwi holiday at Mountain Valley! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing